Manuscript Resources on Business History

This guide describes collections documenting business history in the Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections (LLMVC) at LSU. It includes the business papers of merchants; manufacturers; planters; factors; commission brokers; and lawyers. It also contains business records of stores; companies; plantations and plantation stores; banks; hotels and inns; restaurants and taverns; and blacksmiths and livery stables. There are also materials on cotton and sugar; national and international trade; and shipping, often by steamboat. Finally, there are materials relating to labor including information about wages, contracts, and conditions.

Formats represented in these collections include account books and ledgers; bills and receipts; business correspondence; and advertising. Most of the collections are from Louisiana and Mississippi, but there are also materials from other areas of the Lower Mississippi Valley. Several collections deal with business relations between the South and the Northeast, and include records of New York, Massachusetts, Maryland, Rhode Island, and Connecticut firms.

Displaying 81 - 90 of 875. Show 5 | 10 | 20 | 40 | 60 results per page.

Bauer, N. Letter, ca.1870-1900. 1 item. Location: B. Letter written by N. Bauer of Natchez, Miss., to F. A. Dicks requests a sample of good raw glue so its adhesion can be tested before purchase. He mentions "LePage's" glue. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2685.

Referenced in Guides: Business, Natchez, Mississippi

Beck's Studio. LSU campus photographs, 1938. 17 items. Location: 6:23. Photography business established in Donaldsonville, Louisiana, ca. 1937. 17 black and white photographs of the campus of LSU, Baton Rouge, taken in 1938. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2755.

Referenced in Guides: Business, Baton Rouge, LSU

Bell and Buchanan. Letters, 1833. 2 items. Location: Misc.:B. New Orleans commission merchants. Business letters from Bell and Buchanan to firms in Wheeling, Virginia. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 222.

Referenced in Guides: New Orleans to 1861, Business

Bell, William R., ca. 1814-1874. Papers, 1842-1941 (bulk 1842-1874). 78 items, 2 vols. Location: C:6. Native of Scotland, mortician, and owner of Union Stables in New Orleans. Business papers document Bell's stable and mortuary and include transactions with Union soldiers occupying New Orleans. Correspondence with his family discusses economic conditions and the Civil War. Collection includes a photograph of Bell. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2117, 2118.

Bellemont Hotel. Collection, 1973-1992 (bulk 1980-1992), 1.5 linear feet. Location: UU:58-59, OS:B. The Bellemont Motor Hotel was a plantation-style hotel and convention center on Airline Highway in Baton Rouge, LA. The hotel was built in 1946 by developer A. C. Lewis and his partner, Jamar Adcock. The collection consists of hotel office files with information on advertising, rates and listings, guest services, staff and employees, invoices and service agreements, hotel inventories, promotional plans, and other documents relating to the hotel’s operation. Mss. 5219.

Referenced in Guides: Business, Baton Rouge

Bellizio, Lillian. Ledger, 1947-1949. 1 item. Location: M:18. Antiques dealer and shopkeeper from Homer, Louisiana. Ledger from 'Lillian's Antiques'. Bound volume, 136 pages, partially filled, lists items and their places of origin. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3602.

Referenced in Guides: Business

Bennett, Ezra. Family Papers, 1818-1881. 217 items [on microfilm]. Location: Mss.Mf:B. Planter and storekeeper of Cheneyville, Rapides Parish, Louisiana. Papers include letters written from Port Hudson and Camp Pratt, Louisiana, during the Civil War. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2896.

Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Civil War, Business

Bennett, George W. Account books and papers, 1838-1917. 16 linear ft., 346 vols. Location: W:71-87, 89; O:6-13; OS:B. Merchant, postmaster, sugar and cotton planter of Rapides Parish, Louisiana. Papers records comprised of correspondence, ledgers, daybooks, journals, receipts, leases, agreements, labor contracts with freedmen, invoice books, record books, stock inventories, and other items relating to Bennett's commercial interests. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1010.

Referenced in Guides: Sugar, Plantations, Business, African Americans

Benson family. Papers, 1775-1969, undated. 2,790 items, 27 volumes (on 11 microfilm reels). Location: E:105, MSS.MF:B. Cotton planters of DeSoto Parish, Louisiana. Letters, documents, and plantation diaries reflect plantation economy, the administration of secondary schools, the history and administration of the Baptist Church, and civilian and military participation in the Civil War. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2424, 2440.

Referenced in Guides: Religion, Plantations, Civil War, Education, Business

Bernard, A. M. Records, 1889-1891. 3 items. Location: Misc:B. Resident of New Iberia, Louisiana. Records consist of a monthly statement and two invoices for merchandise purchased by from manufactures of carriages, wagons and cart material in New Orleans. Mss. 5262.

Referenced in Guides: Business

Pages