Plantations
This guide describes manuscript collections documenting plantation society and economy in the Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections (LLMVC) at LSU. The plantation records and personal papers of planters, factors, merchants, and others whose livelihood came from plantations provide a wealth of documentation supporting research in plantation economy, slavery, and the social history of Southern landholding elites.
The collections described below touch upon all facets of plantation life. They include the papers of tutors, preachers, lawyers, and doctors who provided services to planters. They include the letters of Northerners who visited plantations in the antebellum period and wrote home about them, and those of Union soldiers who marched past plantations and sometimes plundered them. While the majority of collections are from the prewar years, there are substantial holdings on postbellum plantations as well. The sugar and cotton plantation records in LLMVC are among its most noteworthy and famed collections, and among the earliest collections that LSU acquired.
|
Barrow, Abram Feltus and Family. Papers, 1804-1982. 6 linear ft. Location: 7:60-62, G:11, OS:B, Vault:1, Vault:36. The Barrow family moved to Nuevo Feliciana (now in Louisiana) in 1799 and built several plantation houses there. Papers document the business interests of the Barrow family and their involvement with various fraternal orders. Records of the People's Bank, St. Francisville, and the Creole Oil and Mineral Co. reflect the involvement of the Barrow and Leake families. Photographs depict family members and fraternal gatherings. Also included are records of St. John's Church, West Feliciana Parish, Louisiana. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3696, 3745. |
|
|
Barrow, Bartholomew, 1836-1869. Family collection of sheet music, 1848-1891 (bulk 1861-1874). 4 items, 3 vols. Location: Range 65. Planter of Eldorado Plantation, a sugar plantation in Pointe Coupee Parish, Louisiana. Collection of bound and loose vocal and piano sheet music collected by Barrow and his family. Some compositions in French, German, and Italian. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1379. |
|
|
Barrow, Bennet H. Diary, 1833-1846. 1 volume. Location: Vault:9, W:24, Mss. Mf.:B. Cotton planter and owner of Highland Plantation in West Feliciana Parish, La. Diary reflects the management of Highland Plantation. Entries offer information on the cotton crop, weather conditions, personal activities, and treatment of slaves, specifically discipline and health care. Included are slave lists giving names and birth dates, and some financial records. Original volume housed in vault. Please use microfilm or typed transcription. Mss. 2978-2014. Referenced in Guides: Plantations, African Americans
|
|
|
Barrow, W. M. and family. Papers, 1847-1874, undated. 0.1 linear ft. Location: U:7. St. Francisville, Louisiana, merchant. Letters by Willie Macajah Barrow (1810-1853) and Civil War diary and letters of his son, Willie Macajah Barrow (1843-1863) reflecting economic and family life on a plantation in West Feliciana Parish. Available on microfilm 5322: University Publications of America Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 4, Reel 6. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 574. |
|
|
Bass-Farrar Family Papers, 1827-1918, undated (bulk 1830-1867). 0.5 linear ft. Location: R:41, OS:B, VAULT:1. Papers of the Bass, Farrar, and Richardson families from Tensas Parish, La., and vicinity. Primarily includes correspondence, legal documents, and financial records related to family matters, plantation management, life along the Mississippi River, the Civil War, and slavery. Mss. 4907. Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Women, New Orleans in the Civil War, Civil War, African Americans, Natchez, Mississippi
|