On a mobile device?

View the LSU Libraries Mobile Website at
http://www.lib.lsu.edu/m/

Database List

19th Century British Library Newspapers Part I and Part II
Note: Trial Starts November 6th; Ends February 28th, 2013

The most comprehensive range of national, regional and local newspapers in 19th century Britain ever made available in a digital collection, 19th Century British Library Newspapers Part I and Part II provide a range of publications to reflect the social, political and cultural events of the times.

Taken directly from the extensive holdings of the British Library, the selected publications provide coverage of well-known historic events, cultural icons, sporting events, the arts, culture and other national pastimes. At a time when newspapers were emerging as a prerequisite medium of commercially-minded societies and major cities, their pages — from articles to advertisements — provide researchers with unique, first-hand perspective.

Users can search across a large range of titles, not typically available at any one institution, and can perform full-text searches, use hit-term highlighting and view specific article types.

(Link to Record)
PsycCRITIQUES
Note: Trial begins 10/3/2012; Trial ends 6/30/2013

PsycCRITIQUES®, produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), is a database of full-text book reviews featuring current scholarly and professional books in psychology. It also publishes reviews from a psychological perspective of popular films and trade books. PsycCRITIQUES includes approximately 40,000 reviews dating back to 1956 and is indexed with controlled vocabulary from APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms®.
(Link to Record)
PsycEXTRA
Note: Trial begins 10/3/2012; Trial ends 6/30/2013

PsycEXTRA®, produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), is a bibliographic and full-text companion to the scholarly PsycINFO® database. The document types included in PsycEXTRA consist of technical, annual and government reports, conference papers, newsletters, magazines, newspapers, consumer brochures and more.

This database complements PsycINFO and the other APA databases with extensive coverage of gray literature relating to psychology and the behavioral sciences; it contains around 200,000 records that are not indexed in any other APA database. Furthermore, content from the Archives of the History of American Psychology (AHAP) collection is expected to increase the number of records substantially. PsycEXTRA is indexed with controlled vocabulary from APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms®.
(Link to Record)
Key to Icons

Information Information
Restricted Resource Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
Some full text available Some full text
Open Access Resource Open Access (freely available to anyone)
Trial Free Trials

Information User Restrictions

Use of the LSU Libraries' electronic resources is subject to U.S. Copyright Law. Excessive downloading, printing, and/or electronic dissemination of resource content by the user is prohibited. Restrictions on other uses may apply. Electronic information subsidized by the LSU Libraries is for use in LSU classes and research. Databases are restricted to academic use only. Fair use guidelines are specifically applicable to use of information in a University setting. These are included in the Libraries Copyright Policy.

See the Database Access Policy for information regarding authorized users.