On a mobile device?

View the LSU Libraries Mobile Website at
http://www.lib.lsu.edu/m/

Databases
By Title:
ABCDEFGH IJKLMNOPRSTUVWZNumAll

Handbook of Latin American Studies
Provides a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works for inclusion.

Handbook of Psychology, Second Edition
Covers every aspect of the ever-burgeoning discipline of psychology. Leading national and international scholars have collaborated under the guidance of recognized expert editors to produce this handbook, which includes chapters covering virtually every core, as well as contemporary topic in the subject area, from the established theories to the most modern research and developments.
Handbook of Research on Instructional Systems and Technology
There is substantial effort and research within various disciplines to tackle the current issues and trends in instructional systems and technology that deal with the improvement of computer- and technology-assisted learning settings and environments, online and distance education, technology and cognition, as well as the multicultural and cross-cultural aspects of instructional technology and learning.

The Handbook of Research on Instructional Systems and Technology addresses these issues by providing information on the different styles of instructional design methodologies, tips, and strategies on how to use technology to facilitate active learning as well as techniques to help faculty and researchers develop online instructional and teaching materials. This Handbook of Research enables libraries to provide a foundational reference to meet the information needs of researchers, educators, practitioners, administrators, and all other stakeholders in the context of instructional systems and technology.

Handbook of Research on Literacy in Technology at the K-12 Level
The Handbook of Research on Literacy in Technology at the K-12 Level is the first reference work to provide comprehensive coverage of the issues, methods, and theories that define the converging worlds of literacy and technology at the pre-collegiate level. Over 50 international experts have combined their research and practical experience into 35 all-inclusive chapters, redefining the way teaching and learning is dispensed. This authoritative handbook details the needs of teachers, researchers, and scholars through state-of-the-art perspectives, exposing them to new ideas and interesting developments. The Handbook of Research on Literacy in Technology at the K-12 Level is instrumental in providing access to the latest knowledge in the field.

Key features include: Authoritative contributions by the world’s leading experts, a single source for comprehensive information on an expansive field, over 260 key terms with detailed definitions, more than 1,300 comprehensive references on existing literature and research on literacy and technology, organized by topic and indexed, making it a convenient method of reference for all IT/IS scholars and professionals, and cross-referencing of subjects and information pertinent to research on literacy and technology.

HarpWeek (Harper's Weekly)
Contains the full-text of Harper's Weekly during the Civil War era (1857-1865) and access to HarpWeek Reconstruction I (1866 - 1871). The HarpWeek Database consists of the pages of Harper's Weekly, scanned as images, together with a series of controlled-vocabulary indexes, which are interactively linked.

HathiTrust Digital Library
HathiTrust Digital Library is a digital preservation repository and highly functional access platform. It provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives.
The partners ensure the reliability and efficiency of the digital library by relying on community standards and best practices, developing policies and procedures to manage content and services at scale, and maintaining a modular, open infrastructure.
Hazardous Substances Data Bank (HSDB)
Hazardous Substances Data Bank - Broad scope in human and animal toxicity, safety and handling, environmental fate, and more. Scientifically peer-reviewed.
Health & Safety Science Abstracts
Surveys recent work relating to public health, safety, and industrial hygiene. Major areas of coverage include: occupational safety and health, transportation environmental and ecology, food and drugs, pesticides, natural disasters, civil defense, and emergency management, fire safety, radiation safety, electrical safety, consumer and recreation safety, ergonomics and human factors, diseases, injuries, trauma, epidemology and public health, medical safety, toxicology, civil and structural engineering. Monthly. 5,600 abstracts annually. Journals indexed by this database.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides nearly 600 scholarly full text journals, including nearly 450 peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. While coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong, the database also covers Clinical Pharmacology, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs for all U.S. prescription drugs, hard-to-find herbal and nutritional supplements, over-the-counter products and new and investigational drugs. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1975.
Helminthology Abstracts via CabDirect
Including the CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, this is the leading database for literature related to agriculture and applied life sciences, including strong international coverage.
Historical Census Browser
The data and terminology presented in the Historical Census Browser are drawn directly from historical volumes of the U.S. Census of Population and Housing.
Historical Chicago Defender
As part of the ProQuest Historical Newspapers™ program, the Chicago Defender offers primary source material essential to the study of American history and African-American culture, history, politics, and the arts. Covering the years 1909-1975, the Chicago Defender includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format.

History Reference Center
History Reference Center is the world's most comprehensive full text history reference database designed for secondary schools, public libraries, junior/community colleges, and undergraduate research. The database features full text for more than 1,000 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers, such as: Branden Publishing, Chelsea House Publishers, Columbia University Press, Compass Point Books, Great Neck Publishing, Houghton Mifflin, Lerner Publishing Group, MacMillan Publishing USA, Mason Crest Publishers, Millbrook Press Inc., Morgan Reynolds Inc., Oliver Press, Oxford University Press, Primedia Special Interest Publications, Rourke Publishing LLC., Salem Press, Stackpole Books, Toucan Valley Publications, Webster Publishing, and more.

The database also includes full text for 60 leading history periodicals including America's Civil War, American Heritage, American Historical Review, American History, Archaeology, Aviation History, Beaver, British Heritage, Chinese America: History & Perspectives, Civil War Times, Foreign Affairs, German History, History, History Review, History Today (back to January 1975), History: Review of New Books, Kansas History, Journal of American History, Manitoba History, Military History, Naval History, North Carolina Historical Review, Virginia Magazine of History & Biography, Wild West, World War II and more. Further, the database contains 58,000 historical documents; 43,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 12,000 historical photos and maps; and more than 80 hours of historical video.
Horticultural Abstracts via CabDirect
Including the CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, this is the leading database for literature related to agriculture and applied life sciences, including strong international coverage.

Hospitality and Tourism Index
The Hospitality & Tourism Index (HTI) covers all significant scholarly research and industry news relating to the areas of hospitality and tourism. This comprehensive index combines the records of three renowned collections: Cornell University's former Hospitality database, previously unavailable for public use; Articles in Hospitality and Tourism (AHT), formerly co-produced by the Universities of Surrey and Oxford Brookes; and the Lodging, Restaurant & Tourism Index (LRTI), formerly produced by Purdue University. HTI contains more than 440,000 records from 500 titles, with coverage going back to the early 1940s. True to the nature of the discipline, sources are both domestic and international in range and scope, with material collected from countries and regions such as Canada, Australia, Europe and Asia.

Publications include Hotel & Motel Management, Journal of Leisure Research, Nation's Restaurant News, Restaurants & Institutions, and many more. Major coverage includes demographics and statistics, development and investment, food and beverage management, hospitality law, hotel management and administrative practices, leisure and business travel, market trends, technology and more. Articles from publications that focus on related subject areas such as real estate, marketing, and consumer psychology will be selected by an editor to provide the researcher with the best possible coverage of hospitality, travel, and tourism.

HRAF Collection of Ethnography
HRAF is an acronym for Human Relations Area Files. HRAF is a consortium of educational, research and cultural organizations, and government agencies; its mission is to encourage and facilitate the study of human culture, society, and behavior. This mission is accomplished mainly through the compilation, indexing, and distribution of a collection of ethnographic and other texts that are indexed by culture and subject. (eHRAF stands for the electronic collections of the HRAF).
Human Health and Hygiene Abstracts via CabDirect
Including the CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, this is the leading database for literature related to agriculture and applied life sciences, including strong international coverage.

Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective
A wide range of important journals in the humanities and social sciences as far back as 1907—in the convenient electronic format users prefer! Coverage also includes content from H.W. Wilson’s International Index. Combine this valuable resource with other Wilson databases such as Humanities Full Text and/or Social Sciences Full Text for a century of research in hundreds of journals. With its astounding breadth and depth, Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 makes important periodicals in your library’s collection more accessible—and valuable—to research
Databases by Title
This does not search within databases

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
Help guide Information
Some full text available Some Full Text
Free Trial
Open Access


Untitled Document