On a mobile device?

View the LSU Libraries Mobile Website at
http://www.lib.lsu.edu/m/

Databases
By Title:
A BCDEFGHIJKLMNOPRSTUVWZNumAll

AAPG Datapages Combined Publications Database
Note: Access restricted to to LSU campus
This archive includes all of the AAPG Bulletin issues from 1917 to the present and most AAPG special publications and books. Additional collections available include: Gulf Coast Association of Geological Societies (GCAGS) Transactions 1951-2001, Journal of Sedimentary Research (SEPM) 1931-2001, Journal of Petroleum Geology (U.K.) 1978-1998, Field Papers of the New Orleans and East Texas Geological Society, and several new collections are currently in progress. These include publications by the Pacific Section of AAPG and the Canadian Society of Petroleum Geologists (CSPG) publications.

Academic Search Complete
A multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 10,100 journals and a total of more than 10,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers unmatched full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including, but not limited to: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology and many other fields. Academic Search Complete offers critical information from many sources unique to this massive collection. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 journals. Academic Search Complete is updated daily and available via EBSCOhost.
Academic Video Online
Academic Video Online is a platform that allows one to search across all video titles in the Alexander Street Press catalog that LSU either owns or to which we subscribe. This includes individual collections we have already purchased such as Counseling and Therapy in Video, and Theatre in Video.
Access World News
"The most comprehensive collection of full-text newspapers globally, Access World News provides extensive coverage at any level—local, state, regional, national and international. This fully searchable Web-based resource features the vast majority of the top U.S. newspapers by circulation, along with hundreds of hard-to-find local and regional titles, most of which are unavailable elsewhere. Additionally, Access World News offers hundreds of international news sources from scores of countries on six continents, translated into English when written in other languages." (Newsbank)
Accessible Archives
A collection of African-American newspapers containing information about the cultural life and history during the 1800s, including first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day, such as the Mexican War, Presidential and congressional addresses, congressional abstracts, business and commodity markets, the humanities, world travel, and religion. The database also contain large numbers of early biographies, vital statistics, essays and editorials, poetry and prose, and advertisements all of which embody the African-American experience.

The database contains articles from the following journals: Freedom's Journal (New York, NY), The Colored American (Weekly Advocate) (New York, NY), The North Star (Rochester, NY), The National Era (Washington, D.C.), Provincial Freeman (Chatham, Canada West), Frederick Douglass Paper (Rochester, NY), The Christian Recorder (Philadelphia, PA). Offers full-text online news, business, legal, legislative, and regulatory information, updated daily.

ACM Digital Library
The ACM Digital Library (DL) is the most comprehensive collection of full-text articles and bibligraphic records in existence today covering the fields of computing and information technology. The full-text database includes the complete collection of ACM's publications, including journals, conference proceedings, magazines, newsletters, and multimedia titles.

In addition to the full-text database, the ACM Digital Library is heavily integrated with and includes unrestricted access to the Guide to Computing Literature bibliography.

The ACM Digital Library includes reference linking though CrossRef, integration with the ACM Computing Reviews database, index terms using ACM's Computing Classification Scheme (CCS), alerting and TOC services, and all export formats including BibTex, Endnote, and ACM Ref, as well as OpenURL compliance, and COUNTER III and SUSHI Compliant usage statistics.

ACS Directory of Graduate Research
The ACS Directory of Graduate Research (DGR) is the most comprehensive source of information on chemical research and researchers at universities in the U.S. and Canada.

The directory: 1) lists universities with names and biographical information for all faculty members, their areas of specialization, titles of papers published within the last two years; and contact information. 2) provides a statistical summary on departments including numbers of full- and part-time faculty, postdoctoral appointments, graduate students, and master’s and doctoral degrees granted.

Inside you will find information on: 665 academic departments, 10,858 faculty members, and 88,983 publication citations. As well as listings for: chemistry, chemical engineering, biochemistry, medicinal/pharmaceutical chemistry, polymers and materials science, marine science, toxicology, and environmental science.

Advocate, The
The Advocate is the local Baton Rouge newspaper. Recent articles (a few days old) can be accessed through The Advocate Online.  Newsbank profides access to articles from 1986 to the present. 



African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
The African American Newspapers will feature, when complete, 270 newspapers published in 36 states, including rare and historically significant 19th-century titles. This fully searchable online collection will offer fascinating insights into African American history, culture and daily life.

This resource is limited to three concurrent users
Afro-Americana Imprints
Note: Trial Starts October 22nd; Ends November 23rd 2012
Created from the Library Company's acclaimed Afro-Americana Collection — an accumulation that began with Benjamin Franklin and steadily increased throughout its entire history — this unique online resource will provide researchers with more than 12,000 printed works. These essential books, pamphlets and broadsides, including many lesser-known imprints, hold an unparalleled record of African American history, literature and culture.
From African society to the struggle for justice
This collection spans nearly 400 years, from the early 16th to the early 20th century. Critically important subjects covered include the West's discovery and exploitation of Africa; the rise of slavery in the New World along with the growth and success of abolitionist movements; the development of racial thought and racism; descriptions of African American life -- slave and free -- throughout the Americas; and slavery and race in fiction and drama. Also featured are printed works of African American individuals and organizations.
Fresh scholarship on slavery and African American history
The Afro-Americana Collection began to gain international renown for its size, range, and significance in the late 1960s as scholars initiated fresh studies of slavery's part in the American story. As researchers rediscovered the importance of the long-neglected writings of African Americans, the Library Company's collection became increasingly vital to new scholarship. Today it serves as a critical resource for scholars and students, and a plethora of new research and teaching opportunities will arise from its digitization.
The landmark work behind the digital edition
The magisterial bibliography Afro-Americana 1553-1906 was first published in 1973. A second edition published in 2008, including 2,500 works acquired since 1973, now provides the bibliographic control for the Readex edition. Afro-Americana Imprints, 1535-1922 will be fully integrated into America's Historical Imprints for seamless searching with Early American Imprints, Series I and II, including Supplements from the Library Company of Philadelphia.
Afro-Louisiana History and Genealogy (1719-1820)
In 1984, a professor at Rutgers University stumbled upon a trove of historic data in a courthouse in Pointe Coupee Parish, Louisiana. Over the next 15 years, Dr. Gwendolyn Midlo Hall, a noted New Orleans writer and historian, painstakingly uncovered the background of 100,000 slaves who were brought to Louisiana in the 18th and 19th centuries making fortunes for their owners.

Poring through documents from all over Louisiana, as well as archives in France, Spain and Texas, Dr. Hall designed and created a database into which she recorded and calculated the information she obtained from these documents about African slave names, genders, ages, occupations, illnesses, family relationships, ethnicity, places of origin, prices paid by slave owners, and slaves' testimony and emancipations. In March 2000, the Louisiana State University Press published published Dr. Hall's databases on a CD-ROM.

The data has amazed genealogists and historians of slavery with the breadth of its information. Because the French and Spanish proprietors of Louisiana kept far more detailed records than their British counterparts at slave ports on the Atlantic coast, the records show valuable historical data. For historians who thought such information was lost or could never be collected and analyzed, the database is a once-unimaginable prize.

Dr. Hall's work in creating the Afro-Louisiana History and Genealogy is far reaching. There are many who have a stake in being able to freely access this data, from historians, genealogists, anthropologists, geneticists and linguists , to Americans seeking keys to their past. Dr. Hall shares with others an interest in seeing that her research and databases reach the broadest possible audience. Together, Dr. Hall, the Center for the Public Domain, and ibiblio.org bring you the Afro-Louisiana History and Genealogy 1699 - 1820 Database, a user-friendly, searchable, online database that is freely accessible to the public.

AgEcon
AgEcon Search: Research in Agricultural and Applied Economics is a World Wide Web site developed and maintained at the University of Minnesota by Magrath Library and the Department of Applied Economics. AgEcon Search collects, indexes, and electronically distributes full text copies of scholarly research in the broadly defined field of agricultural economics including sub disciplines such as agribusiness, food supply, natural resource economics, environmental economics, policy issues, agricultural trade, and economic development.

AGRICOLA
Provides citations to literature in agriculture and related fields that have been acquired by the National Agricultural Library and its cooperating institutions since 1970. Although production of these records in electronic form began in 1970, but the database covers materials dating from the 15th century to the present. The recordsdescribe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil andwater resources, agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, agricultural products, alternative farming practices, and food and nutrition. Currently, Books, etc., contains all records produced from 1970 to the present (683,760 records). Articles, etc., contains records produced from 1979 to the present (1,884,383 records).

 
Agricultural and Environmental Biotechnology Abstracts
Covers agricultural products, new applications across the food industry, and environmental developments. Plant genome studies are examined in detail. Other topics include patents, new product approval, fermenation, soil microorganisms, bioremediation, transgenic plants and animals, breeding techniques, biopesticides, food production and safety tests, treatment and disposal of wastes, biochemical applications in water treatment, and industrial hygiene. Bimonthly. 122 serials are currently monitored for inclusion in this database. 3,000 abstracts anually.
Journals indexed by this site.
Agricultural Biotechnology Abstracts via CabDirect
Including the CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, this is the leading database for literature related to agriculture and applied life sciences, including strong international coverage.

Agricultural Engineering Abstracts via CabDirect
Including the CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, this is the leading database for literature related to agriculture and applied life sciences, including strong international coverage.
Agricultural Entomology Abstracts via CabDirect
Including the CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, this is the leading database for literature related to agriculture and applied life sciences, including strong international coverage.
AGRIS (Agriculture Sciences and Technology)
AGRIS, the international information system for the agricultural sciences and technology, was created by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO) in 1974, to facilitate information exchange and to identify world literature dealing with all aspects of agriculture. AGRIS is a cooperative system in which participating countries input references to the literature produced within their boundaries and, in return, draw on the information provided by the other participants. 199 national, international and inter-governmental centers participate and submit about 14,000 items per month.

Agroforestry Abstracts via CabDirect
Including the CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, this is the leading database for literature related to agriculture and applied life sciences, including strong international coverage.

Air University Library Index to Military Periodicals
Subject index to significant articles, news items, and editorials from English language military and aeronautical periodicals. The Index contains citations since 1990 and is updated quarterly as the hard copy version of the AULIMP is released.

ALA-APA Library Salary Database
Note: Obtain login info from PAWS
The ALA-Allied Professional Association Library Salary Database includes data from both the Librarian and Non-MLS Salary Surveys - Public and Academic. The Salary Surveys are a project of the ALA-APA and the American Library Association Office for Research and Statistics. The Non-MLS data is for 62 positions from 836 public and academic libraries. The Librarian data is for 6 positions from 1,053 public and academic libraries. See Caveats and Response Rates.

Alt HealthWatch
The Alt HealthWatch database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. This database provides full text for articles from more than 140 international and often peer-reviewed journals, reports and proceedings, as well as association and consumer newsletters. In addition, Alt HealthWatch includes hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts.

Full text titles include American Journal of Chinese Medicine, American Journal of Homeopathic Medicine, California Journal of Oriental Medicine, European Journal of Clinical Hypnosis, International Journal of Medicinal Mushrooms, Journal of Alternative & Complementary Medicine, Journal of Asian Natural Products Research, Journal of the American Institute of Homeopathy, Journal of the Australian Traditional-Medicine Society, Journal of the Canadian Chiropractic Association, Journal of Traditional Acupuncture and many others. Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine. The majority of the full text titles included in the database are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color.
America's Historical Newspapers
As the first draft of history, newspapers document the life and times of a community,a region and a nation. For searching and browsing American newspapers published in the 18th, 19th and 20th centuries, America’s Historical Newspapers is the single most comprehensive online resource, providing more than 1,300 titles from all 50 states.
America: History and Life with Full Text
According to EBSCO, "America: History & Life with Full Text is the definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1955 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. America: History & Life with Full Text also provides full-text coverage of more than 200 journals and nearly 100 books."
American Book Prices Current
Note: Please inquire at the Reference Desk in the Hill Reading Room or at Middleton Library for access to this database.
American Book Prices Current is an annual record of books, manuscripts, autographs, maps and broadsides sold at auction. Countries covered include North America and the UK, with sales from such other countries and Switzerland, Germany, Monaco, Holland, Australia and many other places. It is the standard tool used by dealers, appraisers, auction houses, scholars and tax authorities and is invaluable for cataloging, collecting, pricing, seeking frequency-of-sale information, appraising, or looking for unpublished material. The online version contains over 950,000 priced reliable records available for instant easy searching.
American Chemical Society
This database provides full text access to about thirty journals, with the ability to search all of The American Chemical Society journals, including the archives, which features access back to Vol. 1 of all their titles.
American Civil War Online
According to Alexander Street Press, "The American Civil War Online is a diverse collection of searchable databases designed to promote the creative study of all aspects of the Civil War. Equally useful for teaching and research, the resource offers a range of contemporary perspectives on the war and American society. In addition to letters, diaries, posters, photographs, and cartoons, The American Civil War Online includes a wealth of compiled data on soldiers, regiments, and battles. Combined with the extensive personal and journalistic accounts, this statistical information completes the picture of America during a time of unparalleled national crisis."

The Collections includes four databases:

 


American Civil War Research Database, The
The American Civil War Research Database™ is the definitive online resource for researching the soldiers, regiments, and battles of the American Civil War. Originally created by Historical Data Systems, Inc., the database contains indexed, searchable information on over 4 million soldiers and thousands of battles, together with 15,000 photographs. With thousands of regimental rosters and officer profiles, the database will continue to grow as new information is loaded bi-annually. In addition to 222 volumes of rosters published by the state Adjutants Generals, the database includes the military records for every soldier in the collection as well as Official Records, pension index records, 1860 census records, Grand Army of the Republic (GAR) records, Roll of Honor records, Medal of Honor records, and regimental histories. This information has been compiled from personal items, graveyards, and newspaper reports. The American Civil War Research Database™ includes a record for virtually every soldier who served in the war. There are descriptions of thousands of battles, with detailed multi-page battle orders and reports for significant battles such as Shiloh, Antietam, and Gettysburg.

American Civil War: Letters and Diaries, The
The American Civil War: Letters and Diaries knits together more than 1,000 sources of diaries, letters, and memoirs to provide fast access to thousands of views on almost every aspect of the war, including what was happening at home. The writings of politicians, generals, slaves, landowners, farmers, seaman, wives, and even spies are included. The letters and diaries are by the famous and the unknown, giving not only both the Northern and Southern perspectives, but those of foreign observers also. The materials originate from all regions of the country and are from people who played a variety of roles. Using a thesaurus of Civil War terms we've built specifically for the task, researchers can quickly find references to individuals, battles, theaters of war, and activities. A chronology of key events allows the user to see multiple perspectives surrounding a particular event. This level of indexing is unprecedented. Questions such as "Give me all accounts of letters written about hospital conditions by Union soldiers in the Western Theater" can be answered in seconds. The collection includes approximately 100,000 pages of published memoirs, letters and diaries from individuals plus 4,000 pages of previously unpublished materials. Drawn from more than 1,000 sources, the collection provides in-depth coverage of all aspects of the war. More than 1,000 biographies will enhance the use of the database. The collection includes one of the most comprehensive bibliographies of Civil War letters and diaries yet published. It lists over 1,000 published and unpublished items from a variety of sources, including online resources and microform. Subscribers to the collection are encouraged to participate in the maintenance of this bibliography by calling our attention to omissions, suggesting additions, and notifying us of newly discovered materials.

American FactFinder (1990 and 2000 Census of Population and Housing)
Includes the 1990 and 2000 Census of Population and Housing.
American Institute of Physics
Note: Because of licensing restrictions, this database is limited to the LSU campus.
Provides full text access to eighty-seven journals published by the American Institute of Physics.

American Mathematical Society
The AMS is devoted to publishing research mathematics of high quality and significance in all areas of pure and applied mathematics. An important goal is to make this research available to the mathematics community as quickly as sound editorial procedures and the medium of publication allow. For journals that appear in dual electronic and print formats, articles are posted individually on the Web soon after proof is returned from authors and before appearing in issues for the print product. The AMS also publishes refereed electronic-only journals that receive the same timely posting that dual-format journals receive. Items in article bibliographies are linked to their reviews on MathSciNet when available.

American Memory
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning.
American Periodicals Series Online
American Periodicals Series Online™ (APS Online) includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. Titles range from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository; popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal; regional and niche publications; and groundbreaking journals like The Dial, Puck, and McClure's. APS Online chronicles the development of America across 150 years. The journals in this collection cover three broad periods:
  • 89 journals published between 1740 and 1800 offer insights into America's transition from colonial times to independence. The journals support research for a range of academic fields. Titles include Massachusetts Magazine, which published America's first short stories, and Thomas Paine's Pennsylvania Magazine, which reported on inventions. One of the first mass printings of the Declaration of Independence, a letter by George Washington on the crucial Battle of Trenton, and the thoughts of Benjamin Franklin are among the highlights of content from this period.
  • The first 60 years of the 19th century became the golden age of American periodicals, with general interest magazines, children's publications, and more than 20 journals for women. Many of the publications reflect on the growing debate over slavery, including the serialization of Harriet Beecher Stowe's Uncle Tom’s Cabin in National Era that preceded the novel. Also available are hard-to-find materials, such as Edgar Allan Poe's contributions to the Southern Literary Messenger, as well as the first appearances of Nathaniel Hawthorne's stories in New England Magazine, and Margaret Fuller's contributions to the Dial.
  • 118 periodicals published during the Civil War (1861-1865) and Reconstruction (1865-1877) eras reflect the nation in turmoil and growth, and titles from the 1880s through 1900 capture the settling of the West and the emergence of modern America. Early professional journals, including Publications of the American Economic Association and Proceedings of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, popular titles such as Scribner's and Lippincott’s issued by publishing houses, celebrations of Americana in Ladies’ Home Journal, and the incisive political and social commentary of Puck and McClure’s illustrate the variety of the American experience.

American State Papers
The more than 50,000 maps in the U.S. Congressional Serial Set range from the great atlases to small individual maps clarifying very specific land questions, to the great triangulation surveys, to the repetitive but for the meteorologist important weekly weather maps, to the maps that made history as well as the maps of past history and of course to the purely serendipitous, or so it would seem, maps found in the Serial Set.

Since some maps lack titles and many are not listed in the introductory matter of the Reports and Documents, which they accompany, they have been difficult to research - especially since all the subjects depicted on a map may not have merited indexing in the index coverage of the whole Report or Document. Readex has created this additional search module to focus searches on maps themselves - the geographic areas they depict, the subjects they represent, their titles, and the names associated with the maps either as cartographers, explorers, or in some other capacity.
Animal Breeding Abstracts via CabDirect
Including the CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, this is the leading database for literature related to agriculture and applied life sciences, including strong international coverage.

Annual Reviews
Since 1932, Annual Reviews has offered comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists. Annual Reviews volumes are published each year for 32 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences.

Annual Reviews is a nonprofit organization whose mission is to provide the worldwide scientific community with a useful and intelligent synthesis of the primary research literature for a broad spectrum of scientific disciplines. Annual Reviews publications are among the most highly cited in scientific literature as indexed by the Institute for Scientific Information's Journal Citation Report. Each year, Annual Reviews critically reviews the most significant primary research literature to guide you to the principal contributions of the field and help you keep up to date in your area of research.
Anthropology Plus
As a compilation of the Anthropological Index and Anthropological Literature databases, Anthropology Plus is the world’s most comprehensive index of bibliographic materials covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research.
This database offers worldwide indexing of all core periodical and lesser-known journals from the early 19th century to today, providing extensive indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, interdisciplinary studies, etc.


Anthrosource
AnthroSource is an online resource serving the research, teaching, and professional needs of anthropologists. Developed by the American Anthropological Association (AAA), AnthroSource brings 100 years of anthropological material online to scholars and the public.

Which includes, current issues for 15 of the AAA's most critical peer-reviewed publications, including American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, Anthropology and Education Quarterly, and Medical Anthropology Quarterly. As well as, an electronic archive of all AAA journals and seamless access to archival content housed at JSTOR for key AAA publications including American Anthropologist (for AAA members and subscribing institutions).

AnthroSource is a fully integrated information resource. Citations in article PDF files are dynamically linked through CrossRef to other publications, both within and beyond AnthroSource.
Applied Science and Technology Retrospective
Provides access to seven decades (1913 – 1983) of information from the most important historical sources in the applied science and technology field-many of them peer-reviewed journals. Contains the complete content of Industrial Arts Index (1913-1957) and Applied Science & Technology Index (1958-1983), offering unique coverage of business and industry up through 1957.

Aquinas: Collected Works (Past Masters)
St. Thomas Aquinas database which contains virtually all translations of St. Thomas Aquinas. The only work translated and published through ordinary channels which we know to be missing is the Catena Aurea (translated by Peter Newman in the mid-19th century). We learned of this translation too late to include it in this first installment. We do include here the Sunday Sermons of the Great Fathers, which contains a substantial portion of the Catena Aurea. In the next installment we will be including the Newman translation, a substantial number of new translations, other commentators of St. Thomas, and (we hope) the Latin of St. Thomas.

Archive
Note: Trial ends April 12, 2014
Created in collaboration with the National Security Archive, this database is the most comprehensive collection available of significant primary documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945.
Archive Finder
Archives Finder is a current directory of 5,596 repositories and 154,678 collections of primary source material across the United States. Using Archives Finder, researchers are able to read descriptions of a repository's holdings to determine whether a collection contains material useful to their work as well as find the information they need to contact the repository directly. Repository records provide detailed information including phone and fax numbers, hours of service, materials solicited, email and home page URLs when available. Each collection record links to its corresponding repository record, simplifying the research process.

Archive of Americana
The digital Archive of Americana is a family of comprehensive historical collections that allows researchers to discover and explore the United States in unprecedented depth and detail. The unique primary source materials offer opportunities for students and scholars to make original discoveries and new findings on nearly every aspect of the United States over nearly three centuries.

ArchiveGrid
ArchiveGrid connects you with primary source material held in archives, special collections, and manuscript collections around the world. You will find historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. ArchiveGrid also helps researchers contact archives to request information, arrange a visit, and order copies.
ArchiveGrid includes collection descriptions from WorldCat bibliographic records and from finding aids harvested from ArchiveGrid contributors' websites.


Aristotle: Complete Works (Past Masters)
The Complete Works of Aristotle, (mostly) translated by Benjamin Jowett.
Aromatic and Medicinal Plants Abstracts via CabDirect
Including the CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, this is the leading database for literature related to agriculture and applied life sciences, including strong international coverage.
Art Full Text 1984-present
This database offers full text plus abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications—now with expanded coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.
Art Index Retrospective (1929 - 1984)
Art Index Retrospective is a bibliographic database that cumulates citations to Art Index volumes 1-32 of the printed index published between 1929-1984. The database cites articles from periodicals published throughout the world. Periodical coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch. In addition to articles, Art Index Retrospective indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.
ARTFL
American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language. Resources in French language, literature, and culture. ARTFL, a cooperative project of the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (France) and the University of Chicago, offers a full-text database of nearly 2,000 works in French dating from the 15th to the 20th centuries. Included are works of literature, literary criticism, history, philosophy, and economics.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Science Citation Index Expanded - This database covers the journal literature of the sciences. It indexes more than 5,800 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines from 1900 to the present. Some of the disciplines covered include: agriculture, neuroscience, astronomy, oncology, biochemistry, pediatrics, biology, pharmacology, biotechnology, physics, chemistry, plant sciences, computer science, psychiatry, materials science, surgery, mathematics, veterinary science, medicine, and zoology.

Social Sciences Citation Index - This database covers the journal literature of the social sciences. It indexes more than 1,725 journals spanning 50 disciplines from 1956 to the present. Some of the disciplines covered include: anthropology, political science, history, public health, industrial relations, social issues, information science & library science, social work, law, sociology, linguistics, substance abuse, philosophy, urban studies, psychology, women's studies, and psychiatry.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index - This database indexes 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals from 1975 to the present. Some of the disciplines covered include: archaeology, linguistics, architecture, literary reviews, art, literature, Asian studies, music, classics, philosophy, dance, poetry, folklore, radio, television, film, history, religion, language, and theater.

Use PAWS ID and password for Endnotes Help
ARTstor
The ARTstor Digital Library provides more than one million images with tools for teaching and research. Its collections comprise contributions from outstanding museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates from all over the world (read the full list here: http://www.artstor.org/collections). The collections encompass a wide variety of subject areas, including art, architecture, music, religion, anthropology, literature, world history, American Studies, Asian Studies, Classical Studies, Medieval Studies, Renaissance Studies, and more.

Some ARTstor features are accessible only with a password available below.

Passwords (log in with your PAWS information).
Help pages for offline viewer
arXiv
The mathematics arXiv is part of the e-print arXiv of physics, mathematics, and computer science. It is maintained at Cornell University. The arXiv was started in 1991 at Los Alamos in the area of high-energy theoretical physics and was then known as hep-th; for many years it was also known as "xxx". It is freely available and mirrored in 15 countries; new submissions are usually available the next day.

The mathematics arXiv was formed from a number of smaller mathematical archives, with some in the arXiv system and some elsewhere, at the beginning of 1998. The system as a whole has over 200,000 articles in physics, over 20,000 in mathematics, and over 2,000 in computer science. The ultimate goal is to distribute all new research literature in all three disciplines worldwide, to store it permanently, and to keep it freely available.

ASFA 1: Biological Sciences & Living Resources LSU Only
This database, which monitors 4026 journals, covers basic and applied research on aquatic organisms, including all aspects of marine, fresh water, and brackish water organisms and environments. Covers research on exploitation of living resources, and related legal and socioeconomic issues. Sponsored by four U.N. specialized agencies. Monthly. 22,000 abstracts annually. Journals indexed by this database.
ASFA 2: Ocean Technology, Policy and Non-Living Resources
Covers the fields of oceanography: physical, descriptive, dynamical, chemical, geological, and biological aspects, as well as limnology, ocean engineering, and specific resources. Also covers the current issues in international policy and legislation, meteorology and climatology, and technology and engineering.

ASFA 3: Aquatic Pollution & Environmental Quality
ASFA 3 is the only abstracts journal devoted exclusively to research and policy on the contamination of oceans, seas, lakes, rivers, and estuaries. ASFA 3 contains information that will prove essential to specialists who deal in any capacity with aquatic environments and marine pollution problems. Major areas of coverage include - Aquatic Pollution: methods and instruments, characteristics/behavior/fate, effects on organisms, prevention and control; Environmental Quality: environmental changes, mechanical and natural, protective measures and control, conservation, wildlife management,and recreation, public health, medicines, and dangerous organisms quarterly. Approximately 7,050 abstracts annually, updated monthly. Journals indexed by this database.

ASFA Aquaculture Abstracts (Cambridge Scientific Abstracts)
Accesses research into improving and augmenting aquatic yields, including cultivating marine, freshwater, and brackishwater species. Provides international perspectives on the science, practice, management, and economics of aquaculture. Bimonthly. 4,800 abstracts annually. Journals indexed by this database.
ASFA Marine Biotechnology Abstracts
The ASFA series is a reference in the field of aquatic resources. Input to ASFA is provided by an international network of information centers monitoring over 5,000 serial publications, books, reports, conference proceedings, translations and limited distribution literature. ASFA is a component of the Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Information System (ASFIS), formed by four United Nations agency sponsors of ASFA and two international partners. Journals indexed by this site.

ASM Handbooks Online
ASM Handbooks Online features the complete content of twenty ASM Handbook volumes plus two ASM Desk Editions.

ASP Conference Series
Since 1988, the non-profit Astronomical Society of the Pacific (ASP) has published the renowned Conference Series as part of its century-old mission to provide resources for astronomers and advance the science of astronomy.

Associated Press Collections Online
Note: Trial ends April 9, 2014
Associated Press Collections Online is a publishing program focusing on making varied treasures of the Associated Press Corporate Archives, AP Images, and AP Archive available to libraries worldwide. Exploring the history and back story of the venerable Associated Press—decades' worth of wire copy, correspondence, memos, internal publications, and more—the Associated Press Collections Online meets the research needs of a variety of disciplines, and offers a cutting-edge platform designed to support that research.
ASTM Standards Source
Note: YOU MUST USE INTERNET EXPLORER TO ACCESS. NOT SUPPORTED BY FIREFOX.
A complete database of all 11,000+ ASTM Standards. Accessed through a search menu to display PDF files of the Standards with the ability to enlarge any illustrations, pictures, or tables.

Access is limited to on campus only. One must use an official LSU Active Directory account managed by InformationTechnology Services (ITS) to access this resource. If you are unableto access this resource, please contact your local IT contact for assistance.

NOTE: For any buttons that request to "Insert Data Disc" to view any documents, just press the button and the document will be displayed.

ATLA Religion Database
The ATLA Religion Database is the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all scholarly fields of religion. Indexing journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in more than 60 languages, the ATLA Religion Database includes more than 460,000 article citations from over 1,500 journals, 651 of which are currently indexed. It also provides bibliographic coverage of over 260,000 essay citations from more than 15,400 multi-author works, and more than 423,000 book reviews, and an increasing number of multimedia citations.

Journals are selected for inclusion according to their scholarly merit and scope. Journals representing all the major religious faiths, major denominations, and numerous language groups are included. ATLA's indexing of multi-author works, such as Festschriften and conference proceedings, is unique among religion databases. Unlike indexes that catalog books of essays as a single entry, ATLA indexes the individual essays in each such work.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals database offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design, including bibliographic descriptions. It contains over 600,000 entries surveying over 2,500 American and international journals, including many that are peer reviewed. Publications from professional associations and regional periodicals are also included.
Databases by Title
This does not search within databases

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
Help guide Information
Some full text available Some Full Text
Free Trial
Open Access


Untitled Document