Manuscript Resources on Business History
This guide describes collections documenting business history in the Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections (LLMVC) at LSU. It includes the business papers of merchants; manufacturers; planters; factors; commission brokers; and lawyers. It also contains business records of stores; companies; plantations and plantation stores; banks; hotels and inns; restaurants and taverns; and blacksmiths and livery stables. There are also materials on cotton and sugar; national and international trade; and shipping, often by steamboat. Finally, there are materials relating to labor including information about wages, contracts, and conditions.
Formats represented in these collections include account books and ledgers; bills and receipts; business correspondence; and advertising. Most of the collections are from Louisiana and Mississippi, but there are also materials from other areas of the Lower Mississippi Valley. Several collections deal with business relations between the South and the Northeast, and include records of New York, Massachusetts, Maryland, Rhode Island, and Connecticut firms.
|
Exxon Mobil Corporation. ExxonMobil Baton Rouge historic collection, 1924-2016 (bulk 1950-1999). 9 linear ft., 1 manuscript volume. Location: 76:1-8; 104:-105:; OS:E. The collection consists of printed materials (1924-2016) created by or about Exxon Baton Rouge, its predecessors or divisions, and the oil industry, and photographs (bulk 1950-1999) related to the production of Exxon Baton Rouge’s and its predecessors’ in-house print media, especially the Baton Rouge Record. Photographic materials are arranged as they arrived from the corporation in two large divisions-one identified by the publication in which the images were used and the other by topic. Mss. 5030. Referenced in Guides: Business, Baton Rouge
|
|
|
A. Bell and Company. Papers, 1835, 1836. 2 items. Location: Misc.:B. Cotton broker of New York City. Letters from factors at Petersburg, Virginia, and Fayetteville, North Carolina, regarding the cotton market and amount of cotton expected from Tennessee and North Alabama. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2356. Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Business
|
|
|
A. C. Skiles Lumber Company. Records, 1895-1942. 5 linear ft., 38 volumes. Location: 1:24-31. Retail lumber dealer in Opelousas, St. Landry Parish, Louisiana. Business records consist chiefly of correspondence with suppliers and customers and include bills, receipts, and printed items. Manuscript volumes include a letterpress copy book, ledgers, sales books, journals, cash books, an index, and day books. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3143. Referenced in Guides: Business
|
|
|
A. F. Cochran & Co. Letter, 1848 Mar. 10. 1 letter. Location: MISC:A. A. F. Cochran & Co. of New Orleans, La., writes Messrs. Silas Peirce & Co. of Boston, Mass., regarding the sale of wine and fruit in New Orleans. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4039. Referenced in Guides: New Orleans to 1861, Business
|
|
|
A. Ledoux and Company. Record book, 1856-1857. 1 volume (110 pages). Location: W:53. Plantation record book kept by Samuel Leigh and Lewis F. Pulliam, overseers of the sugar plantation owned by A. Ledoux and Company, Pointe Coupee Parish, Louisiana. Available on microfilm 5322: University Publications of America Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 1, Reel 9. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 964. |