Plantations
This guide describes manuscript collections documenting plantation society and economy in the Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections (LLMVC) at LSU. The plantation records and personal papers of planters, factors, merchants, and others whose livelihood came from plantations provide a wealth of documentation supporting research in plantation economy, slavery, and the social history of Southern landholding elites.
The collections described below touch upon all facets of plantation life. They include the papers of tutors, preachers, lawyers, and doctors who provided services to planters. They include the letters of Northerners who visited plantations in the antebellum period and wrote home about them, and those of Union soldiers who marched past plantations and sometimes plundered them. While the majority of collections are from the prewar years, there are substantial holdings on postbellum plantations as well. The sugar and cotton plantation records in LLMVC are among its most noteworthy and famed collections, and among the earliest collections that LSU acquired.
|
Hoard, Daniel. Document, 1847 Mar. 26. 1 item. Location: Misc. Resident of Pointe Coupee Parish, Louisiana. Sale (copy) of Jewell Plantation and slaves by Hoard to Richard H. Cox. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 668. Referenced in Guides: Plantations, African Americans
|
|
|
Honore Daigre and Adelaide Hebert sale, 1856, November 17. 1 item. Location: Misc:H. Honore Daigre and Adelaide Hebert were residents of Iberville Parish, Louisiana. A true copy of sale and adjudication of the sale of the plantation, land, and slaves of Honore Daigre and Adelaide Hebert, Iberville Parish. Includes a listing of their slaves' ages, sex, and family relationships, as well as a description of land and moveable property. In English and French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4888. |
|
|
Hope Farm Plantation. Photograph collection, circa 1870-1879. 13 photographic prints. Location: E:64. Photographs of a plantation home, a sugar mill, men hunting, and an African American laborer on a sugar plantation on Bayou Terrebonne, 12 miles south of Houma, Terrebonne Parish, Louisiana. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4568. |
|
|
Horace Tibbetts document [Louis Dent report] 1863 June 1. 1 item. Location: Misc:D. Lessee of Horace Tibbetts' plantation in East Carroll Parish, Louisiana. The U.S. Commission was a U.S. Treasury Department agency organized prior to the Freedmen's Bureau to handle the leasing of abandoned plantations during the Civil War. Report prepared by Dent for the U.S. Commission reports the number of tillable acres on the plantation; the number, age, and sex of African Americans employed; the livestock and equipment; and the names of whites residing on the plantation. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1418. |
|
|
Howard, David. Roll of freedmen, 1864 November 7. 1 item. Location: Misc:H. List of freedmen employed by David Howard on his Adams County, Mississippi, plantation. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3666. |
|
|
Hubert, Louis A. Papers, 1832-1846. 10 items. Location: Misc., OS:H. Resident of Pointe Coupee Parish, Louisiana. Papers consisting of acts of sale for slaves and a plantation, and a commission appointing Hubert justice of the peace of Pointe Coupee Parish in 1846. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1724. |
|
|
Hunt, David. Family Papers, 1803-1838. 20 items. Location: U:158. Planters of Natchez, Mississippi. Personal and business letters to Abijah Hunt, wealthy merchant and slave holder of the Natchez District, and to his nephew, David Hunt, who amassed a large fortune as his successor. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 517. |
|
|
Hunt, David and Anne F. Memorial, [1874]. 1 item. Location: E:96, E:Imprints. Wealthy planters of Natchez, Mississippi. Biographical sketch of David Hunt (1779-1861) and of his wife Anne Ferguson Hunt (1797-1874). For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3256. Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Natchez, Mississippi
|
|
|
Hunt, David, 1779-1861. Letters, 1803-1839 (bulk 1820-1829). 95 letters. Location: UU:288. With numerous cotton plantations and a significant number of slaves, David Hunt was one of the wealthiest cotton merchants in Mississippi, and indeed one of the wealthiest men in the United States. The David Hunt Letters consist of correspondence, both personal and business, between cotton merchant David Hunt and various family members and business associates. For further information, see online catalog, Mss. 4788 |
|
|
Hunter, Napoleon Bonaparte. Family Papers, 1841-1968 (bulk 1870-1937). 79 items, 28 vols. Location: T:87, P:19. Mayor and merchant of Waterproof, Tensas Parish, Louisiana. Papers include a ledger containing accounts with individuals and plantations in Tensas Parish and a Mayor's Record that extends through the administrations of Hartwig Moss, Joseph Gorton, and Napoleon B. Hunter. Also included are records and printed material of the Order of the Knights of Pythias, Tensas Lodge No. 84, and of the Woodmen of the World. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2360. |