LSU Libraries -- Database List: T

Databases
By Title:
ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPRST UVWZNumAll

Teacher Reference Center
Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 270 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.

Television News Archive (Vanderbilt)
The Television News Archive collection at Vanderbilt University holds more than 30,000 individual network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, and more than 9,000 hours of special news-related programming including ABC's Nightline since 1989. These special reports and periodic news broadcasts cover presidential press conferences and political campaign coverage, and national and international events such as the Watergate hearings, the plight of American hostages in Iran, the Persian Gulf war, and the terrorist attack on the United States on September 11, 2001.

Video clips are only available for CNN broadcasts from 1999 to the present. Users will need to have the RealOne media player installed to view the video. A link to the free version of the player is provided on the main page of their Web site.
Textile Technology Complete
Provides extensive coverage of the scientific and technological aspects of textile production and processing. Formerly the Institute of Textile Technology's Textile Technology Digest, this database traces the body of knowledge in textile science and technology as far back as the early years of the 20th century. Contains indexing and abstracting for more than 470 periodical titles, and for thousands of titles drawn from sources such as books, conferences, theses, technical reports and trade literature. Subject coverage includes manufacturing techniques, textile end products, chemicals and dyes, the properties of natural and synthetic fibers and yarns, environmental issues, and the related areas of chemistry, biology and physics. Coverage spans the domestic and international arenas and includes publications covering the major resources from the scientific community, as well as the apparel, home furnishings, flooring, and polymer industries.

This database also includes full text for nearly 50 journals, as well as over 50 books and monographs.
The Atlantic Slave Trade and Slave Life in the Americas: A Visual Record
The 1,280 images in this collection have been selected from a wide range of sources, most of them dating from the period of slavery. This collection is envisioned as a tool and a resource that can be used by teachers, researchers, students, and the general public - in brief, anyone interested in the experiences of Africans who were enslaved and transported to the Americas and the lives of their descendants in the slave societies of the New World.
Theatre in Video
Theatre in Video contains more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video - more than 500 hours in all. This release contains 60 titles, representing hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors. Included are landmark performances such as The Iceman Cometh, Hamlet, Othello, Awake and Sing, Long Day's Journey Into Night, Playboy of the Western World, and others. Notable actors include Gene Wilder, Laurence Olivier, Richard Dreyfuss, Walter Matthau, Meryl Streep, and more. For the first time, students, instructors and researchers can bookmark specific scenes, monologues and staging, and these landmark performances can become a permanent part of the curriculum.

NOTE: Database only supports up to 3 users at any given time.

Thesis and Dissertation Electronic Library
Online versions of various theses and dissertations from LSU graduate students.

Adobe Acrobat Reader is required to access them.

Thomas: Legislative Information on the Internet
Thomas includes the full text of many legislative publications such as The Congressional Record, bills and summaries, and more. A complete description is available at http://thomas.loc.gov/home/abt_thom.html

Tide & Tidal Current Tables
Provides Tide Tables for the east and west coasts of North and South America, for the central and western Pacific Ocean and Indian Ocean, and for Europe and the west coast of Africa, as well as Tidal Current Tables for the Pacific coasts of North America and Asia, and for the Atlantic coast of North America, all prepared by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, National Ocean Service.

TLS Historical Archive 1902-2008 (Times Literary Supplement)
Full text of the reviews appearing in Times Literary Supplement 1902 - 2008, searchable in a variety of ways.
Toxicology Abstracts
Surveys toxicology studies across a wide range of substances including industrial and agricultural chemicals, household products, pharmaceuticals, and myriad other substances. Major areas of coverage include: pharmaceuticals; food, additives, and contaminants; agro-chemicals; cosmetics, toiletries, and household products; industrial chemicals; metals; toxins and other natural substances; social poisons and drug abuse; polycyclic hydrocarbons; nitrosamines and related compounds; radiation and radioactive materials; methodology; legislation and recommended standards. Begins 1981. Monthly. 8,800 abstracts annually. Journals indexed by this database.
TOXLINE
Access to information in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and mutagens and teratogens. Major areas of coverage include: air pollution; antidotes; biological and adverse effects of drugs; carcinogenesis via chemicals; chemically-induced diseases; environmental chemicals and pollutants; food additives; genotoxicity; hazardous materials; health and safety human and animal toxicity; industrial and household chemicals; mutagenicity pesticides and herbicides; radioactive materials; risk information. This database provides bibliographic citations and abstracts from journal articles, monographs, technical reports, theses, letters, meeting abstracts, papers and reports. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, information in the database is drawn from a number of discrete files including Toxicity Bibliography and Developmental and Reproductive Toxicology.
TOXNET
A cluster of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and related areas including HSDB (Hazardous Substances Data Bank), IRIS (Integrated Risk Information system), CCRIS (Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Information System), GENE-TOX, TOXLINE, EMIC (Environmental Mutagen Information Center), DART/ETIC (Developmental and Reproductive Toxicology and Environmental Teratology Information Center), TRI (Toxics Release Inventory), ChemIDplus, HSDB Structures, and NCI-3D.
Trademark Electronic Search System
The U.S. government's website which contains information on trademarks, how to apply for one, and TESS: the search system that contains more than 3 million pending, registered and dead federal trademarks.

Transportation Research Database (TRID)
TRID is an integrated database that combines the records from TRB’s Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD’s Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to more than one million records of transportation research worldwide.
Tropical Diseases Abstracts via CabDirect
Including the CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, this is the leading database for literature related to agriculture and applied life sciences, including strong international coverage.
Twentieth Century North American Drama
Contains more than 1,500 plays from the United States and Canada. In addition to providing a comprehensive full-text resource for students in the performing arts, the collection offers a unique window into the economic, historical, social, and political psyche of two countries. Scholars and students who use the database will have a new way to study the signal events and trends of the twentieth century - including the Depression, the role of women, the Cold War, and more - through the plays and performances of writers who lived through these decades.
Databases by Title
This does not search within databases

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
Help guide Information
Some full text available Some Full Text
Free Trial
Open Access