Plantations

Gordon Family papers, 1848-1857. 50 items. Location: Misc:G. Owners of Woodland Plantation in Port Gibson, Mississippi, where they raised cotton. Papers mainly consist of receipts for cotton shipments and invoices for purchases in New Orleans. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4666.

Gourgues, Henry. Records, 1864. 70 items. Location: A:117. Collection consists of monthly statements, invoices and receipts for household items, saddlery, and groceries purchased by Henry Gourgues from various New Orleans merchants, and invoices from commission merchants for cotton and other farm products shipped. Some items in French. Mss. 5260.

Graham, Alice Walworth. Papers, 1884-1992, undated. 5.3 linear feet. Location: 104:2-4; J: 25; and OS:G. Novelist and native of Natchez, Miss., and sometime resident of New Orleans. Professional and personal correspondence includes letters document Graham's literary career. Scrapbooks and printed items contain literary reviews of her books and describe her personal appearances at literary functions. Graham describes Natchez plantations in manuscript drafts for many of her published and unpublished works including Cibola, The Natchez Woman, and Romantic Lady. The letters of Graham's mother, Lela Gordon Walworth, and her sister, Mary Walworth Whitaker of Baton Rouge, are also part of the collection, and pertain to personal and family matters. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4295.

Graham, George Mason, 1807-1891. Letters, 1848-1849. 3 items. Location: Misc.:G. Planter of Tyrone Plantation, Rapides Parish, Louisiana, and a member of the Board of Supervisors of the State Seminary of Learning at Alexandria, Louisiana. Letters to his sister of Gunston Hall, Virginia, concern family and plantation matters. Letter (1849) tells of emigrants in the area suffering severely from cholera and refers to the cholera epidemic of 1833 on Graham's plantation. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 163.

Graham, George Mason, 1807-1891. Letter, 1858 Sept. 30. 1 letter. Location: Misc. George Mason Graham was a planter of Tyrone Plantation, Rapides Parish, La. This letter to Mrs. Curtis (Martha) Grimes concerns the gift of a sewing machine to her, the health of several people, his corn and cotton crop yields, and other family news. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4346.

Graham, George Mason, 1807-1891. Letter, 1860 January 24. 1 item. Location: Misc.:G. Planter of Tyrone Plantation, Rapides Parish, Louisiana, and a member of the Board of Supervisors of the State Seminary of Learning at Alexandria, Louisiana. Letter to Senator John Moore of New Iberia, Louisiana, expresses his views on the merits of a military school. Original manuscript letter is in the David Weeks Family Papers. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1761.

Grand Pré, Charles Louis Boucher de, 1754-1809. Succession Papers, 1809-1816. 16 items. Location: Misc. Governor of the Baton Rouge District, West Florida. Statements and receipts for payment of accounts filed in connection with the settlement of the estate of Grand-Pre by Pedro Favrot and Samuel Fulton, executors, George Mather, tutor for his minor children, and Philip Hicky and Gilbert Leonard, auditors. Included is a copy of an inventory of the goods and effects of Alexander See, a weaver, who died on Philip Hicky's plantation, Hope Estate. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1067.

Gray, Lillie Trust. Papers, 1865-1920 (bulk 1886-1890). 178 items, 9 volumes. Location: U:154; F:9. Musician and teacher at the Convent of the Sacred Heart, Convent, St. James Parish, Louisiana. Papers document Gray's teaching of and interest in music, and include a record book (1874-1900, 1902) containing lists of musical compositions and a diary (1900-1905) containing entries on music sung at Roman Catholic masses. Collection also includes household and farm entries; receipts for music lessons; and a payroll book (1865-1867) for Houmas Plantation. The payroll book is available on microfilm 6061: University Publications of America Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration, Series B, Part 1, Reel 15. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 165, 965, 422, 2070.

Great Britain. Board of Trade. Records, 1700-1721. 1 vol. Location: M:21. The Council of Trade and Plantations (1696-1782) was a British administrative body that regulated trade, manufacturing, plantations, and the use of natural resources in British colonies. Collection contains reports and memoranda related to Britain's colonial commerce and relations with France, Spain, and Portugal, including trade in the West Indies. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 680.

Great Falls Manufacturing Company. Papers, 1834-1842. 23 items. Location: Misc. Located in Boston, Massachusetts. Letters to George H. Kuhn, treasurer, of the Great Falls Manufacturing Company pertaining to purchase of cotton from New Orleans factors for New England textile mills. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1404, 1417.

Green, Caleb, Jr. Letter, Aug. 2, 1835. 1 item. Location: Misc.:G. Resident of St. Martin Parish, La. In a letter to his father in Saratoga County, New York, Caleb Green, Jr. announces the birth of his daughter, describes suffering a heat related illness and the use of bleeding as a medical treatment. He also reports on the financial worth of two planter friends in Mississippi. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4406.

Grisham-Kellogg-Faust family. Papers, 1860-2009 (bulk 1899-1976). 8.5 linear ft. Locations: U:321-329, OS:G, H:12, AA:, 65:. Papers consist of correspondence, photographs, personal papers and printed material. Material reflects the social activities, family life, travel and the genealogy of the Grisham-Kellogg-Faust family of Louisiana and Bolivar, Tenn. Included in the correspondence are World War I letters discussing logging in France, letters of college students, and picture postcards of plantations in Natchez, Miss. and Louisiana. Photographs include African American household employees, 1927 Mississippi River Flood, and portraits of Gov. Sam Jones, Gov. John McKeithen and Senator Russell Long. Mss. 5048.

Gurley, John W. Papers, 1858-1866. 81 items. Location: U:145. Attorney of New Orleans. Gurley and his wife Rosa were registered as enemies of the United States during the Civil War but were excused after they signed oaths of amnesty. The majority of letters are from Edward G. Stewart, a planter of Tangipahoa Parish, Louisiana. Papers of the Civil War period include claims the Gurleys were enemies of the United States, their oaths of allegiance, and letters confirming their loyalty. Available on microfilm 6061: University Publications of America Confederate Military Manuscripts Series B Reel 6 and Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 2, Reel 13. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 507.

Haag, William George, 1910-, interviewee. Oral history interview, 1994. 2 sound cassettes (3 hours), Transcript (104 pages). Location: L:4700.0453. LSU Boyd professor emeritus of geography and anthropology. Haag discusses his family history; the University of Kentucky; his work as an archaeologist for the Tennessee Valley Authority; the University of Michigan; World War II; the University of Mississippi; and his impressions of William Faulkner. Haag also discusses his career at LSU; the Poverty Point archeological site; excavations at the Centroplex and Magnolia Mound Plantation, Baton Rouge; research in the Antilles; and Civil War studies. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4700.0453.

Haile, Christopher Mason, Letter, 1838. 1 item. Location: OS:M. Four-page folio letter from Haile to fellow West Point cadet M.S. Culbertson about Haile's stay at Paul Hebert's Bayou Goulas Plantation (La.). Haile also discusses his stay at Dunboyne Plantation, owned by relatives of George Washington, and his interactions with the host families and their servant staffs. The letter is unstamped and dated February 18, 1838. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 5000.

Hale, William George, 1810-1883. Papers, 1797-1967. 287 items, 1 ms. vol. on 1 reel of microfilm. Location: Mss. Mf:H. Planter of DeSoto Parish, Louisiana. Papers include correspondence, legal documents, and financial records, including some that relate to the Civil War and regiments mustered at Camp Moore, Louisiana. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2426.

Hall, George Otis and family. Papers, 1856-1900, 1990 (bulk 1856-1880). 0.7 linear ft., 1 volume. Location: T:54, J:21. George Otis Hall and his wife Charlotte Emma LeDoux Hall, owners of Magnolia Mound, a sugar and indigo plantation in Baton Rouge. From 1860 on they lived in England and Europe. Papers include correspondence, photographs, social invitations, and newspaper clippings. Topics include the education of the Hall children in Louisiana and Europe, the family's resettlement in Europe, and Magnolia Mound. Partly in French. Available on microfilm 5750: University Publications of America Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century: Papers and Diaries Series E, Reels 12-13. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4320.

Hamilton, William S. Papers, 1780-1930 (bulk 1807-1861). 3 linear ft., 14 manuscript volumes, 16 microfilm reels. Locations: T:81-87, H:21, OS:H, MSS.MF:H. United States Army officer under General Wade Hampton; slave owner and planter of Holly Grove Plantation, West Feliciana Parish; and politician who served on the first board of trustees for the College of Louisiana and a term in the Louisiana Legislature. While most papers pertain to William S. Hamilton's social, political, and professional life, some papers also pertain to John Hamilton (William S.'s father) and the children of William S. and Eliza C. Hamilton. Papers reflect the administration of United States Army troops in the Territory of Orleans and Mississippi and give an inclusive picture of national and Louisiana politics. Included are descriptions of Southern college facilities and curricula and early medical treatments in hydropathy (hydrotherapy). The papers also document conditions in the United States Army during the Mexican War, land speculation in Texas, and various aspects of plantation life and economy (including purchasing and treatment of slaves). Part of the George M. Lester Collection. Mss. 1209.

Hamilton, William Sutherland. Papers, 1766-1879, 1942. .5 linear ft. Locations: UU:148, OS:H. United States Army officer; slave owner and planter of Holly Grove Plantation, West Feliciana Parish; and politician who served on the first board of trustees for the College of Louisiana and a term in the Louisiana Legislature. Papers consist chiefly of letters received and written by William S. Hamilton but also other Hamilton family members, including John Hamilton and Eliza C. Hamilton, and other friends and relatives. In addition to documenting family news and communications, correspondence reflects aspects of plantation economy; health problems and diseases, including yellow fever; medical treatments; conditions in the United States Army during and after the War of 1812; and the political and economic situation in Texas (1840-1844). Mss. 3167.

Hamilton-Barrow Family Papers, 1781-1965. 0.3 linear ft. Location UU:253. Financial papers, legal documents, and correspondence of Bennett I. (James) Barrow, a plantation owner in West Feliciana Parish, and his descendents. Documents concern land claims and disputes in West Feliciana Parish, while personal correspondence pertains to family history, and includes letters during both the Civil War and World War II. Also included are original land claims signed by Governors Miró and Carondelet. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4458.

Harding, Sidney, b. 1841. Diaries, 1863-1865. 2 vols. Location: U:230. Daughter of W. S. and Elizabeth Harding, Old Brier Plantation, St. Mary Parish, Louisiana. During the Civil War, her family fled three times from home, the final time to DeSoto Parish. Three diaries chronicle the family's flight to North Louisiana during the Civil War and the hardships her family dealt with during their exile. Available on microfilm 5322: University Publications of America Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 1, Reel 4. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 721.

Harkins, John. Manuscript, 1967. 1 item (59 pages). Location: E:45. Poplar Grove, Sugar Plantation on the West Bank of the Mississippi River across from Baton Rouge,' term paper presented for Fine Arts 120 taught by Mr. James R. Reeves. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2250.

Harris, William H. Papers, 1893-1930. 14 items, 1 vol. Location: MISC:H. Probably an African American who worked as a foreman or handyman around Augusta Plantation Sugar House, Bayou Goula, Iberville Parish, Louisiana. Papers include business correspondence and a Wholesale Pocket Business Directory of New Orleans for 1893. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3261.

Harrison, L. B. Letter, 1854 Mar. 23. 1 item. Location: Misc.:H. L.B. Harrison in New Orleans, La., remarks how his wife enjoyed the countryside around the Louisiana sugar plantations. He also recommends that spending a month in a sugar house at grinding season is a cure for lung diseases because of the beneficial effects of the vapors rising from the sugar kettles. Mss. 3858.

Hawkes, John. Letter, 1863 January. 1 item. Location: Misc. Union soldier in the Civil War, a member of the 50th Massachusetts Regiment. Letter written from Camp Parapet, Jefferson Parish, Louisiana, to a member of Hawkes' family in Maine. He mentions the fortifications at camp, guarding the plantation of a widow, and drinking the river water. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1265.

Hawkins, J. E. (Josiah Edwin). Papers, 1857-1929 (bulk 1880-1900). 6.7 linear ft. (4,464 items, 135 ms. vols., 52 printed vols.). Location: UU:309-315, J:8-9, OS:H, 98:H. Physician, surgeon, and farm owner in Bayou Chicot, Evangeline Parish, Louisiana. Hawkins was originally from Georgia and first practiced medicine in Columbia City, Arkansas. Collection includes professional, business, and personal papers related to Hawkins' medical career. Papers include medical daybooks, plantation diaries, financial records, maps, and newspapers from New Orleans and St. Landry Parish, Louisiana. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 982.

Haydel, Antoine. Records, 1856-1858. 5 items. Location: Misc.: H. Planter of St. John Parish, La. Accounts for the purchase of clothing and household items. In French. Mss. 5266.

Hazard Company. Letters, 1839-1855. 88 items. Location: E:57. Rhode Island manufacturer of cotton and woolen clothing, shoes, and textiles, with agents operating in New Orleans. Correspondence deals with clothing and textiles sold to plantation owners of Louisiana and Mississippi, and clothing worn by slaves on plantations. Customers were primarily from the Feliciana parishes in Louisiana and the Natchez and Vicksburg, Mississippi, areas. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 789, 845, 942, 1194, 1232.

Henderson, John J., Jr. Account books, 1870-1900. 10 vols. Location: G:11. Resident of Avalon Plantation, St. Mary Parish, Louisiana. Cash book, ledgers, and time books. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 536.

Henslee, Elizabeth Trowbridge. Collection, 1876-2004, undated (bulk 1899-1960). 1.85 linear ft. Location: 118:1. The granddaughter of Louisiana Governor and U.S. Senator Murphy J. Foster and Rose Routh Ker from Franklin, Louisiana. The collection contains personal papers, family photographs, political campaign ephemera, newspaper clippings, and cookbooks collected by the Henslee, Trowbridge, and Foster families. A significant component of the collection is the papers and correspondence of Elizabeth’s grandfather. Mss. 5154.

Herbert, Susan F. Papers, 1839, 1852-1857. 34 items. Location: C:61. Resident of Woodville, Wilkinson County, Mississippi. Statements from Payne and Harrison, New Orleans factor, for sale of cotton for the estate of T. S. Herbert and for his wife, Susan Herbert. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1209.

Herrin, Edmund. Papers, 1849-1891. 83 items, 1 vol. Location: E:39, G:11. Planter of St. Helena Parish, Louisiana. Papers include tax receipts, promissory notes, and bills; personal letters from the Roddy family, relatives, and from Herrin's brothers; an oath of allegiance to the United States and registration certificates; and a currency bill issued by Louisiana. Included is a fee book of Thomas H. Roddy, Sheriff of St. Helena Parish (1849-1855). For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 711.

Hicky, Daniel and Philip. Papers, 1667, 1762-1846 (bulk 1814-1815). 33 items, 1 microfilm reel. Location: U:103, OS:H, Vault:1, Vault:8, MSS.MF:H. Planters of East Baton Rouge Parish, Louisiana. Papers of Daniel Hicky include a land grant, a deed, and a passport. Papers of Philip Hicky mostly pertain to his involvement in the West Florida Rebellion and the Battle of New Orleans. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 720.

Hicky, Daniel. Letter, 1793 April 10. 1 item. Location: MISC:H. Planter of District of Manchac, West Florida, Louisiana. Letter sent from Baton Rouge, Louisiana, and addressed to his son, Philip Hicky, in New Orleans. Daniel Hicky mentions his painful gout, tells of the destruction wrought to levees and land by a Mississippi River flood, and remarks how the indigo crop was hurt by bad weather. He also gives an affectionate reminder to Philip to conduct himself properly. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3430.

Hicky, Daniel. Letter, 1867. 1 letter. Location: MISC:H. Letter from Daniel Hicky, Baton Rouge, La., to Judge D.D. Avery, requests a payment be made to R. Walsh from the estate of Philip Hicky and discusses plantation matters. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 238.

Hicky, Philip and Family. Papers, 1769-1901 (bulk 1769-1835). 20 items, 1 letter file book, 1 microfilm reel. Location: VAULT:8, OS:H, MSS.MF:H. Planter and colonel of East Baton Rouge Parish. Unbound and bound (in a letter file book) personal and official papers of Philip Hicky and the Hicky family. Papers pertain chiefly to the West Florida controversy and the Battle of New Orleans but also pertain to family matters and family history of the Hicky family. Some items pertain to the Walsh and Morgan families. Mss. 2007, 2035.

Hicky, Philip. Letter, 1815 February 28. 1 item [photocopy]. Location: MISC:H. Planter of Hope Estate Plantation, East Baton Rouge Parish, Louisiana. Letter from Hicky to Major Charles Tessier concerning the latter's appointment to the office of East Baton Rouge Parish judge. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2704.

Hilliard, Isaac H. (Isaac Henry) and family. Papers, 1756-1924 (bulk 1845-1920). 173 items, 12 volumes. Location: E:50, H:21, OS:H. Isaac Hillard was a planter of Grand Lake, Chicot County, Arkansas. The Hillard family were merchants in Grand Lake Arkansas, Collection includes legal papers, correspondence, cashbooks, and diaries that document the personal, agricultural, and business activities of the Hilliard family. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1236, 1347.

Hilliard, Isaac H. (Isaac Henry), Mrs. Diary, 1849-1860 (bulk 1849-1850). 1 vol. Location: U:239, Mss. Mf:H. Wife of Isaac H. Hilliard, plantation owner of Grand Lake, Chicot County, Arkansas, originally of Henry County, Kentucky. Mrs. Hilliard was related by marriage to Leonidas Polk. Diary depicts plantation life from an affluent woman's perspective, describing family holidays, social occasions, steamboat travel, and trips to Louisiana, Mississippi, and Kentucky. Includes her son's expenses at Kentucky Military Institute (1866). Available on microfilm 5750: University Publications of America Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century: Papers and Diaries Series E, Reel 13. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 178, 762.

Hillin, James. Document, 1791. 1 item. Location: Misc. Planter in the District of Baton Rouge, Louisiana. Will of James Hillin, planter in the District of Baton Rouge, La., and the attestation.. In Spanish. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 179.

Hines, Betty, 1948, interviewee. Oral history interview, 1993. 1 sound cassette (45 minutes), Index (3 pages). Location: L:4700.285. Resident of Four Corners, an unincorporated community south of Franklin, St. Mary Parish, Louisiana. Hines was the foster child of a sharecropper. Hines' memories of childhood as the daughter of a sharecropper; sugarcane growing; the recollections of her great-grandparents' enslavement; difficulties of her early work with foster children; birth customs; and traditional foods. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4700.285.

Hoard, Daniel. Document, 1847 Mar. 26. 1 item. Location: Misc. Resident of Pointe Coupee Parish, Louisiana. Sale (copy) of Jewell Plantation and slaves by Hoard to Richard H. Cox. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 668.

Honore Daigre and Adelaide Hebert sale, 1856, November 17. 1 item. Location: Misc:H. Honore Daigre and Adelaide Hebert were residents of Iberville Parish, Louisiana. A true copy of sale and adjudication of the sale of the plantation, land, and slaves of Honore Daigre and Adelaide Hebert, Iberville Parish. Includes a listing of their slaves' ages, sex, and family relationships, as well as a description of land and moveable property. In English and French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4888.

Hope Farm Plantation. Photograph collection, circa 1870-1879. 13 photographic prints. Location: E:64. Photographs of a plantation home, a sugar mill, men hunting, and an African American laborer on a sugar plantation on Bayou Terrebonne, 12 miles south of Houma, Terrebonne Parish, Louisiana. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4568.

Horace Tibbetts document [Louis Dent report] 1863 June 1. 1 item. Location: Misc:D. Lessee of Horace Tibbetts' plantation in East Carroll Parish, Louisiana. The U.S. Commission was a U.S. Treasury Department agency organized prior to the Freedmen's Bureau to handle the leasing of abandoned plantations during the Civil War. Report prepared by Dent for the U.S. Commission reports the number of tillable acres on the plantation; the number, age, and sex of African Americans employed; the livestock and equipment; and the names of whites residing on the plantation. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1418.

Howard, David. Roll of freedmen, 1864 November 7. 1 item. Location: Misc:H. List of freedmen employed by David Howard on his Adams County, Mississippi, plantation. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3666.

Hubert, Louis A. Papers, 1832-1846. 10 items. Location: Misc., OS:H. Resident of Pointe Coupee Parish, Louisiana. Papers consisting of acts of sale for slaves and a plantation, and a commission appointing Hubert justice of the peace of Pointe Coupee Parish in 1846. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1724.

Hunt, David. Family Papers, 1803-1838. 20 items. Location: U:158. Planters of Natchez, Mississippi. Personal and business letters to Abijah Hunt, wealthy merchant and slave holder of the Natchez District, and to his nephew, David Hunt, who amassed a large fortune as his successor. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 517.

Hunt, David and Anne F. Memorial, [1874]. 1 item. Location: E:96, E:Imprints. Wealthy planters of Natchez, Mississippi. Biographical sketch of David Hunt (1779-1861) and of his wife Anne Ferguson Hunt (1797-1874). For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3256.

Hunt, David, 1779-1861. Letters, 1803-1839 (bulk 1820-1829). 95 letters. Location: UU:288. With numerous cotton plantations and a significant number of slaves, David Hunt was one of the wealthiest cotton merchants in Mississippi, and indeed one of the wealthiest men in the United States. The David Hunt Letters consist of correspondence, both personal and business, between cotton merchant David Hunt and various family members and business associates. For further information, see online catalog, Mss. 4788

Hunter, Napoleon Bonaparte. Family Papers, 1841-1968 (bulk 1870-1937). 79 items, 28 vols. Location: T:87, P:19. Mayor and merchant of Waterproof, Tensas Parish, Louisiana. Papers include a ledger containing accounts with individuals and plantations in Tensas Parish and a Mayor's Record that extends through the administrations of Hartwig Moss, Joseph Gorton, and Napoleon B. Hunter. Also included are records and printed material of the Order of the Knights of Pythias, Tensas Lodge No. 84, and of the Woodmen of the World. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2360.

Hunter, Robert and Sarah Jane. Letters, 1846-1847. 9 items. Location: Misc:H. Letters exchanged between R. [Robert] A. Hunter while serving in the Louisiana State Senate, and his wife, Sarah Jane, residing either on their plantation or their summer home in the "Pine Woods" in Rapides Parish or in Alexandria. In addition to love letters, correspondence includes description of political activities and also his service as an officer in the Mexican War. She relates news of family, friends, crops, and other local happenings. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4072.

Hyslop, John. Correspondence, 1868. 2 letters. Location: Misc.: H. Two letters written to John Hyslop of Manchester, England. In the first letter written to his parents, James Douglas Hyslop relates his experiences while traveling in the United States, in search of employment. He tells about his illness, working on the railroad, mining for gold in California, and working at Harlem Plantation (Aug. 1, 1868). In a letter to John Hyslop, John M. Davidson informs him that his son, James, died of yellow fever (Sept. 6, 1868). Both letters were written from Harlem Plantation in Plaquemines Parish, Louisiana. Mss. 5218.

Iberville Parish (La.) Parish Court. Probate sale, 1837 February 14. 1 item. Location: Misc:P. A broadside for a probate sale to take place March 1837 in the Parish of Iberville (Louisiana) for the estate of Robert Loyd. The items to be auctioned include the undivided half of a plantation, livestock, and slaves. Slaves are listed by name and their age. The item is signed by John Dutton, Parish Judge. In English and French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4892.

Inman, B. R. (Benajah R.), b. 1820. Family Papers, 1808-1888. .2 linear ft. (68 items). Location: B:50. Planter of Wilkinson County, Mississippi. Inman inherited Smithland Plantation in 1863 from his aunt, Nancy Quine. Collection includes financial records; legal materials; correspondence; and miscellaneous and printed items. The financial and legal records document Smithfield Plantation and a dry goods store on it. Business letters to John Lee, a purchasing agent in New Orleans, deal with the price of cotton and other commodities. Slave bills of sale and labor contracts with sharecroppers are included. Available on microfilm 5322: University Publications of America Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 2, Reel 11. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 893.

Innerarity, John. Papers, 1800-1854. 48 items. Location: B:50. Vice Consul of France at Pensacola, Florida, and a member of the firm John Forbes and Company, which engaged in trade with Native Americans along the Gulf Coast. Correspondence documents shipment of goods, accounts, and purchases of slaves for a plantation in Georgia.Letters relating to Innerarity's French consular service (1835-1853) discuss land claims, political appointments, and the Mexican War. Some items in French and Spanish. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1271, 1273.

Jackson, Andrew. See: Andrew Jackson account.

Jackson, Willie, 1889-, interviewee. Oral history interview. 1993. 1 sound cassette (45 minutes), Index (3 pages). Location: L:4700.0282. Resident of Four Corners, an unincorporated community south of Franklin, St. Mary Parish, Louisiana. Jackson and his daughter, Emma Dell Peters, lived on Sterling Plantation; Jackson's grandparents were slaves. Jackson describes his childhood in Four Corners, work cultivating and harvesting sugarcane, and raising crops with his parents. He describes early transportation by horse, foot, and boat; churches in the area; and life on Sterling Plantation. Jackson also describes credit at the plantation store; illnesses; marriage customs; gambling on the card game 'Kotch'; use of French language; French language work songs; and schooling. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4700.0282.

James, Francis Henderson. Papers, 1869-1973 (bulk 1909-1960). 1.2 linear ft. Location: UU:74-75, OS:J. Graduate of Louisiana State University (LSU), World War I veteran, and chief engineer at Salzburg Sugar Factory on Salzburg Plantation in St. James Parish, Louisiana. Papers include a diary (1937-1958) kept during his employment as chief engineer in which he recorded formulas, calculations, cane crop data, and administrative notes; a 1915 LSU calendar that includes campus photographs; and family portraits and photographs of him as a cadet at LSU and during his military service; letters and clippings. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4960.

James, John W. Papers, 1852-1858. 3 items. Location: Misc.: J. The papers consist of a plantation diary (1855-1856), an invoice for household goods (June 24, 1852) and a letter from the firm Simms and Cabin informing John James of the balance due on his account (Sept. 1, 1858).  The plantation diary reports the of plowing fields, and the planting and harvesting of corn. The back of the letter lists several slaves by first name. Mss. 3699.