Databases
By Title:
ABCDE FGHIJKLMNOPRSTUVWZNumAll

e-Duke Scholarly Collection
Duke University Press publishes and distributes more than thirty periodicals that span a stimulating range of disciplines within the humanities and sciences--from East Asian cultural studies to French history, from lesbian and gay studies to mathematics and the history of economic thought, from feminism, culture and media studies to medieval and early modern studies. The e-Duke Scholarly Collection includes online access to twenty-nine Duke humanities and social science journals.

Early American Fiction Complete
Early American Fiction 1789–1875 offers the full text of more than 700 first editions of American novels and short stories by such authors as Louisa May Alcott, Herman Melville, Harriet Beecher Stowe and Mark Twain, as well as a host of minor writers of the period.

Early American Imprints Series 1: Evans 1639 - 1800
Early American Imprints, Series I. Evans (1639-1800) has been hailed as one of the most important collections ever produced on microform. Based on the renowned American Bibliography by Charles Evans and enhanced by Roger Bristol's Supplement to Evans' American Bibliography, the collection was first published by Readex in cooperation with the American Antiquarian Society (AAS).

For decades, the collection has served as a foundation set for research involving early American history, literature, philosophy, religion, and more. Series I. Evans is the definitive resource for information about every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America, from agriculture and auctions through foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, temperance, witchcraft, and just about any other topic imaginable.

Continuing their long-term relationship, Readex and the AAS are now undertaking a massive project to digitize the entire Evans collection. Evans Digital Edition will include every item previously produced on microform plus more than1,200 additional works located, catalogued and digitized since completion of the earlier effort.

By searching ASCII text associated with images, researchers enjoy unprecedented power to locate relevant material. Bibliographic records created by the AAS are integrated into the database as well, providing additional access points. Upon completion, Evans Digital will consist of more than 36,000 works and 2,400,000 images.
Early American Imprints Series 2: Shaw-Shoemaker 1801 - 1819
Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819 provides a comprehensive set of American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the early part of the 19th century. It is based on the noted -American Bibliography, 1801-1819- by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker. With more than four million pages from over 36,000 items - including 1,000 catalogued new items unavailable in previous microform editions-this digital edition from Readex is an essential complement to Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800, the definitive resource for researching 17th- and 18th-century America.

Early English Books Online
Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.

From the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare, this collection now contains about 100,000 of over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. Libraries possessing this collection find they are able to fulfill the most exhaustive research requirements of graduate scholars - from their desktop! - in many subject areas, including: English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) is a collection of reference, scholarly, and professional e-books (full text electronic books) from university and commercial presses, covering a variety of disciplines.
EBSCO Discovery Service
EBSCO Discovery Service provides a user-friendly method of searching LSU Libraries' Online Catalog along with the full-text of much of the Libraries' electronic holdings.
EBSCO Electronic Journals Service
EBSCOhost Electronic Journals Service (EJS) is a gateway to thousands of e-journals containing millions of articles from hundreds of different publishers, all at one web site.
EbscoHost Databases
Access to all the databases available through the EBSCOhost platform.

EBSCOhost ECONOMIA Y NEGOCIOS
EBSCOhost ECONOMIA Y NEGOCIOS is the result of a collaborative effort between EBSCO Publishing and ESAN (Escuela de Administración de Negocios para Graduados). ESAN is the oldest graduate school of business in the Spanish-speaking world. This continuously updated bibliographic database is an indispensable tool for research conducted in the areas of business and economics. Search functionality is enhanced through the incorporation of author keywords supplied in both Spanish and English. In addition, more than 60,000 records, dating back to the early 1980s, provide coverage for more than 200 Spanish and Portuguese-language periodicals published in Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Spain, the United States, and elsewhere.

Ecology Abstracts
Ecology Abstracts focuses on how organisms of all kinds - microbes, plants, and animals - interact with their environments and with other organisms. Included are relevant papers on evolutionary biology, economics, and systems analysis as they relate to ecosystems or the environment, and is updated monthly. Major areas of coverage include: algae/lichens, animals, annelids, aquatic ecosystems, arachnids, arid zones, birds, brackish water, bryophytes/pteridophytes, coastal ecosystems, conifers, conservation, control, crustaceans, ecosystem studies, fungi, grasses, grasslands, high altitude environments, human ecology, insects, legumes, mammals, management, microorganisms, molluscs, nematodes, paleo-ecology, plants, pollution studies, reptiles, river basins, soil, taiga/tundra, terrestrial ecosystems, vertebrates, wetlands, and woodlands. Journals indexed by this database.
Econlit
Contains citations since 1969, with selected abstracts since 1987, of world economic literature from 400 major journals, essays, proceedings, books, reviews, dissertations and working papers. It is produced by the American Economic Association.

Economics and Sociology Abstracts via CabDirect
Including the CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, this is the leading database for literature related to agriculture and applied life sciences, including strong international coverage.
Educational Administration Abstracts
Educational Administration Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering areas related to educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management, educational research, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 190,000 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline.
Effects of Offshore Oil & Gas Development
This bibliography is a quarterly compilation of current publications (citations with abstracts) from a wide variety of electronic and print information sources relating to offshore oil and gas development.
eHRAF World Cultures
HRAF is an acronym for Human Relations Area Files. HRAF is a consortium of educational, research and cultural organizations, and government agencies; its mission is to encourage and facilitate the study of human culture, society, and behavior. This mission is accomplished mainly through the compilation, indexing, and distribution of a collection of ethnographic and other texts that are indexed by culture and subject. (eHRAF stands for the electronic collections of the HRAF).
Electronic Thesis and Dissertation Library
Note: Access to electronic theses and dissertations is usually unrestricted. Some titles may be limited to the LSU campus or have other access restrictions.
Online versions of various theses and dissertations from LSU graduate students.

Adobe Acrobat Reader is required to access them.

Emerald Business, Management and Economics eBook Series Collection
2010 publications plus complete Archive. LSU's access does not currently include publications from 2011 to present.
Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology (Kirk-Othmer)
Written by prominent scholars from industry, academia, and research institutions, the Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology presents a wide scope of articles on chemical substances—including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. It also focuses on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering, as well as covering fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field. Additionally, environmental and health issues concerning chemical technology are also addressed.

Encyclopedia of Communities of Practice in Information and Knowledge Management
The Encyclopedia of Communities of Practice in Information and Knowledge Management is the leading reference source for dynamic and innovative research in the field of communities of practice (CoPs) in information and knowledge management. With knowledge management work on the increase, this single volume encyclopedia provides a comprehensive, critical and descriptive examination of all facets of CoPs in information and knowledge management in societies and organizations. Hundreds of international researchers provide in-depth coverage of conceptual and practical issues as well as topics regarding learning, leadership, ethics, social, intellectual, rewards, and language challenges.

Encyclopedia of Data Warehousing and Mining
The Encyclopedia of Data Warehousing and Mining provides a comprehensive, critical and descriptive examination of concepts, issues, trends, and challenges in this rapidly expanding field of data warehousing and mining (DWM). This encyclopedia consists of more than 350 contributors from 32 countries, 1,800 terms and definitions, and more than 4,400 references. This authoritative publication offers in-depth coverage of evolutions, theories, methodologies, functionalities, and applications of DWM in such interdisciplinary industries as healthcare informatics, artificial intelligence, financial modeling, and applied statistics, making it a single source of knowledge and latest discoveries in the field of DWM.
Encyclopedia of Database Technologies and Applications
The Encyclopedia of Database Technologies and Applications is a wide-ranging collection of diverse coverage of topics related to database concepts, technologies, and applications. This encyclopedia provides an overview of the state-of-the-art of classical subjects and has contributions from over 175 international researchers from 33 countries, more than 970 terms and definitions and over 2,400 references. It also delivers clear and concise explanations of emerging issues and technologies such as multimedia database systems, data warehousing and mining, geospatial and temporal databases, and data reverse engineering. The Encyclopedia of Database Technologies and Applications is a priceless single reference source for any library on the topic of database technologies and applications.

This important new publication offers researchers, scholars, students and professionals access to the latest knowledge related to database science and technology.
Encyclopedia of Developing Regional Communities with Information and Communication Technology
The Encyclopedia of Developing Regional Communities with Information and Communication Technology is an important and timely reference source on all topics related to the emerging field of information and communication technology (ICT) and its role in developing regional communities. This single-volume provides a thorough examination of concepts, technologies, policies, training, and applications of ICT in support of economic and regional developments around the globe. With 171 leading international contributors from 40 countries, over 940 terms and definitions, and more than 2,200 references, this publication is the single indispensable source of knowledge related to ICT and its strong positive impacts on the economic development of regional communities around the world.
Encyclopedia of Distance Learning
The Encyclopedia of Distance Learning offers the most comprehensive coverage of the issues, concepts, trends, and technologies of distance learning. Over 400 international contributors from over 35 countries have provided extensive coverage of topics such as workforce training, accessing education, digital divide, and the evolution of distance and online education into a multibillion dollar enterprise. This encyclopedia is edited by leading international experts with multiple years of professional and academic experience in the field. With more than 2,000 terms and definitions and over 6,000 additional references, this encyclopedia is considered the foremost reference source for the latest understanding, discoveries, and research in the field of distance learning. The Encyclopedia of Distance Learning is an excellent source of comprehensive knowledge and literature on the topic of distance learning programs.
Encyclopedia of Geography

This encyclopedia:

  • Gives a concise historical sketch of geography’s long, rich, and fascinating history, including human geography, physical geography, and GIS
  • Provides succinct summaries of trends such as globalization, environmental destruction, new geospatial technologies, and cyberspace
  • Decomposes geography into the six broad subject areas: physical geography; human geography; nature and society; methods, models, and GIS; history of geography; and geographer biographies, geographic organizations, and important social movements
  • Provides hundreds of color illustrations and images that lend depth and realism to the text
  • Includes a special map section


Encyclopedia of Human Computer Interaction
The Encyclopedia of Human Computer Interaction is the most thorough and definitive source providing coverage of everything related to the field of human computer interaction (HCI). This encyclopedia covers a wide range of HCI related topics such as concepts, design, usability, evaluation, innovations, and applications of HCI in organizations around the globe. Over 120 contributors and advisors from around the world have conferred their expertise to this publication, and with over 830 key terms and definitions as well as more than 2,600 references, this encyclopedia is the single source of authoritative and contemporary research in field of human computer interaction.

The Encyclopedia of Human Computer Interaction also includes coverage of real life experiences and cases of HCI and the lessons learned helping readers to learn extensively about this important field of study.
Encyclopedia of Knowledge Management
The Encyclopedia of Knowledge Management is the most comprehensive source of coverage related to the past, present, and emerging directions of knowledge management. The Encyclopedia of Knowledge Management provides a broad basis for understanding the issues, technologies, theories, applications, opportunities, and challenges being faced by researchers and organizations today in their quest for knowledge management. Over 170 contributors from 23 countries have conferred their expertise to this publication, and with 940 definitions and more than 3,600 references, this encyclopedia is the single source for reliable and modern-day research in the field of knowledge management.
Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics 2nd Edition
The Encyclopedia of Language & Linguistics covers the full range of topics in contemporary linguistics, with coverage across all aspects of language, whether spoken, written or signed. Encyclopedia of Language & Linguistics gives full attention to formal and functional approaches to the fundamental linguistic disciplines of phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, semantics, pragmatics and discourse as they relate to the description, analysis and use of individual languages and to typological, historical, comparative and variationist approaches to language and to languages.

Encyclopedia of Library and Information Sciences
This third edition of the Encyclopedia of Library and Information Sciences is not limited to librarianship or information science. It is designed to cover a spectrum of related information disciplines, including:
  • Archival Science
  • Bibliography
  • Document and Genre Theory
  • Informatics
  • Information Systems
  • Knowledge Management
  • Library and Information Science
  • Museum Studies
  • Records Management
  • Social Studies of Information

Encyclopedia of Portal Technologies and Applications
The Encyclopedia of Portal Technologies and Applications offers complete coverage of the nature, characteristics, advantages, limitations, design, and evolution of Web portals. Other topics include semantic portals, philosophical portal issues, and personal portals. This authoritative encyclopedia encompasses the economics of setting up and using personal portals, knowledge management, strategic planning, user acceptance, security and the law.

State-of-the-art portal technology and applications are also described in the Encyclopedia of Portal Technologies and Applications. This comprehensive reference source contains more than 200 articles from academics, experts, and practitioners from around the world. It covers technical characteristics of portals and portal applications in a wide range of areas from business to science and will appeal to a wide range of readers.

Encyclopedia of Social Work
Co-published by the National Association of Social Workers and Oxford University Press, the 20th edition of the Encyclopedia of Social Work is widely considered the cornerstone of reference in its field. This new edition includes coverage of areas that have come to the fore since the 1995 publication of the 19th edition, including demographic changes from immigration, technology, the implications of managed care, faith-based assistance, evidence-based practice, gerontology, and trauma and disaster.

The Encyclopedia contains four hundred subject entries and two hundred brief biographies of key figures in the history of social work. Clearly arranged in A-Z format, each article is fully cross-referenced and includes a select bibliography to guide interested readers to primary sources and the most important scholarly works on a given subject. The work also includes a comprehensive index and topical outline. Comprehensive in coverage and international in scope, the Encyclopedia is a valuable resource to social work practitioners, scholars, and students alike.

Encyclopedia of Spectroscopy and Spectrometry
The Encyclopedia of Spectroscopy and Spectrometry provides authoritative and comprehensive coverage of the whole topic of spectroscopy, from theory to applications. Short articles, each covering one aspect of spectroscopy, provide the professional spectroscopist working in academia or industry with the essential facts and background on areas of spectroscopy peripheral to their own. A list of further reading at the end of each article directs the reader to the level of detail required for professional purposes. Articles are arranged alphabetically, each having been named to facilitate logical access by the reader. Each article is flagged as to which area of spectroscopy it covers ("Mass Spectroscopy," "Magnetic Resonance," etc.) and whether it covers theory, methods and instrumentation, or applications. Users can refer to an alphabetical article listing, or to a listing arranged according to subject area to locate articles. Further reading lists at the end of each article allow easy access to the primary literature. Extensive cross-referencing, a complete subject index, numerous figures, and color plates are included in each volume.
Encyclopedia of Virtual Communities and Technologies
The Encyclopedia of Virtual Communities and Technologies provides the most inclusive coverage of the concepts and realities in the field of virtual communities and technologies. The hundreds of entries included in this encyclopedia have been authored by 142 leading international researchers, presenting an in-depth analysis of conceptual, technical, and the impacts of virtual environments in our global village. In addition, over 100 entries provide coverage of different types of virtual communities, their social status and impact, and individual and group behavior in these communities. This encyclopedia also offers coverage of upcoming and emerging technologies for virtual communities human-computer interfaces, new networking, mobile computing, web services, and synchronous and asynchronous environments.
Encyclopedia or World Dress and Fashion
Informed by prestigious academic and library advisors, and anchored by the ten-volume Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion (July 2010), the Berg Fashion Library is the first online resource to provide access to interdisciplinary and integrated text, image, and journal content on world dress and fashion. The Berg Fashion Library offers users cross-searchable access to an expanding range of essential resources in this discipline of growing importance and relevance including a specially-created taxonomy, an e-book collection, and extensive color image bank. It will be of use to anyone working in, researching, or studying fashion, anthropology, art history, history, museum studies, and cultural studies.

Energy Citations Databases
This database contains bibliographic records for energy and energy-related scientific and technical information from the Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies, the Energy Research & Development Administration (ERDA) and the Atomic Energy Commission (AEC).

Engineering Information Village 2
Contains databases and links to information on the following areas of engineering: acoustical engineering, aeronautical engineering, aerospace engineering, agriculture, automotive engineering, biotech engineering, business and financial, careers and education, chemical engineering, chemical industry, civil engineering and architecture, computer engineering, construction, drugs and medicine, electrical engineering, electronics, energy management, geology and mining, industrial and manufacturing engineering, international engineering, manufacturing, materials, mechanical engineering, metals and mining, nuclear and power engineering, office equipment and computers, optics and electro-optical engineering, petroleum engineering, telecommunications, transportation, and utilities and power.
English Short Title Catalogue
The English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC) describes English or English-language letterpress materials published before 1801. ESTC contains records for items of all types published in Great Britain or its colonies or in English from 1473 to 1800.
Environmental Issues and Policy Index
The Environmental Issues & Policy Index database offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.

Environmental Issues & Policy Index offers cover-to-cover indexing and detailed abstracts for well over 1,000 international journals, with ongoing coverage for over 500 titles, providing a global perspective on important issues. The database features an in-depth thesaurus, and extensive subject area coverage ranging as far back as 1950.
ERIC Abstracts (Education Resources Information Center)
ERIC, sponsored by the US Department of Education, consists of two files: Resources in Education, covering the document literature, (research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, and books), and Current Index to Journals in Education, covering published journal literature from over 775 periodicals.

Covers educational research and resources, including career, adult, vocational, technical, and teacher education; education of the handicapped, disadvantaged, and the gifted; early childhood education, junior colleges and higher education; reading and communications skills; languages and linguistics; education management; counseling and personnel services; library and information science; information resources.

Free Web Access
ERIC Institute of Education Sciences
Online digital library of education research and information. ERIC is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the United States Department of Education. The mission of ERIC is to provide a comprehensive, easy-to-use, searchable, Internet-based bibliographic and full-text database of education research and information for educators, researchers, and the general public. Education research and information are essential to improving teaching, learning, and educational decision-making.
Essay and General Literature Index Retrospective
Covering 1900 - 1984, this database indexes more than 249,000 essays included in this collection, it indexes single and multi-author collections, plus selected annuals and serials. It includes publications from the United States, Canada and Great Britain, covering eight decades of 20th Century literature.
ETDEWEB
ETDEWEB includes information on the environmental impact of energy production and use, including climate change; energy R&D; energy policy; nuclear, coal, hydrocarbon and renewable energy technologies and more.

Includes over 953,500 bibliographic records with more than 4.4 million downloadable full text.
Eureka
RLG has merged into Worldcat.

Access to RLIN databases: The Bibliographic File serves as a comprehensive catalog of books, serials, manuscripts, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films, photographs, posters, and computer files from the collections of major research and academic libraries, archives, museums and other collections. The English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC) describes English or English-language letterpress materials published before 1801. ESTC contains records for items of all types published in Great Britain or its colonies or in English from 1473 to 1800.

European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750
A bibliographic database of more than 32,000 entries, providing a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750, this database is the result of a cooperation between EBSCO Publishing and the John Carter Brown Library. The database is created from "European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750," and is available to LSU free from EBSCO.

Evans Digital Edition, Early American Imprints Series 1: 1639 - 1800
Early American Imprints, Series I. Evans (1639-1800) has been hailed as one of the most important collections ever produced on microform. Based on the renowned American Bibliography by Charles Evans and enhanced by Roger Bristol's Supplement to Evans' American Bibliography, the collection was first published by Readex in cooperation with the American Antiquarian Society (AAS).

For decades, the collection has served as a foundation set for research involving early American history, literature, philosophy, religion, and more. Series I. Evans is the definitive resource for information about every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America, from agriculture and auctions through foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, temperance, witchcraft, and just about any other topic imaginable.

Continuing their long-term relationship, Readex and the AAS are now undertaking a massive project to digitize the entire Evans collection. Evans Digital Edition will include every item previously produced on microform plus more than1,200 additional works located, catalogued and digitized since completion of the earlier effort.

By searching ASCII text associated with images, researchers enjoy unprecedented power to locate relevant material. Bibliographic records created by the AAS are integrated into the database as well, providing additional access points. Upon completion, Evans Digital will consist of more than 36,000 works and 2,400,000 images.
Experian Business Credit Profiles
Contains the payment history, bankruptcy, tax and legal history, UCC filings, and banking relationships, as well as key facts such as Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) codes, sales ranges, and more for over 8,000,000 companies. Full audited financials financials are available for all publicly held companies.

Records contain at least two of the following elements: identifying information (SIC code and telephone number), bank data, supplemental data, key facts data, S&P data, legal data, government data, or trade data. Use Format 6 to determine which sections are present in each record. The file also provides comprehensive public record coverage including bankruptcies, federal and state tax liens, judgements, and UCCs.

Export.gov
Export.gov brings together resources from across the U.S. Government to assist American businesses in planning their international sales strategies and succeed in today’s global marketplace.

What can Market Access and Compliance (MAC) do to help my business?

After you contact our Trade Compliance Center or the country desk in one of our regional offices, MAC will evaluate whether the problem is a market access issue or a compliance problem with an existing trade agreement. MAC will establish a team of experts on the country, the industry, the trade agreement, and other needed areas. The team will review all possible options to resolve the problem and then work through each tactic towards a solution.

What is the difference between market access and compliance?

Market Access – U.S. exporters sometimes encounter trade barriers. For instance, a country may only allow products to enter the most inconvenient port or a country may treat imported goods differently than domestic goods. MAC receives calls from businesses, associations and international U.S. commercial offices, and we then map out a plan to solve the problem.

Compliance – The United States is a party in over 250 trade agreements. But trade agreements are only paper unless foreign governments comply with their obligations. MAC addresses compliance problems quickly and aggressively. Once a problem is identified, we organize a team to outline and implement a solution.

What are some common trade problems MAC can help U.S. businesses overcome?

MAC provides help with the following common trade problems through the Trade Compliance Center:

  • Tariff and customs barriers
  • Service barriers
  • Standards, testing, labeling, or certification barriers
  • Rules of origin
  • Government procurement contract barriers
  • Intellectual property protection problems
  • Excessive government requirements
  • Excessive testing or licensing fees
  • Bribery
  • Investment

Databases by Title
This does not search within databases

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
Help guide Information
Some full text available Some Full Text
Free Trial
Open Access


Untitled Document