LSU Libraries -- Database List: I

Databases
By Title:
ABCDEFGHI JKLMNOPRSTUVWZNumAll

IBA (International Bibliography of Art)
International Bibliography of Art (IBA) is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and covers the time period from 2008 - present. For the years, 1975-2007, see BHA. Authoritative coverage of international scholarship is provided for European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945. Visual arts in all media are also covered: painting, sculpture, drawing, video, installations, new media, decorative and applied arts, museum studies and conservation, archaeology, folk art and material culture, classical studies, antiques, architectural history.
IBISWorld
IBISWorld is a comprehensive collection of hundreds of Industry Market Research reports. Industries represented include Agriculture; Mining; Utilities; Construction; Manufacturing; Wholesale Trade; Retail Trade; Transportation; Information; Finance; Real Estate; Technical and Scientific; Waste Management; Education; Healthcare; Recreation; and Food Services.

IEEE Xplore
IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL)
Abstract records and full text articles published since 1988 with select content published since 1893 from:
  • IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines, including early access documents
  • IEEE conference proceedings
  • IET journals
  • IET conference proceedings
  • IEEE published standards and redline versions
  • IEEE Standards Dictionary Online

Access to the AbstractPlus records and select full text published since 2005 from:
        VDE VERLAG conference proceedings

IEEE-Wiley eBooks Library Purchase
    Full text access to all IEEE-Wiley eBooks titles copyrighted in the year(s) 1974-2014.
The online version of several IEEE journals, magazines, and proceedings.
IHS Global Insight
Global Insight/DRI Global Economics Provides access to comprehensive economic and financial indicators for over fifty countries. Locate historical statistics for indicators such as the consumer and producer price indexes, futures and options markets, exchange rates, population, and housing.

Global Insight/DRI Global Economics Provides access to comprehensive economic and financial indicators for over fifty countries. Locate historical statistics for indicators such as the consumer and producer price indexes, futures and options markets, exchange rates, population, and housing. http://www.ihsglobalinsight.com/About/ The data bases available in our Global Insight subscription are: Balance of Payments - IMF (IMFBOP); Basic Economics - Daily (BASIC/D); Basic Economics - Foreign Exchange (BASIC/FX); Basic Economics - Weekly (BASIC/W); Basic Economics (BASIC); Canada Primary Source (DBCAND); Commodities - Crops (CI/CROPS); Commodities - Financials (CI/FINANCIALS); Commodities - Foods (CI/FOODS); Commodities - Industrials (CI/InduSTRIALS); Commodities - Metals (CI/METALS); Direction of Trade - IMF (IMFDOT); Dow Jones World Stock Index (INDEX/DOW); Financial Markets Indexes (INDEX/DATA); Flow of Funds (FUNDS); France (FR); Germany (GY); International Automotive Database (AUTODB); International Economic (DRIINTL); International Financial Statistics - IMF (IMF); Italy Economic - Banca d'Italia (IT/BDIT); Italy Economic - Confindustria (IT/CONFIN); Money Markets and Fixed Income (FACS/DATA); Netherlands (NL); OECD Main Economic Indicators (OECDMEI); OECD National Income Accounts (OECDNIA); South Africa (SA); Spain (SP); U.S. and Canadian Equities (DRISEC); U.S. Central - National Assoc. of Realtors (USCEN/NAR); U.S. Central (USCEN); U.S. Industrial & Regional Economic (MARKETS); U.S. Prices (USPRICE); United Kingdom (UK)

Illustrata: Natural Sciences (CSA)
CSA Illustrata: Natural Sciences is the first in a series of CSA Illustrata databases of searchable tables, figures, graphs, charts and other illustrations from the scholarly research and technical literature.

CSA Illustrata: Natural Sciences is interdisciplinary, covering a wide variety of journals from all major areas such as:

Biology, Earth Sciences, Environmental Studies, Medical Sciences, Agriculture, Fish and Fisheries, Education, Geography, Veterinary Science, Food and Food Industries, Pharmacy and Pharmacology, Meteorology, Public Health and Safety, Water Resources, Conservation, andForests and Forestry.
Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and Magazines
Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and Magazines: Important and Rare Periodicals from Confederate, Union, Abolitionist, and British Presses database contains 65,000 pages drawn from 49 periodicals, including 15 campaign newspapers, most of them illustrated 3,720 issues published from 1860 to 1865. Originally printed in 16 different cities, many of the publications are now rare and hard to find, with an item sometimes extant only in a single archive. Carefully sought out and compiled from 17 different museum, library, and private collections, including those of the American Antiquarian Society and the Chicago Historical Society. Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and Magazines is currently offered on the HarpWeek platform, which was specially designed for this kind of content, allowing the user to view re-keyed tables of contents, full page images, or browsable thumbnails.
Images of the American Civil War
Images of the American Civil War: Photographs, Posters, and Ephemera presents the dramatic imagery of nineteenth-century Americana as experienced from the social, military, and political perspectives. At completion, the collection will present 75,000 images drawn from archives around the country, documenting the camp and battle experiences of Union and Confederate soldiers of all ranks, time spent in hospitals and in prisons, civilian life in cities and towns close to and far from the front lines of war, and the demeanor of the politicians whose decisions could bring the nation together or tear it apart. Many of the images in the collection were captured by famous and lesser-known innovators working with the burgeoning medium of nineteenth-century photography. Additionally, graphical content such as envelopes, song sheets, recruiting posters, imprints, and cartoons give users the ability to research how wartime America illustrated their times visually. With Images of the American Civil War: Photographs, Posters, and Ephemera, researchers and students can now see the moments—both monumental and mundane--that occurred as the nation stood divided.
In The First Person
In the First Person is a landmark index to English language personal narratives, including letters, diaries, memoirs, autobiographies, and oral histories. Working with archives, repositories, publishers, and individuals we've indexed first person narratives from hundreds of published volumes—those that are publicly available on the Web and those that are held by repositories and archives around the world.

Future updates will contain full-text sources and hundreds of thousands of bibliographic records. The index will allow users perform in-depth field and keyword searches across all letters, diaries, oral histories, memoirs, and autobiographies within Alexander Street Press databases—more than one million pages of editorially selected materials spanning 400 years. The index also applies the same extensive search tools to scholarly materials that are freely available on the Web. With a single search, users can perform keyword searches across thousands of personal narratives from the English-speaking world.
Index Islamicus
The Index Islamicus database indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. It is produced by an editorial team working at the School of Oriental and African Studies in London, established to transmit knowledge about Islamic and Middle East studies, which have traditionally been part of the curriculum of SOAS. Records included in the database cover almost 100 years of publications on the world of Islam.

Material cited in the Index Islamicus includes not only work written about the Middle East, but also about the other main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere. Over 3,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level.

Index of Christian Art
A thematic and iconographic index of early Christian and Medieval art objects. Besides iconographic descriptions of works of art, the database includes bibliographic records, and information such as style, school, location, and more.
Index to American Periodicals 1700 - 1850
Two "Indexes to Early American Periodicals," covering the time periods from 1741 to 1850 and thought to include all known periodical publications that had their inception and ending during this time periods.
Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals
The Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals, produced by The American Association of Law Libraries, provides access to legal literature worldwide, covering all forms of foreign (non-Anglo-American) law. This includes comparative law and legal systems, such as Islamic law; socialist law; public and private international law; and transnational commercial law. The data is not limited by country of publication, but rather type of publication. Thus, while publications concerning British and American law are not included, British and American publications concerning foreign law are included. The types of documents covered include journal articles, congress reports, essay collections, yearbooks, and book reviews. The database encompasses all languages. Materials in Greek, Cyrillic, and East Asian vernacular are Romanized according to Library of Congress standards. Arabic and Hebrew titles are translated into English or French.

Index to Social Sciences and Humanities Proceedings
Note: Available only on CD-ROM at the Middleton Research Desk. (Call Numbers Z7163 .I52, Z7163 .I52 QUICK REFERENCE GUIDE, Z7163 .I52 1993/2002, Z7163 .I52 1992/2001)
Covers the most significant conference proceedings in the social sciences and humanities over the last five years.
Index Veterinarius
Including the CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, this is the leading database for literature related to agriculture and applied life sciences, including strong international coverage.

Industrial & Applied Microbiology Abstracts (Microbiology A)
Assembles findings and practical applications in agricultural, food and beverage, chemical, and pharmaceutical industries -- including antibiotic and antimicrobial agents, contamination, ripening, and fermentation processes for foods, wines and beer, soil microbiology, plant diseases, biodegradation, isolation and identification of microorganisms. Monthly. 7,700 abstracts annually. Journals indexed by this database.

Industry Reports via Business Source Complete
Business Source® Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content.

Business Source Complete exceeds all other databases available in terms of its premium content of peer-reviewed, business related journals. Included as part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database are indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals, dating back as far as 1886.

In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 40,000 most-cited authors in the database. Journal ranking studies reveal that Business Source Complete is the overwhelmingly superior database for full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Information Science and Technology Abstracts
This library and information science database provides references and abstracts from more than 450 publications covering the world's literature in librarianship, information science and related disciplines. Coverage in Information Science & Technology Abstracts dates back to 1966.

INFORMS Journal Archive
This interface will allow you to search the complete INFORMS Journal Archive from 1952 - present. LSU Libraries access includes up to 1997 for all journals, and some up to present.
Ingenta
  1. Finding your way to the Louisiana State University Gateway Logon Screen:
    1. Follow this link to the Ingenta Gateway.
    2. Navigate through the subsequent connection/authentication pages - if you are connecting to the LSU Ingenta gateway from off campus, you are required to demonstrate your university affiliation by entering your 17-digit Tiger Card ID Number and your PIN.
    3. After authentication/connection to the gateway, you arrive at the Logon Screen.
  2. Logging in to the Louisiana State University Ingenta Gateway:
    1. University Faculty, Research Staff, and Graduate Students are able to create User IDs and Passwords for use in logging into the Ingenta gateway. At any time after you create a User ID and Password and forget either, you can retrieve this information by clicking the "forgot your password?" link on the Logon Screen.
    2. New users have two options for creating User IDs and Passwords:
      1. Creating a User ID and Password by entering your 17-digit Tiger Card ID Number:
        1. Enter your 17-digit Tiger Card ID Number in the field on the Logon page that asks for it specifically.
        2. Once you are recognized as a Faculty member, Research Staff, or Graduate Student, you will be taken to a registration page where you can create a User ID and Password for using the LSU Ingenta Gateway.
        3. Now that you have a User ID and Password, you can login to the gateway from the Logon Page - your profile is saved and your User ID is now, already, connected to our Patrons Deposit Account, which is used to subsidize your Ingenta purchases (up to $65 per article).
        4. If your ID Number is not recognized by Ingenta, then you should register for a User ID and Password by clicking the Register button on the Logon Page. Some users' IDs are not recognized at the beginning of a semester, before new patron information is sent to Ingenta.
        5. Creating a User ID and Password by registering as a new user:
          1. Click the Register button on the Logon Page to complete the registration form; the only difference between registering by clicking the Register button and registering by entering your 17-digit Tiger Card ID number is that you will not be connected to the Patrons Deposit Account if you register by clicking the Register button.
          2. Therefore, after completing this form and selecting a User ID and Password, send an email to the Middleton Interlibrary Loan Department at libilb@lsu.edu with your User ID and Password, stating that you are a new user and would like to be connected to the Patrons Deposit Account.
          3. Once the email is received and processed, your profile will then be connected to the account, which is used to subsidize your Ingenta purchases (up to $65 per article).
      2. You can always use your User ID and Password, once you have them, to login to the LSU Ingenta Gateway, and you should always use your original User ID - if you create a second User ID, it will not be connected to the Patrons Deposit Account and your article purchases will not be subsidized by LSU Libraries.
     
    Allows for the ordering of articles, from periodicals not owned by LSU, by faculty, research staff, and graduate students for research or instructional use. These orders are subsidized by the library.

    Please review the Ingenta policies before accessing.

    Accessing Ingenta: Instructions

    Accessing Ingenta: Instruction Sheet

    (For any questions or additional information see the Interlibrary Borrowing web page (http://www.lib.lsu.edu/lib/ilb/ ) or call (225) 578-2138.

INSPEC Archive
The INSPEC Archive provides electronic access to the entire collection of Science Abstracts Journals (back to volume one) dating from 1898 to 1968. Coverage includes physics, electrical engineering, electronics, computing and control engineering.

Institute of Physics (IOP)
IOPscience is a new online service for journal content published by IOP. It contains more than 250,000 articles, from 1874 to the present day. It's been designed to give you easy access to scientific, technical and medical content. The content in IOPscience has been organized by more than 6,000 classifications using PACS and MSC codes in physics, astronomy and mathematics, so you will easily discover scientific research that matches your specific needs and interests.

International Classification of Diseases
Compiled by the National Center for Health Statistics and the Health Care Financing Administration.

International Critical Tables of Numerical Data, Physics, Chemistry, and Technology
Knovel brings essential Sci-tech reference data to life in a virtual technical library that solves problems for engineers, applied scientists and librarians worldwide. On one interface the Knovel Library combines authoritative reference content from major Sci-tech publishers including John Wiley & Sons, McGraw-Hill and Elsevier. This data is enhanced with time-saving analytical tools to help analyze and manipulate the data.

Users can analyze and reorganize the data in over 800 full-text engineering and scientific reference works, handbooks, and databases Knovel. They can sort, filter and export data from 'live tables', resolve equations and plot graphs, capture values from existing graphs and perform 'what if' experiments on the data. Knovel's uniquely powerful research platform integrates a intuitive yet powerful search engine with a user friendly browse capability to allow the user to discover data in ways which are close to real information seeking behavior.
International Encyclopedia of Communication Online
The International Encyclopedia of Communication Online provides instant access to the most authoritative and up-to-date scholarship in the field of Communication Studies.

The content is accessible in a number of ways:
  • Browse table of contents
  • Use Explore for sophisticated browsing across subjects, people, periods, places, and key topics
  • Use Quick Search found on top right hand corner of

International Station Meteorological Climate Summary
Includes maps and graphs of climatic data prepared through the joint effort of several agencies. Data is provided in three types of summary: Summaries of Meteorological Observations; Surface Observation Climatic Summaries; and World Wide Airfield Summaries.
International Tables for Crystallography
International Tables for Crystallography is the definitive resource and reference work for crystallography and structural science.

Each of the eight volumes in the series contains articles and tables of data relevant to crystallographic research and to applications of crystallographic methods in all sciences concerned with the structure and properties of materials. Emphasis is given to symmetry, diffraction methods and techniques of crystal-structure determination, and the physical and chemical properties of crystals. The data are accompanied by discussions of theory, practical explanations and examples, all of which are useful for teaching.

International Tables for Crystallography comprises 6,000 pages including nearly 2,000 pages of symmetry tables which are vital for the analysis of crystal structures:
  • Volume A: Space-group symmetry, 5e
  • Volume A1: Symmetry relations between space groups, 2e
  • Volume B: Reciprocal space, 3e
  • Volume C: Mathematical, physical and chemical tables, 3e
  • Volume D: Physical properties of crystals
  • Volume E: Subperiodic groups, 2e
  • Volume F: Crystallography of biological macromolecules
  • Volume G: Definition and exchange of crystallographic data
This edition includes new editions of Volumes A1 and E, making International Tables the most up-to-date, dynamic, and comprehensive reference work available to crystallographers, and to all those who use crystallography across a wide range of fields.
IOPscience
IOPscience is a new online service for journal content published by IOP. It contains more than 250,000 articles, from 1874 to the present day. It's been designed to give you easy access to scientific, technical and medical content. The content in IOPscience has been organized by more than 6,000 classifications using PACS and MSC codes in physics, astronomy and mathematics, so you will easily discover scientific research that matches your specific needs and interests.

IPA Source
IPA Source was developed to benefit singers, teachers, and all those interested in the correct and knowledgeable performance of vocal literature. What started in 2003 as a support site for students in a university diction class has grown into the largest collection of literal translations and International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions on the web. The goal of IPA Source is to promote the comprehension and accurate pronunciation of foreign language texts in art song and opera in order that the singer may imbue each syllable with the appropriate emotional content.
iPoll
iPOLL is a one-stop comprehensive source for polling data. It includes, every major US survey firm – over 150 organizations; Academic, commercial, and media polls; More than one-half million questions and answers; Opinions and behaviors; Topical coverage from crime to politics to diplomacy to social behavior; 1935 to yesterday; Question-level retrieval with links to full results; and Links from questions to study abstracts and questionnaires.

Irrigation and Drainage Abstracts via CabDirect
Including the CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, this is the leading database for literature related to agriculture and applied life sciences, including strong international coverage.

ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
Iter is a not-for-profit research project with partners in Toronto (the headquarters), New York City, and Tempe. Iter was created for the advancement of learning in the study and teaching of the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700) through the development of online resources. The Iter Databases include:

The Iter Bibliography: Iter's bibliography includes literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for books, journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies) are included, as are citations for essays in books (including entries in conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues).

International Directory of Scholars: The International Directory of Scholars (IDS) is the fortunate result of a convergence of interests of the Renaissance Society of America (RSA), who wanted a major revision of its own Directory, and the Sixteenth Century Society and Conference (SCSC), who wanted to transform its highly respected Scholars of Early Modern Studies into an online database. The IDS is a comprehensive resource which accommodates not only the usual directory contact information, but also detailed information on the research and teaching careers of scholars around the world.

Iter Italicum: Brill Academic Publishers and Iter are pleased to announce the publication of the first online edition of Paul Oskar Kristeller's Iter Italicum, the most comprehensive finding list available of previously uncatalogued or incompletely catalogued Renaissance humanistic manuscripts found in libraries and collections all over the world. Originally published in six volumes between 1963 and 1992, it is an essential tool for any scholar working in the fields of classical, medieval and Renaissance studies.

Early Theatre: Iter, in partnership with the Centre for Reformation and Renaissance Studies at Victoria University in the University of Toronto, is pleased to offer online access to Early Theatre (ET). Authorized users can search, view, and print the full-text of volume 1 (1998), volume 2 (1999), and volume 4 (2001) to the current issue. Volume 3 (2000) is forthcoming.

Renaissance and Reformation / Renaissance et Réforme: Iter, in partnership with the Centre for Reformation and Renaissance Studies at Victoria University in the University of Toronto, is pleased to offer online access to Renaissance and Reformation / Renaissance et Réforme (RR). Authorized users can search, view, and print the full-text of the journal from volume 24, no. 1 (2000).

Renaissance Quarterly: Iter, in partnership with the Renaissance Society of America, is pleased to offer online access to Renaissance Quarterly (RQ). Authorized users can search, view, and print the full-text of the journal from volume 53, no. 1 (2000).

Aestimatio: Aestimatio provides critical, timely assessments of books published in the history of what was called science from antiquity up to the early modern period in cultures ranging from Spain to India, and from Africa to northern Europe. The aim is to allow reviewers the opportunity to engage critically both the results of research in the history of science and how these results are obtained.

Baptisteria Sacra: This index offers detailed descriptions of fonts from the early Christian period to the 17th century. The link currently leads to the project web site, where individuals can learn more about the project and search sample records at no charge. In the future, access to the full index will be available, through a subscription to Iter.

Electronic Capito Project: The Electronic Capito Project provides the text of letters from and to Wolfgang Capito which are either unpublished or have been published before 1850 and are therefore difficult to access. The link currently leads to the project web site, where individuals can learn more about the project and search sample records at no charge.
Databases by Title
This does not search within databases

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
Help guide Information
Some full text available Some Full Text
Free Trial
Open Access