Baton Rouge

Baton Rouge, Louisiana, was first discovered and named by the French explorer Iberville in 1699, almost three centuries ago. In the eighteenth century, it was ruled successively by the French, British, and Spanish. Incorporated in 1817, Baton Rouge became the state capital in 1849, though it lost that status during the Civil War and would not regain it until 1882.

This guide to manuscript resources on Baton Rouge and East Baton Rouge Parish, of which it is a part, includes a wide variety of materials on the history of the area, among them the papers of Baton Rouge families; the records of businesses and organizations; photographs; newspapers; maps; and oral histories. Although Louisiana State University has been a major part of Baton Rouge for many years, collections relating to LSU are included only if they also relate explicitly to Baton Rouge--for example, the papers of an LSU professor who was also active in community organizations and whose papers documented those organizations. Similarly, the papers of individuals in state government are not included unless they also relate explicitly to Baton Rouge.

Displaying 181 - 190 of 503. Show 5 | 10 | 20 | 40 | 60 results per page.

Freemasons. St. James Lodge, No. 47 (Baton Rouge, La.). Records, 1819-1957. 6.5 linear ft., 4 microfilm reels. Location: 33:29-32, Mss.Mf:F. St. James Lodge was formed in 1844 and operates under the jurisdiction of the Grand Lodge of Louisiana, New Orleans. Records include minutes, membership files, financial records, and correspondence between St. James and other lodges and related societies (such as Knights Templar and Odd Fellowships) throughout the United States, Mexico, and Canada. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2860.

French House Collection, 1974-1991. 0.5 linear ft. Location: W:7. The French House (La Maison Française) at Louisiana State University opened in September 1935 to house selected advanced French-language students to live immersed in French language and culture. The collection consists of three scrapbooks documenting the history of the house compiled by Gertrude M. Beauford and four oral history interviews with Anita Olivier Morrison, head resident of the house between 1935 and 1958. Mss. 2760, 3018A.

Referenced in Guides: Baton Rouge, French, LSU

French, Cornelius R., 1786-1863. Family Papers, 1800-1920. 234 items, 6 vols. Location: U:123, 98:F. Doctor and resident of Baton Rouge. Personal and business papers of Dr. French and his family. Collection contains correspondence, medical items, and photographs; bills, receipts, and bank notes; and death notices, newspaper clippings, and miscellaneous items. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 893.

Referenced in Guides: Baton Rouge, Medicine

French-Clarke Family Papers, 1809-1861 (bulk: 1830-1920). 1.3 linear feet, 16 m.s. volumes. Location: 1:32-35, OS:F, 98:F. Largely composed of correspondence between members of the French family of Baton Rouge and extended family regarding Baton Rouge, family news, health, and genealogy. Legal documents include bills of sale for slaves, land documents, wills of the French and Clarke families. Personal financial records, scrapbooks, newspaper clippings of current events, especially pertaining to the opening of the state capital and LSU campus life in the early 1900s. Ledgers and printed items relate to Julia Edwards Clarke and her husband William's employment at the Louisiana State School for the Blind. For further information, see online catalog, Mss. 3494.

Fuchs, Peter Paul. Papers, 1956,1959, 1976. 5 items. Location: W:37. Composer and conductor of the Baton Rouge Symphony. Papers consist of three speeches pertaining to music theory and production, an English-language adaptation of the libretto of Verdi's 'Un Ballo in Maschera,' and the libretto of a one-act lyrical comedy, 'Serenade at Noon,' by Ann Vermel. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3051.

Referenced in Guides: Performing arts, Baton Rouge

Fuqua, Henry L. (Luce), interviewee. Oral history interview, 1979. 1 sound cassette (20 minutes); index (1 page). Location: L:4700.0012. Son of Henry Luce Fuqua, Louisiana governor. Interview identifies photos of buildings from Hope Farm, New Iberia, and the Atchafalaya swamp levees; and discusses the old Governor's Mansion and his father's defeat of Huey Long. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4700.0012.

Referenced in Guides: Politics, Baton Rouge, Long Family

Fuqua, Henry L. (Luce), interviewee. Oral history interview, 1979. 1 sound cassette (1 hour); transcript (54 pages). Location: L:4700.0021. Son of Henry Luce Fuqua, Louisiana governor. Interview discusses his family, living in Baton Rouge, the Flood of 1912, his father's work as head of the penitentiary in Baton Rouge (1916) and Angola, his involvement with LSU and Southern University, and his gubernatorial campaign (1924). Notable individuals mentioned include Felton Clark, William H. Dalrymple, Thomas D. Boyd, Annie Boyd, and Huey Long. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4700.0021.

Referenced in Guides: Politics, Education, Baton Rouge, LSU, Long Family

Fuqua, Henry L. Jr. Lytle Photograph Collection and Papers, 1863-1978. 1.5 linear feet. Location: T:13, E:65, D:92. Son of Henry Luce Fuqua, Louisiana governor. Photographs by Andrew D. Lytle, Baton Rouge photographer, of the Louisiana State Penitentiary at Angola State Farm, Hope State Farm on Bayou Teche, and a levee camp on the Atchafalaya For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1898.

Referenced in Guides: Baton Rouge

Fuqua, James O. (James Overton). Papers, 1857-1878. 118 items, 1 ms. vol. Location: Misc:F, UU:67. Slaveholder, property owner, and Confederate soldier of East Baton Rouge Parish, Louisiana. He was a member of the Baton Rouge law firm Fuqua and Callahan. His son, Henry Luce Fuqua, served as governor of Louisiana (1924-1926). Financial papers including receipts for Fuqua's purchase of slaves and receipts for state, parish, and Baton Rouge municipal taxes paid by Mrs. Fuqua. Papers of the law firm Fuqua and Callahan pertain to legal cases and other business matters. A letterpress copybook records Fuqua's legal correspondence. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 893, 1438.

Referenced in Guides: Baton Rouge, African Americans

Furlow, Kent. Photographica Collection, circa 1860-1965 (bulk: circa 1900-1955). 68 items. Location: 145: 58-61, 63-65, 69. Sixty-eight items consisting of: forty-two cameras; nineteen pieces of photographic equipment; two pieces of related photographic materials, and; five photographic images. Mss. 4754.

Referenced in Guides: Baton Rouge

Pages