LSU Libraries -- Database List: O

Databases
By Title:
ABCDEFGHIJKLMNO PRSTUVWZNumAll

O*NET
The information in O*NET 98 is based largely on data supplied by occupational analysts from sources such as the Dictionary of Occupational Titles (DOT).

OATD Open Access Theses and Dissertations
OATD aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Presents a computerized version of the latest edition of the Bureau of Labor Statistics' publication.
Ocean Technology, Policy, and Non-Living Resources (ASFA-2)
Covers the fields of oceanography: physical, descriptive, dynamical, chemical, geological, and biological aspects, as well as limnology, ocean engineering, and specific resources. Also covers the current issues in international policy and legislation, meteorology and climatology, and technology and engineering.

OECD
Contains the full text of all Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) studies and reports from both serial and monographic publications, as well as time series databases. Arranged under 19 thematic areas covering issues in agriculture, business, development, economics, education, environment, finance, governance, investment, social sciences, and statistics.

Periodical titles include: OECD Economic Outlook (and OECD Economic Surveys ), OECD Factbook - Statistical Yearbook Providing Coverage of 100 Key Variables, Main Economic Outlook, Monthly Statistics of International Trade, National Accounts Database, Quarterly Labour Force Statistics, Society at a Glance - compares social indicators across OECD countries, and STAN Industrial Data - covers a wide range of industry- and aggregate-level indicators of industrial structure and the evolution of performance (e.g. import penetration, investment per employee, export market shares). Updated weekly.
OED (Oxford English Dictionary)
The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.
Old Testament Abstracts Online
Old Testament Abstracts Online is a product of a partnership between ATLA and the Catholic Biblical Association. The database features indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, and software related to Old Testament studies. Abstracts from over 450 journals are included. All abstracts are in English, regardless of the language of the original work. Topics covered include antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology, philology and much more. Coverage in the database dates back to 1978.

OnePetro (SPE Papers)
OnePetro.org is a multi-society library that provides a simple way to search for and access a broad range of technical literature related to the oil and gas exploration and production industry. From one place, you can search and buy documents from many different professional societies, or similar organizations, that serve the oil and gas industry.

Customers can purchase any of the documents they find through their searches with a credit card, and download them as pdf files directly to their computers. Purchases can be made in USD, GBP, or EUR.

The following organizations currently have their technical documents available through OnePetro:
  • American Petroleum Institute (API)
  • American Rock Mechanics Association (ARMA)
  • American Society of Safety Engineers (ASSE)
  • Offshore Technology Conference (OTC)
  • NACE International (corrosion engineers)
  • Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE)
  • Society of Petrophysicists and Well Log Analysts (SPWLA)
  • The Society of Underwater Technology (SUT)
  • World Petroleum Council (WPC)
The number of participating organizations is expected to grow over time.
Online and Distance Learning: Concepts, Methodologies, Tools and Applications
Online and Distance Learning: Concepts, Methodologies, Tools and Applications provides a comprehensive collection of case studies, empirical research, conceptual demonstrations, and best practices on Web-enabled learning technologies. This comprehensive, six-volume collection addresses all prominent aspects of online and distance learning, including information communication technologies applied to education, virtual classrooms, pedagogical systems, Web-based learning communities, library information systems, virtual universities, and numerous other topics. Collecting defining research in over 300 chapters from some 800 contributors representing more than 100 countries, Online and Distance Learning: Concepts, Methodologies, Tools and Applications enables libraries to provide a foundational reference to meet the information needs of researchers, educators, practitioners, administrators, and all other stakeholders in the online and distance learning context.

Organic Syntheses
Since 1921, Organic Syntheses has provided the chemistry community with annual collections of detailed, reliable, and carefully checked procedures for the synthesis of organic compounds. Some procedures describe practical methods for the preparation of specific compounds of interest, while other procedures illustrate important synthetic methods with general utility. Each procedure is written in considerably more detail as compared to typical experimental procedures in other journals, and each reaction and all characterization data has been carefully "checked" for reproducibility in the laboratory of a member of the Board of Editors.

Ornamental Horticulture via CabDirect
Including the CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, this is the leading database for literature related to agriculture and applied life sciences, including strong international coverage.

OSHA Laws, Regulations, and Interpretations
Provides full-text, searchable versions of Occupational Safety and Health Administration documents.

CD-ROM Available at the Middleton Library Government Documents Desk

OSIRIS
OSIRIS is a comprehensive database of listed companies, banks and insurance companies around the world.

Covering more than 190 countries OSIRIS contains information on over 46,000 companies: North America (12,600), Europe - Excl. Eastern Europe (10,500), Eastern Europe (800), Middle East (900), Far East & Central Asia (13,500), Oceania (2,250), South & Central America (3,800), Africa (1,600).

Both standardised and "as reported" accounts are provided and specific templates are provided for banks, insurance companies and "industrial" companies to reflect the different configurations of their accounts. In the reports, financial items can be "drilled" into to reveal their more detailed components, until ultimately, the raw data is uncovered. Alternatively, users can go directly to the report that contains their required level of detail.

Key financials can be used for global searching. These can also be used in the analysis functions as well as the more detailed financials. A number of different information providers (IPs) supply companies' financials, including a specialist supplier for banks and insurance companies, to offer optimum, accurate coverage. Complementary information such as ratings, M&A activity, ownership, news etc is supplied by a further 15 companies.

OSIRIS is flexible and easy to use for both experienced and novice users. Advanced options include full Boolean logic, peer and statistical analyses plus time series searching.

Oxford African American Studies Center
Provides students, scholars and librarians with more than 7,500 articles by top scholars in the field. The core content includes Africana, which presents a powerful account of the African and African American experience in five volumes. The new Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895 documents the full range of the African American experience from the arrival of the black explorer, Esteban, who arrived with the Spanish in 1527, to the death of Frederick Douglass. A forthcoming companion set, the Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present, offers the most extensive treatment of African American history into the twenty-first century and will be available online in late 2006.
Oxford Art Online
The most comprehensive online reference resource for all aspects of the visual arts worldwide from prehistory to the present day. The Grove Dictionary of Art contains 45,000 articles on every aspect of the visual arts - painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts and photography - from prehistory to the present day. Compiled over a period of 15 years, it represents the work of more than 6,800 scholars from around the world, each writing on his or her own specialist field of study.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Children's Literature
Written by an international roster of more than 300 authors, the Encyclopedia comprehensively documents and interprets the books read by children throughout the world. With a global perspective that pays attention to significant international trends and the multicultural expansion of the field, it includes brief biographies of every major author and illustrator. Also included are feature essays on all genres of children's literature, individual works, and prominent trends and themes, as well as general essays on the traditions of children's literature in many countries throughout the world.

Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.

Oxford Music Online
With Grove Music Online as its cornerstone, Oxford Music Online also contains The Oxford Companion to Music (2002), which offers more than 8,000 articles on composers, performers, conductors, instruments and notation, forms and genres, and individual works; and The Oxford Dictionary of Music, 2nd edition (revised 2006)
Databases by Title
This does not search within databases

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
Help guide Information
Some full text available Some Full Text
Free Trial
Open Access