The History of New Orleans After the Civil War

'Red Mass' prayer book, 1958. 2 items, 1 pamphlet. Location: E:Imprints. The 'Red Mass' celebrates the opening of the Judicial year and is sponsored annually by the St. Thomas More Catholic Lawyers Association of New Orleans at St. Louis Cathedral. Booklet containing prayers to be recited at the 'Red Mass.' Two enclosures in the booklet consist of an invitation and short history of the Mass, and an instruction card from Charles J. Rivet, K.S.G., in charge of protocol. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1829.

Acadia Plantation records, 1809-2004 (bulk 1940-1979). 49 linear ft., 30 volumes, 8 rolls. Location: 93:7-30; J:4; 75:; MAP CAGE (UNNUMBERED CASE); 1 NORTH (ON TOP OF MICROFILM CABINET). A working sugar plantation, Acadia Plantation of Lafourche Parish, Louisiana is comprised of three major properties originally known as Acadia Plantation, St. Brigitte Plantation, and Evergreen Plantation. It was acquired in 1875 by Edward J. Gay, became the residence of Representative Andrew and Mrs. Anna Gay Price. Records are comprised of correspondence, financial and legal documents, printed items, volumes, maps, plats, and photographs. Papers document business and legal affairs of the plantation owners and operators, as well as plantation operations such as sugar cane farming, the crops of tenant farmers on the property, and the planning and development of the plantation lands throughout the 19th and 20th centuries. Mss. 4906.

Account book, 1888-1890. 1 vol. (513 p.). Location: B:72. Account book of printing or stationery business, probably located in New Orleans, Louisiana. Entries relate to stationery and printed products. Pages 1-134 contain general entries; pages 351 to 410 contain entries for Joseph J. Hooper; pages 451-477 contain entries for George Ellis. For further information, see online catalog. Mss.4541.

Actors and Musicians Photographs, ca. 1880-1920. 64 items. Location: E:71. The collection consists of mounted and unmounted black and white photographs of actors and musicians who appeared at New Orleans theaters during the period of 1880-1920. Handwritten notes on the back of many of the photos identify the individuals, the theater where they appeared, and the name of the play or event. Among the New Orleans houses so identified are the Tulane, Athenaeum, Orpheum, Dauphine, and Crescent Theaters, as well as the French Opera House. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2116.

Aerial Photographs of New Orleans, circa 1985. 0.3 linear ft. Location: 119:3. Thirty-nine (39) black and white photographs featuring aerial views of the New Orleans French Quarter, or Vieux Carré. Area boundaries extend from North Rampart Street to the Mississippi River, between Bienville Street and Esplanade Avenue. Images appear to be sequential, taken on the same day circa 1985. Landmarks include Jackson Square, the Pontalba Buildings, the Louisiana Supreme Court building, various hotels, and the newly renovated Jackson Brewery shopping center. Mss. 5150.

Agenda commercial de la Louisiane pour l'année, 1858-1877. 1 item. Location: Misc:A. Printed French journal book (1858) contains notes on the progress of the Civil War and the 'Trent Affair', a diplomatic incident between the U.S. and Great Britain. Other topics include poetry; songs; partial plays in commedia dell'arte style; notes on Renaissance Italian history and notes on Daniel Deronda by George Eliot. Also included are listings for businesses and consulates in New Orleans, and public officials in Paris. Alternate title: Anonymous manuscript volume. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3545.

Albrizio, Conrad Alfred. Papers, 1894-1973. 1.5 linear ft. Location: 64:4, T:14, OS:A, 104:-105:. Artist. Albrizio studied architecture at the Beaux Arts Institute, and later studied painting and drawing in New Orleans, Louisiana and Paris. He learned fresco painting and mural composition in Rome. In 1935 he joined the LSU Art Department. Collection includes personal and professional letters, slides, photographs, sketches, and printed items. Slides and photographs depict his work in the mural and fresco genres. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3349.

Aldrich, Ella V. (Ella Virginia), 1902-1982. Papers, 1921-1973. 22 items. Location: Misc. Ella V. Aldrich Schwing was a librarian at LSU, a member of the faculty of the LSU Library School, and a member of the LSU Board of Supervisors. The papers include material on the Colfax riot of 1873, an inscribed reprint of "Huey, Lyndon, and Southern Radicalism" by T. Harry Williams, a clipping of "The Legacy of Knute Heldner" from the Dixie Roto Magazine, and 15 photographic prints of plaques bearing Schwing's name on buildings at LSU System campuses. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3374.

Ambert, Joachim. Papers, 1838-1876. 9 items. Location: Misc.:A, OS:A. French military officer and nobleman. Personal papers consisting of passports and related items (1838-1840); two letters from Baron Ambert in New Orleans, Louisiana; a bill for accommodations in Niagara Falls, New York; and Ambert's French military service record. In French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1356.

AMERICA Broadside, ca. 1899. 4 items. Location: OS:A. Steamboat owned and commanded by Captain LeVerrier Cooley, a native of Savanna, Illinois, and later a resident of New Orleans, Louisiana. Broadside announcing the celebration of the maiden voyage of the America, the 'biggest boat that ever sailed the Ouachita.' Also includes a sheet of letterhead paper and two envelopes with views of the Mississippi River cotton packet. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1785.

Andry, M. T. (Michel Thomassin), 1811-ca. 1871. Family Papers, 1840-1882 (bulk 1858-1879). 0.3 linear ft. (199 items). Location: UU:66. Sugar planter of St. John the Baptist and St. Charles parishes, Louisiana, and resident of New Orleans. Collection includes correspondence and legal and financial papers. Letters received by Andry's daughter Rosa from his sons describe their participation in the Battle of Shiloh, campaigns in Kentucky, and skirmishes at Camp Beauregard in the Civil War. Partly in French. Available on microfilm 5735: University Publications of America Confederate Military Manuscripts Series B, Reel 1. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1318.

Anne Rice collection, 1979-1991. 0.5 linear ft. Location: W:69. New Orleans, Louisiana author. Articles, interviews, and reviews by and about Anne Rice and her works. Includes audio tapes of interviews of Rice on National Public Radio (undated) and on a Larry King radio broadcast (November 1988). For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4446.

Annual report of the New Orleans Belt and Terminal Co. to the Interstate Commerce Commission of the United States, 1903. 2 v. Location: J:25. The New Orleans Belt and Terminal Company was formed in 1901 to operate the property of the New Orleans and Western Railroad Company. Annual reports to the ICC report the company's history, officers, assets, expenditures, earnings, and traffic and mileage statistics, as well as describe its equipment and relationship to the New Orleans and Western Railroad Company and the New Orleans Terminal Company. For more information, see the online catalog. Mss. 4871.

Anonymous account book (E), 1866-1870. 1 volume. Location: F:1. Record book of an unidentified general merchandise store in New Orleans, Louisiana. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 312.

Anonymous dry goods store ledger, circa 1920-1929. 1 volume. Location: N:2. Ledger contains records of customer accounts and lists of purchases from a dry goods store, most likely located in New Orleans. Customers listed include Mrs. Andrew Stewart of Oak Alley Plantation, Mrs. Harry P. Williams (Marguerite Clark Williams), and Mrs. E. A. McIlhenny. Items sold include women and children's clothing, luncheon and bridge sets, bolts of fabric, and napkins. Mss. 5341

Anonymous letter, 1871. 1 item. Location: Misc:A. New Orleans, Louisiana, minister's wife describes yellow fever situation and church duties. Letter is written on the letterhead of Randolph, Singleton, and Brown, Attorneys at Law. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 70.

Anonymous New Orleans letter, 1874 December 15. 1 item. Location: Misc:A. Letter from a visitor to New Orleans describes impressions of the city and comments on violent popular reactions to recent election returns. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2997.

Anonymous New Orleans scrapbook, 1855-1867. 1 volume. Location: H:10. Scrapbook of newspaper clippings, mainly of poems published in New Orleans papers, and sentimental engravings. Items are glued over ledger entries (1855-1857). For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3012.

Anonymous New Orleans scrapbook, 1861-1936. 2 volumes on 1 microfilm reel. Location: Mss.Mf:A. Miscellaneous newspaper clippings collected mainly from newspapers in New Orleans and Natchez include materials relative to Reconstruction, the impeachment of President Andrew Johnson, the Chicago fire of 1871, and steamboats. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2554.

Anonymous Reconstruction letters, 1875. 2 items. Location: Misc:A. Ensign stationed on the U.S. Flagship Worcester in New Orleans describes the chaotic conditions existing in the Louisiana legislature, and mentions orders to disperse the legislature. He also mentions national politics and his own naval experiences. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2560.