Plantations

This guide describes manuscript collections documenting plantation society and economy in the Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections (LLMVC) at LSU. The plantation records and personal papers of planters, factors, merchants, and others whose livelihood came from plantations provide a wealth of documentation supporting research in plantation economy, slavery, and the social history of Southern landholding elites.

The collections described below touch upon all facets of plantation life. They include the papers of tutors, preachers, lawyers, and doctors who provided services to planters. They include the letters of Northerners who visited plantations in the antebellum period and wrote home about them, and those of Union soldiers who marched past plantations and sometimes plundered them. While the majority of collections are from the prewar years, there are substantial holdings on postbellum plantations as well. The sugar and cotton plantation records in LLMVC are among its most noteworthy and famed collections, and among the earliest collections that LSU acquired.

Displaying 301 - 360 of 622. Show 5 | 10 | 20 | 40 | 60 results per page.

Jenkins, John C. (John Carmichael) and family. Papers, 1837-1900 (bulk 1840-1855). 100 items, 14 volumes. Location: B:66, G:21, OS:J, Vault:72. Experimental agriculturist and horticulturist and resident of Elgin Plantation, Adams County, Mississippi. Personal papers and diary of the Jenkins family. The diary records results of Jenkins' experiments at Elgin, plantation routine, financial transactions, travel, and social and literary activities. Purchases of slaves and health of slaves are noted. Jenkins' account book shows expenditures for the home, family, plantations, and slaves. Correspondence includes Civil War letters from Jenkins' son, a Confederate soldier. Also available on microfiche 2729 (Southern Historical Manuscripts, Plantation Records 1799-1900). Does not include 1846 letter, which was acquired after filming. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 141, 142, 184, 187.

Johnson (Alfred Grima) Collection, 1805-2001 (bulk: 1850-1950). 1.3 linear feet. Locations: 111:7, OS:J. Retired Central Intelligence Agency officer and historic preservationist. Collection consists of correspondence, financial and legal documents, research notes, photographs, and other records pertaining to the Grima, Montegut, Pitot, Foley, and Pugh families of South Louisiana. The records were accumulated for the purpose of studying genealogy and family history. Contains records in both English and French. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 5005.

Johnson, Bradish. Account books, 1819-1896 (bulk 1868-1886). 3 vols. Location: F:18. Planter, Whitney Plantation, St. John the Baptist Parish, Louisiana. Time book (1868) and pay roll book (1880-1886) for Whitney Plantation; an anonymous ledger containing accounts with early residents of St. John the Baptist Parish (1819-1822); and copies of letters written from Whitney Plantation (1896). For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 753.

Referenced in Guides: Plantations

Johnson, Richard L. (Richard Lynn), Jr. Collection, circa 1920-1989. 3 copy prints, 3 photocopies. Location: MISC:J. Geneaologist. Collection contains 2 copy prints of Compton Cemetery (1983, 1989) and 1 copy print of John Compton and Amelie Compton's home (circa 1920) near Meeker, Louisiana. Photocopies are of images of Thomas Courtland Manning and Mary Louise Blair's tombstones in Metairie Cemetery in New Orleans. Mss. 4249.

Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Women

Johnson, William T and family. Papers, 1793-1937 (bulk 1830-1870). 6 linear ft., 54 volumes. Location: U:161-162, O:71-73, 65:, OS:J African American barber and planter of Natchez. Personal papers, commercial records, diaries, and music of the Johnson family reflecting the condition of cultured and educated free persons of color both before and after the Civil War. Available on microfilm 5322: University Publications of America Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 4, Reels 1-6. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 529, 561, 597, 770, 926, 1093.

Jones, George Noble. Bill in Equity, circa 1840-1876. 1 item. Location: MISC: J. George Noble Jones was born in 1811 to Noble Wimberly Jones and Sarah Fenwick Jones, and was the grandson of Noble Jones, founder of Wormsloe Plantation near Savannah, Georgia, and was himself the owner of several plantations. This is a copy of a bill in equity, undated, for George Noble Jones and Mary N. Jones vs. Mary Nuttall and Hector W. Braden. The bill concerns stocks, slaves, and land from a Florida plantation owned by Mary Nuttall Jones, widow of William B. Nuttall, who remarried to George Noble Jones on May 18, 1840. Mss. 822.

Referenced in Guides: Plantations

Jones, James M. Plantation journals, 1854-1888 (bulk: 1855-1880). 6 items, 2 manuscript volumes, 1 microfilm reel. Location: VAULT:11, MSS.MF:J. James M. Jones was a cotton planter of Poplar Ridge Plantation, Rodney, Jefferson County Miss. Plantation journals (volume 1: 1854-1861, 1876-1880) and (volume 2: 1861-1866) record the weather, work done by his hands on the cotton, corn, pea, and fruit crops, the dates of the first cotton bloom for the year, and the amount of cotton picked. Farmers almanacs for 1876-1878 and 1880, as well as accounts with merchants, have been sewn into volume one. In addition to plantation work, volume two contains a few notations of Union soldiers in the area and the activities of freedmen (1864), as well as mentions of Jones's furloughs from the 4th Mississippi Cavalry. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4824.

Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Civil War, African Americans

Jones, John P. Papers, 1851-1859. 3 items. Location: MISC:J, OS:J. Papers contain a land lease agreement between the school commission of Franklin County, Mississippi and John P. Jones and a land grant certificate issued to Jones for purchasing land in Washington, Mississippi. Certificate is signed by President James Buchanan. There is also an estate conveyance document pertaining to Adaline Dillon and her father Clarkson Dillon. Document transfers two slaves, Angeline and Isaah [sic], to Adaline and is signed by other Dillon family members. Mss. 5353. 

Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Women, African Americans

Jules A. Dornier and Family Papers, 1917-1965. 0.3 linear ft. Location: 50:15, OS:D. Farm and sugar planting family near Convent, Saint James Parish, Louisiana. Correspondence and ephemeral related to the family's farm business including World War II prisoner of war labor contracts. The collection also contains letters from former POW laborers and records showing Lillian Dornier's involvement in the Cooperative for American Remittance to Europe (CARE, Inc.) program.. Mss. 3468.

Keary, Patrick F. Letters, 1848-1855. 19 items. Location: Misc. Planter of Ben Lomand Plantation, Wilkinson County, Mississippi. Letters to Wylie and Egana and Juan Y. de Egana, brokers in New Orleans, concerning business and plantation matters on Keary's cotton plantation, Ben Lomand, and his sugar plantation Catalpa Grove, on Bayou Boeuf, Avoyelles Parish, Louisiana. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1053.

Keary, Patrick F. Letter, 1850 Jan. 8. 1 letter. Location: Misc. Patrick F. Keary of Catalpa Grove Plantation near Cheneyville, La., writes Juan Y. de Egana, commission merchant of New Orleans, relating the loss of seven slaves to cholera and giving a list of supplies needed at the plantation. Mss. 3913.

Referenced in Guides: Plantations, African Americans

Keller family. Plantation records, 1858-1937 (bulk 1908-1923). 9 items, 17 volumes, 1 microfilm reel. Location: MISC:K, P:16, MSS.MF:K. The Keller family owned Welham Plantation and operated a store in St. James Parish, Louisiana. Collection includes antebellum slave record books (1858-1860), plantation and store ledgers, cashbooks, daybooks, and receipts. Slave record books are on microfilm. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3010.

Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Business, African Americans

Kelly, Lou M. Reminiscences and Letters, [1905], 1925. 3 items. Location: E:4. Lou Kelly lived at Ranson Plantation, St. Charles Parish, La. Kelly's reminiscences and letters pertain to an African American labor riot in St Charles Parish in 1880. Kelly wrote the reminiscences in 1905 for author Helen Pitkin Schertz's fictionalized account of the riot. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4796.

Referenced in Guides: Plantations, African Americans, Literature

Kendrick, Benjamin. Papers, 1806-1894 (bulk 1810-1840). 0.7 linear ft. (611 items). Location: U:170. Cotton planter and slaveholder of the Feliciana parishes, Louisiana. In 1823 he moved from St. Francisville (West Feliciana Parish) near Jackson (East Feliciana Parish) and in 1830 he established Asphodel Plantation there. Collection includes legal papers, bills, receipts, and correspondence. Papers document medical care for family members and slaves; and include letters from New Orleans merchants and a letter from a Missouri slave dealer (1836). Some materials relate to David J. Fluker of East Feliciana Parish, Kendrick's son-in-law. Available (with some omissions) on microfilm 5322: University Publications of America Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 2, Reels 11-12. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 906.

Kenner family. Papers and diaries, 1844-1892 (bulk 1844-1856). 49 items; 8 vols. Location: C:30, J:5, . Sugar and rice planters of Oakland Plantation, Jefferson Parish; and Roseland Plantation, St. Charles Parish, Louisiana. Papers consist of personal correspondence, a diary, and two memorandum books. Included are Civil War letters of Lieutenant Philip Minor Kenner. Plantation diaries and correspondence of Charles Oxley, husband of Martha Kenner, record activities at Roseland Plantation. Available on microfilm 5735 and 5322: University Publications of America Confederate Military Manuscripts Series B Reel 10 and Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 1, Reel 5 For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 775.

Referenced in Guides: Sugar, Plantations, Civil War

Kenner, Duncan Farrar. Papers, 1838-1905 (bulk 1838-1894). 0.8 linear ft., 3 volumes. Location: A:51, F:4, VAULT:1, VAULT MRDF 2. Planter of Ashland, Ascension Parish, Louisiana, and Confederate diplomat. Collection includes financial, legal, and personal papers related to Ashland Plantation and Kenner's investments and business dealings in New Orleans, especially with his brother-in-law, General Richard Taylor, in leasing the New Basin Canal in New Orleans, as well as horse racing and Kenner's diplomatic mission to France on behalf of the Confederacy. Available on microfilm 6061: University Publications of America Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration, Series B, Part 1, Reel 14. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 198, 1402, 1477.

Kenner, William, 1776-1823. Papers, 1802-1832, undated. 371 items. Location: T:30. New Orleans factor and commission merchant affiliated with John Oldham and Richard Clague in a general mercantile and commission business under the firm name of William Kenner & Company. Business and personal papers of Kenner document territorial and antebellum economic and social life at New Orleans; conditions on the eve of the War of 1812; and details of the Battle of New Orleans. Included are papers relating details received at New Orleans on the Napoleonic Wars and their aftermath; and papers reflecting slavery and plantation life in Louisiana and Mississippi.Available on microfilm 5322: University Publications of America Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 3, Reels 12-13. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1477, 1491.

Ker, John, 1789-1850. Family Papers, 1803-1862. 27 items, 1 vol. Location: S:108. Medical doctor of Good Hope Plantation of Concordia Parish, Louisiana, and the father of Mary Susan and William H. Ker. Papers include letters from Stephen Duncan, Sr., of Natchez, Mississippi, and Philadelphia, to Dr. John Ker; and Civil War letters from William H. Ker, a Confederate soldier. Collection also includes a diary (1850-1851) of Mary Susan Ker with details on family life after her father's death. Available on microfilm 5750: University Publications of America Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century: Papers and Diaries Series E, Reel 15. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3539.

Kerr family. Photograph album,| ca. 1890. 1 vol. Location: H:17. Photograph album of the Kerr family of Dixie Plantation, Franklin, Louisiana, includes photographs of Ringgold, Barrow, and Lidell family members. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4741.

Referenced in Guides: Plantations

Kerr, E. W. Papers, 1898-1951 (bulk 1925-1949). Approximately 12.5 linear ft. Location: 77:22-34, OS:K. Baton Rouge engineer. Kerr was an LSU professor of mechanical engineering (1905-1916), an efficiency engineer for the Cuba Cane Sugar Corporation of Havana, Cuba (1916-1931), and a consultant to southwest Louisiana sugar factories (1935-1949). Papers include correspondence, technical data and notes, blueprints and related printed items documenting Kerr's career in the sugar industry. Papers also include family letters and personal correspondence related to business matters. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1308.

Referenced in Guides: Sugar, Plantations, Baton Rouge, LSU

Key, Philip B. Letter, 1851. 1 item. Location: Misc.:K. Letter to Thomas T. Haley concerning activities and death of Haley's father, who served as overseer on a plantation in Ascension Parish, Louisiana. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2466.

Referenced in Guides: Plantations

Kidd, Edwin. Family Papers, 1792-1994, undated (bulk: 1836-1884). Location: UU:63. Edwin E. Kidd was a lawyer, politician, and businessman. Kidd served several terms in the Louisiana Legislature. Papers include correspondence from Edwin’s father, Wilson M. Kidd, and then later, from Edwin. Wilson M. Kidd fought in the Creek War of 1836 as a volunteer in the Alabama militia. Correspondece recounts Wilson Kidd's experiences in the militia and Edwin Kidd's education, experiences in the Civil War, and post-war political career. In addition to correspondence the collection includes photographs, receipts, legal documents, and genealogical information. Mss. 5178.

Referenced in Guides: Politics, Plantations, Civil War, Education

Kilbourne, James Gilliam, 1828-1893. Family collection, 1838-1899. 565 items, 43 vols. Location: E:5-7, G:13, OS:K. Planter, jurist, state legislator, Confederate captain, and member of the law firm Fuqua and Kilbourne of East Feliciana Parish, Louisiana. Collection contains personal and business papers of three generations of the Kilbourne family. Papers include documents related to Kilbourne's legal career, Civil War letters from Kilbourne to his wife, and records of the Comite Plantation. Available (with some omissions) on microfilm 5735: University Publications of America Confederate Military Manuscripts Series B, Reel 11. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 690, 730.

Referenced in Guides: Politics, Plantations, Civil War

Kilbourne, James Gilliam, 1828-1893. Family Papers, 1817, 1869-1939 (bulk 1869-1939). .3 linear ft., 2 vols. Location: T:29. Planter, jurist, state legislator, Confederate captain, and member of the law firm Fuqua and Kilbourne of East Feliciana Parish, Louisiana. Papers include letters to Mrs. James Gilliam Kilbourne from her children; and verse and music composed by a daughter, Margaret Gayden Kilbourne Breedlove. They also document family history, the Kilbourne library, and the succession of Peter Gilliam. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1058.

Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Performing arts, Women

Kilbourne, James Gilliam. Photographs, ca. 1890. 2 items. Location: Pict.Coll:K. Jurist of Clinton, Louisiana. Includes a photograph of Kilbourne and his home Bonnie Burn, which was the site of a Civil War skirmish. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 236.

Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Civil War

Kimball, Fredrick. Letters, 1804-1812, 1833. 21 items. Location: VAULT:11, MISC:K, MSS.MF:K. Cotton planter of Pinckneyville, Wilkinson County, Mississippi Territory. Letters (originals and transcriptions) refer to the embargo in the West Florida Rebellion, slaves for hire, and alleged mistreatment by the United States of the rights of persons in the Mississippi Territory after the annexation of the Florida Parishes to the Union. Mss. 893.

King, Grace Elizabeth. Papers, 1851-1941 (bulk 1864-1932). 3,800 items, 49 volumes, and 24 microfilm reels. Location: UU:10-18, UU:23-24, UU:27-31, 98:K, N:6, OS:K, Vault:11, MSS.MF:K. New Orleans writer and historian. Correspondence, literary writings in notebooks, photographs, bound manuscript volumes, and printed material concern the literary career of Grace King, historical interests, travels, and personal affairs. Her correspondence and diaries describe her extensive travel throughout the United States, Canada, and Europe. Diary 3 describes her childhood experiences at L'Embarass plantation in St. Martin Parish. Her correspondence also describes yachting in Florida and other Southern states. For further information, see online catalog. Part of the Grace King Collection. Mss. 1282.

King, Roswell, Jr. Diary, 1838-1845. 1vol. Location: M:19. BTC. Agent for the Butler family and farmer of South Hampton, Georgia. Entries record periodic trips to the plantations on Butler Island and give routine plantation information. Available on microfilm 5322: University Publications of America Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 2, Reel 20. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 201.

Referenced in Guides: Plantations

King, William W. and family. Papers, 1833-1954 (bulk 1837-1936). 9,400 items, 174 volumes. Location: N:6-8, OS:K, UU:32-57, Vault:27. New Orleans lawyer and father of writer Grace King. Papers of correspondence, bills and receipts relating to the law firm of Elmore and King; L'Embarrasse Plantation in St. Martin Parish, Louisiana; and the period during the Civil War and Reconstruction. Also included are papers concerning the education of the children; the social, cultural, religious, and economic life of New Orleans; the anti-lottery movement; and travel in the U.S. and Europe. For further information, see online catalog. Part of the Grace King Collection. Mss. 1282.

Kleinpeter, Andrew. Papers, 1827-1833. 20 items. Location: B:40. Resident of East Baton Rouge Parish, Louisiana. Correspondence from relatives in Spencer County, Kentucky, and letters from James Neilson, attending school in Lexington, Kentucky, commenting on Henry Clay after attending a party in his home, and mentioning a shooting by supporters of Clay and Jackson. Includes business letters of Isidor Larguire, cotton broker, of New Orleans; and a letter of A. Jones, Baton Rouge, concerning the treatment of cholera. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 238.

Kleinpeter, Joseph and family. Papers, 1803-1895 (bulk 1820-1865). 0.25 linear ft., 2 volumes. Location: C:63, OS:K, J:6, 98:. Sugar planter of Variety Plantation in Iberville Parish, Louisiana. Papers include land records, slave sales, mortgages, and succession documents. A record book includes entries of slave births (1822-1852). There are also Civil War military papers and two Bureau of Refugees labor contracts (1865-1866). Some items in French. Available on microfilm 5322: University Publications of America Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 1, Reel 9. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1241.

Knox, J. P., d. 1893. Family Papers, 1851-1921. 2 linear ft., 9 vols. Location: E:25-26, vault:1. Cotton planters of Clinton, East Feliciana Parish, Louisiana, and proprietors of Clinton Brick and Tile Company and the East Louisiana Land Investment Company. Letters (1861-1863) from Granville L. Alspaugh to his mother describe his service in the Confederate Army at Vicksburg. Papers (1851-1893) also reflect social, personal, and business matters, including the sale of cotton through factors in New Orleans. Letters of Robert Granville Knox (1890-1899) describe student life at Louisiana State University, his partnership in a drugstore in Hammond, La., and his participation in the Spanish American War, with Roosevelt's Rough Riders. Later correspondence (1900-1921) include letters written to Miss Elise Walker by soldiers during World War I. Available on microfilm 5735: University Publications of America Confederate Military Manuscripts Series B, Reels 11-12. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 715.

Lanaux, George. George Lanaux and Family Papers, 1830-1915. 3 linear ft. (3,100 items). Location: UU:61-63, J:9, OS:L, 104-105. Planter of Bellevue Plantation in Plaquemines Parish, Louisiana, and later president of the New Orleans Insurance Association. Papers include correspondence, legal documents, financial documents, and photographs documenting the Lanaux family, plantation management, slave holdings, and land sales. Partly in French. Available (with some omissions) on microfilm: University Publications of America Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 1, Reels 11-13. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1318.

Landreth, John. Field notes book, 1819. 1 volume. Location: M:19. Surveyor. Volume contains Landreth's field notes (January-April 1819), created during his survey expedition for live oak and red cedar timber lands in Louisiana, for a commission from the United States Navy. Daily field notes include notations of directions and distances traveled, landmarks sighted, and short narrative descriptions of daily events and people met. Locations described include Franklin, St. Martinville, New Orleans, and a variety of bayous, lakes, and waterways. Mss. 5386.

Landry (Theodore E. and Lou Bird) Papers, 1931-1984. 15,000 items. Location: Z:30-31, Z:33, 43:26-28, 43:30-34, 82, 104-105. Landscape architects in Port Allen, La., Theodore E. and Lou Bird Landry were active in projects to restore plantation gardens to historical accuracy and donated their services to landscape churches in the Baton Rouge diocese. Personal and professional papers include correspondence, lectures, scrapbooks, and client files comprised of drawings, plans, photographs and color slides relating to landscape architecture. For additional information, see online catalog. Mss. 3771.

Referenced in Guides: Religion, Plantations, Baton Rouge, French

Landry family. Papers, 1831-1903, undated. 0.5 linear ft. Location: U:198, G:15, OS:L. Residents of Paincourtville, Assumption Parish, Louisiana. The majority of letters are personal and are written by various members of the family, including some relatives from Quebec. The later correspondence has a good percentage of business letters. The documents include bills, receipts, and sugar sales. Some in French. Available (with some omissions) on microfilm 5322: University Publications of America Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 1, Reel 8. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 731.

Landry, Charles. Mortgage, 1860. 1 item. Location: Misc. Mortgage on a sugar plantation in St. Martin Parish, Louisiana, giving the size of the plantation and names and ages of slaves. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1927.

Referenced in Guides: Sugar, Plantations, African Americans

Landry, Elu. Estate record book, 1848-1851. 1 ms. vol. (on microfilm). Location: Mss. Mf.:L. Louisiana sugar planter.Record book kept by the administrator of Elu Landry's Louisiana sugar plantation includes accounts of money paid and received by the estate, a list of debts, and a plantation diary (1848-1850) describing daily work assignments, sugar harvest, levee construction and maintenance, and a cholera epidemic. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3106.

Referenced in Guides: Sugar, Plantations, African Americans, Medicine

Landry, Severin. Family Papers, 1838-1887 (bulk 1843-1882). 148 items, 2 vols. Location: U:199, G:15. Sugar planter of Assumption Parish, Louisiana. Collection includes personal and family correspondence, business and financial records, plantation regulations, and a daybook (1846-1849) and journal (1846-1865) kept by Dufossard Landry recording sales of plantation produce. Chiefly in French. Available (with some omissions) on microfilm: University Publications of America Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 1, Reel 8. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 210.

Referenced in Guides: Sugar, Plantations, French

LaReunion Plantation document, 1812. 1 item. Location: Misc. Plantation located in Plaquemines Parish, Louisiana. Sheriff's seizure and sale of LaReunion Plantation to Charles V. M. Pelletier includes an inventory of property and slaves. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 508.

Referenced in Guides: Plantations, African Americans

Laughlin, Clarence John. Papers, circa 1924-1978. 0.3 linear ft. Location: E:55. Louisiana photographer. Papers include a heavily annotated copies of volumes used by Laughlin and loose notes. Miscellaneous items include some correspondence, brochures, newspaper and magazine clippings, and maps. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4538.

Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Literature

Lazaro, Ladislas. Papers, 1894-1928. 6,235 items, 43 vols. Location: C:37-43; P:4; Z:15, 22. Louisiana physician, state senator, U.S. congressman, and planter. Papers contain correspondence, clippings, speeches, government publications, and memorandum books recording Lazaro's service as a U.S. Representative. Political papers reflect his interest in agriculture and the tariff question, state and local politics, and related national matters. Daybooks and ledgers document his medical practice in Grand Prairie (1894-1913). Some bound volumes include material about World War I. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1113, 1149.

Leary, Calvin. Record books, 1846-1881. 2 volumes. Location: 1:. Native of North Carolina and farmer and landholder in Bienville Parish, Louisiana and Houston County, Georgia. Record books document mostly farm operations and include notes on the weather and climate, particularly at Sunnyside Plantation in Bienville Parish. The first record book also contains notes on cures, remedies, and medicinals. Mss. 4273.

Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Medicine

LeBlanc, Auguste. Family Papers, 1812-1866 (bulk 1859-1866). 5 items (includes 1 vol.). Location: Misc:L, G:16. Cotton planter on Happy Retreat Plantation near Grosse Tete, Iberville Parish, Louisiana. Papers consist of documents relating to Octave LeBlanc of Plaquemines Parish and Louis LeBlanc of St. Martin Parish and a plantation record book kept by Auguste LeBlanc. The record books contains entries for daily work performed and slave assignments. Memoranda discuss runaway slaves in Baton Rouge with the federal army in the Civil War, an expense account of building materials used to construct the Grosse Tete Chapel, and accounts with neighbors. Available on microfilm 5322: University Publications of America Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 2, Reel 17. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 214.

Lebret diary, 1858-1861, 1977 (bulk 1858-1861). 1 item, 1 volume and 1 microfilm reel. Location: VAULT:12 and MSS.MF:L. The Lebret family of Bayou Sara, West Feliciana Parish, Louisiana, was headed by Peter (a.k.a. Pierre) Lebret, French-born owner and operator of Lebret and Hearsey, a general merchandising firm in Bayou Sara, and Fancy Point Plantation. Diary, probably written by Peter Lebret's sister-in-law. She mentions caring for children and slaves, teaching children, sewing, housekeeping, business dealings in trying to purchase more land, Waterloo Plantation in Pointe Coupee Parish, and local and family news. Previously known as anonymous diary. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3504.

Leidigh, Jacob M. Correspondence, 1859-1860. 4 items. Location: Misc. Letters by Northerners teaching music at the Brooksville Academy in Mississippi, to their brother, giving their impressions of slavery in Mississippi. They also describe travel and Colonel Brooks' plantation home. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1598.

Leonard, Theodule. Papers, 1841-1896. 135 items. Location: C:55. Planter, tax collector, and sheriff of West Feliciana Parish, Louisiana, and captain of Company O of the West Feliciana Regiment of the Louisiana Militia in the Civil War. Letters relate Confederate maneuvers around Columbus, Kentucky. Some papers and letters in French. Available on microfilm 5735: University Publications of America Confederate Military Manuscripts Series B, Reel 12. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1209.

Referenced in Guides: Politics, Plantations, Civil War, French

Leverich Company. Correspondence, 1839-1848. 5 items. Location: MISC:L. Cotton factors of New York and New Orleans. Letters of J. H., Henry L., and Charles P. Leverich concerning business and family matters. Included is a letter from Charles P. Leverich describing a sea voyage from New York to New Orleans in 1845. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2466.

Leverich Company. Papers, 1830-1851. 149 items. Location: W:11. Cotton factors of New York and New Orleans. Letters pertain to New Orleans business and banking conditions, shipping between New York and New Orleans, and family matters. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2998.

Leverich, Charles P. Correspondence, 1834-1847. 81 items. Location: A:56. Factor of New York City associated with J. H. Leverich and Company of New Orleans. Correspondence consists of letters from New Orleans merchants, factors and Louisiana and Mississippi planters discussing the sguar trade. Letters from St. Mary Parish planters refer to shipping sugar and other cargo, a mortgage on Leonidas Polk's plantation, floods, and the parish's health. Letter from William J. Minor of Natchez mentions his interest in horse racing and his son's finances. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1078, 1220, 1352, 1506, 2418.

Liddell family. Papers, 1850-1869. 23 items. Location: C:61. Moses Liddell was a planter Woodville, Miss. and Catahoula Parish, La. He served as a brigadier general in the Confederate Army. Letters from members of the Liddell family pertain to the California gold rush, the migration of Southern planters to South America after the Civil War, and financial aid offered by Southern colleges to prospective students during Reconstruction. Part of the George M. Lester Collection. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1209.

Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Education

Liddell, Moses. Family Papers, 1813-1919 (bulk 1838-1870).6.5 linear ft., 39 ms. vols., 11 mf reels. Location: U:200-209, G:21, Range 98, Mss.Mf:L. Planter of Elmsley Plantation, Woodville, Wilkinson County, Mississippi. His son, St. John Richardson Liddell, was a planter of Llanada Plantation near Trinity, Catahoula Parish, Louisiana, and a Confederate brigadier general during the Civil War. Papers consist of plantation records, slave lists, personal correspondence, business and legal papers, account books, notebooks, and plantation diaries. Manuscript volumes consist of cashbooks, bank books, cotton and lumber record books, plantation notebooks, and an incomplete manuscript of LIDDELL'S RECORD OF THE CIVIL WAR IN AMERICA 1860-1866. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 531.

Liddell, Moses and St. John Richardson. Family Papers, 1813-1919 (bulk 1838-1870). 6.5 linear ft., 39 vols., 11 mf reels. Location: U:200-209, G:21, 98:, Mss.Mf:L, microfiche 2729. Planters of Woodville, Mississippi and Catahoula Parish, Louisiana, Confederate officers. St. John Richardson Liddell was Moses Liddell's son. Bulk of the material is that of St. John Richardson Liddell, Confederate officer and son of Moses Liddell. Papers consist of plantation records, personal correspondence, slave lists, business and legal papers, account books, notebooks, plantation diaries, and persecution of Jews. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 531.

Lilley, Thomas. Papers, 1832-1837. 5 items. Location: Misc., OS:L. Resident of East Baton Rouge Parish, Louisiana. Legal and financial papers concerning stocks and the sale of land owned by Thomas Lilley.. They include land conveyances, (1832 , 1835); stockholder's oath (1836); a mortgage for shares of the Citizens' Bank of Louisiana to Thomas Lilley (1837). Also included is an appraisers certificate for land, slaves, livestock, and dwellings that contains names of his seven slaves (1836). For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 668.

Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Baton Rouge, African Americans

Lobdell (John L. and Family) Papers, 1817-1912 (bulk: 1825-1890). 0.5 linear feet. Location: A:78; H:12; OS:L. A lawyer and planter in West Feliciana and West Baton Rouge Parishes who experienced financial difficulties as a result of the Civil War. Consists of legal documents, financial records, correspondence, certificates and a cotton book from Arbroath Plantation in West Baton Rouge Parish. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4359.

Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Civil War

Lobdell, James L. Record book, 1866-1867. 1 vol. Location: G:16. Planter, Bellemont Plantation, West Baton Rouge Parish, Louisiana. Bills of lading from Vose and Lobdell, commission merchants of New Orleans, and receipts for merchandise for James L. Lobdell. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 212.

Referenced in Guides: Plantations, New Orleans 1866-, Business

Lockett, Noland, 1938-, interviewee. Oral history interview, 1993. 1 sound cassette (1.5 hours), Index (7 pages). Location: L:4700.284. Resident of Four Corners, a community south of Franklin, St. Mary Parish, Louisiana. Lockett, the great-grandson of a migrant sugarcane worker from the Caribbean, was a building contractor and former associate dean of a junior college. Lockett discusses the logging industry at Four Corners; the origin and history of the Lockett clan; local sugar growing and South Coast Plantation; service by African Americans in the Korean War; the plantation store system; and race relations. Lockett also discusses his seminary experience; plans for a private school in the area; and recalls childhood memories of Mardi Gras; gambling and his father; and social conditions of his community. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4700.284.

Referenced in Guides: Sugar, Plantations, Education, African Americans

López, Manuel. Papers, 1802-1835. 0.3 linear ft. Location: U:211, OS:L. Planter of East Baton Rouge Parish, Louisiana, superintendent of the Spanish royal warehouse in New Orleans, and Justice of the Peace of East Baton Rouge Parish. Papers of Manuel López, a description of the boundaries of Distrito de la Feliciana (1802), and an inventory of the department of forts. Also included is the will of Juan Perez. In Spanish with English translations. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 721.

Louisiana pictures, 1720-1865. 17 items. Location: Map cage. Prints include John Law's concession at New Biloxi; a plantation on Bayou Goula, Louisiana; the Civil War Battle of New Orleans sketched by a federal soldier; federal gunboats passing Port Hudson, Louisiana; and Jackson Station after it was burned. Also included are reprints of Civil War scenes of Port Hudson and Baton Rouge from Frank Leslie's Illustrated Newspaper and Harper's Weekly Newspaper. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1733.

Louisiana postal cards, undated 2 items. Location: E:Imprints. Postcards of a crawfish race at Breaux Bridge, Louisiana; and of Kolb's Restaurant in New Orleans. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2600.

Pages