Plantations
This guide describes manuscript collections documenting plantation society and economy in the Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections (LLMVC) at LSU. The plantation records and personal papers of planters, factors, merchants, and others whose livelihood came from plantations provide a wealth of documentation supporting research in plantation economy, slavery, and the social history of Southern landholding elites.
The collections described below touch upon all facets of plantation life. They include the papers of tutors, preachers, lawyers, and doctors who provided services to planters. They include the letters of Northerners who visited plantations in the antebellum period and wrote home about them, and those of Union soldiers who marched past plantations and sometimes plundered them. While the majority of collections are from the prewar years, there are substantial holdings on postbellum plantations as well. The sugar and cotton plantation records in LLMVC are among its most noteworthy and famed collections, and among the earliest collections that LSU acquired.
|
Eno, Frank. Letter, 1857. 1 item. Location: Misc. Teacher of a private school in Concordia Parish, Louisiana. Letter from Eno to a New York cousin, describing his teaching position and the effect of the Panic of 1857 on cotton planters. He also explains his move from the North to Concordia Parish, Louisiana. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1585. Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Education
|
|
|
Evans, Nathaniel. Family Papers, 1791-1932 (bulk 1800-1850). 5 linear ft., 47 ms. vols. and 42 printed vols. Location: E:10-15, G:12, OS:E, 98:E, VAULT:6, VAULT:38, MICROFILM 5322. Postmaster and general merchant of Fort Adams, Wilkinson County, Mississippi; and owner of Oakland Plantation in West Feliciana Parish, Louisiana. Papers consist of business and family correspondence and plantation records. Available (with some omissions) on microfilm: University Publications of America Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 2, Reels 1-10. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 670, 893, 913. |
|
|
Evergreen Plantation. Painting, 1860. 1 item [photographic copy]. Location: E:65. Painting, gouache on paper, showing Evergreen Plantation, in West Feliciana or Iberville Parish, Louisiana. The artist is unidentified. Part of the Picture Collection. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3460. Referenced in Guides: Plantations
|
|
|
Fair, James. Papers, 1833-1838. 4 items. Location: Misc:F. Owner of Grove Hill Plantation in West Feliciana Parish, Louisiana. Papers pertain to Fair's mortgage of Grove Hill Plantations and its slaves. Land conveyance documents the sale of the plantation by Mrs. Maria Jones to Fair and an appraiser's certificate. There is also a questionnaire for stockholders of Citizens' Bank of Louisiana. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 668. |
|
|
Farar, Benjamin. Papers, 1773-1826 (bulk 1820-1826). 56 items (on 1 microfilm reel). Location: Mss.Mf:F. Planter of Laurel Hill Plantation near Natchez, Mississippi. Papers include personal and business correspondence (1820-1826) related to family matters, plantation operations, and social life in New Orleans. Includes some land grants in Spanish. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1364. |
|
|
Farrar, Alexander K. Papers, 1804-1931 (bulk 1831-1870). 2.25 linear ft. Location: UU:229-231; OS:F. Planter and lawyer of Kingston, Adams County, Mississippi, and Mississippi state senator. Personal, professional, and plantation papers concerning Farrar's law practice, including settlement of several estates, and his plantation and business interests. Available (with some omissions) on microfilm 532: University Publications of America Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 3, Reels 6-10. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 782, 850, 1348. |
|
|
Farwell, F. Evans, 1906. Lecture and narration, 1980. 1 sound cassette (45 minutes), Index (1 page). Location: L:4700.14. President of Millican and Farwell Shipping Line. Farwell discusses the establishment of Millican and Farwell Shipping and family sugar cane plantations in Louisiana. He narrates a slide show, not contained in the collection, about changes in farming technology, especially pertaining to sugar cane. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4700.14. Referenced in Guides: Sugar, Plantations
|
|
|
Faulk, John T. Papers, 1833. 2 items. Location: Misc. Planter of Bayou DeSiard, Ouachita Parish, Louisiana. Letter of John T. Faulk to Mr. Goodwin, teacher, outlining the course of study desired for his sons; and a contract with William Henderson to board Faulk's children in order that they could attend the public school house in Prairie Maroughe, Ouachita Parish, Louisiana. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 877. Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Education
|
|
|
Ferris, Livingston Polk. Papers, 1920-1968. 3 linear ft. Location: 10:45-46.]. Electrical engineer of Ashton Plantation, Lecompte, Louisiana. Professional correspondence (1920-1968) pertains mainly to his work on electric railroads and experiments with electrical shock. Other papers include reports of experiments, lectures, technical papers, notebooks, films, and other materials. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2829. Referenced in Guides: Plantations
|
|
|
Fischer, Max. Max and August Fischer Papers, 1881-1907. 136 items. Location: E:52, O:20. Max and August Fischer were wholesale and retail dealers in general merchandise in Bayou Sara, West Feliciana Parish, Louisiana. They also operated Kenmore Plantation, Pointe Coupee Parish, Louisiana. Collection contains ledgers, journals, and other business papers related to Kenmore Plantation and to Fischer's merchandise dealings. Includes account and sales records of the Grace Episcopal Church in Bayou Sara, and of prominent families in West Feliciana Parish, Louisiana. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1259. |
|
|
Fitch, Henry B. (Henry Bates). Hermitage Plantation pay and muster roll, June 1864. 1 item. Location: OS:F. Pay and muster roll for contraband slaves working on Hermitage Plantation. The pay and muster roll lists 118 named slaves and records the hours they worked, their monthly pay, the amount paid, amount due, etc. These freedmen are listed with their adopted surnames. Plantation was operated by Henry B. Fitch. Mss. 4881. |
|
|
Fitz, Charles. Letter, 1865 November 28. 1 item. Location: Misc. American lawyer. Letter to Edwards Pierrepont dealing with a claim made by an ex-Confederate Louisiana planter against the U.S. government for property confiscated during the Civil War. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2564. Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Civil War
|
|
|
Fleming, George A. Papers, 1826-1881 (bulk 1838-1870). 18 items and 1 volume. Location: W:53, OS:F. Planter of Madison County, Mississippi. Account book (1838-1870) contains accounts with overseers; entries for sale of feed, hardware, and clothing, and for repairs, loans, travel and personal expenses. Papers (1826-1881) consist of tax receipts, letters patent, and deeds of conveyance. Available (with some omissions) on microfilm 5322: University Publications of America Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 3, Reel 18. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 462, 893, 936. Referenced in Guides: Plantations
|
|
|
Flint, Lewis Herrick. Papers, circa 1954-1968. 0.5 linear ft. Location: A:27. Botanist at Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge. Manuscript and three notebooks compiled in preparation of Flint's book, ROSEDOWN A REPORT ON ECHO HUNTING IN A LOUISIANA PLANTATION HOME (1968). Notebooks contain transcriptions of personal and business papers of the Turnbull, Bowman and related families of Rosedown and Oakley plantations of West Feliciana Parish, Louisiana. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2199. |
|
|
Florence letter, 1884 August 24. 1 item. Location: Misc:F. Teacher residing in Lecompte, Louisiana. Personal letter mentions Rapides Parish and Alexandria, Louisiana, opportunities in the area, and the Wells-Wood Plantation. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4604. Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Education
|
|
|
Flournoy, Alfred. Papers, 1824-1936. 1 vol. Location: G:6. Medical doctor and cotton planter of Pulaski, Tennessee, and after 1838, cotton planter of Greenwood Plantation in Caddo Parish, Louisiana, and leader in the Democratic Party. Bound typewritten copy of a scrapbook, containing papers of Dr. Flournoy, Civil War letters to and from Flournoy's sons Alfred, Jr., and Alonzo, and related newspaper clippings and family histories. For further information, see online catalog.Mss. 628. |
|
|
Fluker, David J. Papers, 1839-1867. 54 items. Location: E:3. Resident of East Feliciana Parish, Louisiana. Estate papers of David J. Fluker consist of business papers to his wife I. Ann Fluker. A letter from Fellowes and Company, New Orleans, urges sale of the plantation 'Isabella Place,' 1856. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 727. |
|
|
Fontenot, Ozemé and family. Papers, 1834-1949. 5 linear ft., 54 volumes. Location: UU:190-194; O:21; OS:F; 98:F. Planter of Grand Prairie, St. Landry Parish, Louisiana. Plantation, business records, correspondence of Ozemé Fontenot and family. Some relate to the marriage and divorce of daughter Alma Parker, and to her hospitalization in New Orleans. Papers also deal with United Confederate Veterans activities. Available (with some omissions) on microfilm: University Publications of America Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration, Series B, Part 2, Reels 3-6. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3248. Referenced in Guides: Plantations, New Orleans to 1861, Women, New Orleans in the Civil War, New Orleans 1866-, Civil War, Medicine, 20th Century Wars
|
|
|
Foster, James. Family Papers, 1829-1904. 92 items, 7 ms. vols. Location: U:117. O:3. 1Medical doctor of Natchez, Mississippi, and owner of the Hermitage Plantation near Natchez. Correspondence consists chiefly of personal letters from family members concerning travel in the East; yellow fever in New Orleans; and plantation affairs. Some letters relate to student life at Oakland College (Mississippi) and Harvard University. Three manuscript volumes contain poetry and four record books concern a Confederate monument in Natchez, listing subscribers to a memorial fund (1888-1889). Available on microfilm 5735: University Publications of America Confederate Military Manuscripts Series B, Reel 6. Mss. 1705. |
|
|
Foster, Murphy J. and family. Papers, 1880-1955 (bulk 1880-1930). 4.3 linear ft. Location: UU:286-287, 98:F. The collection extensively documents Foster's political career, his relationship with his wife Rose Ker Foster, and their children's formative years. Materials in the collection include correspondence, financial papers, legislative papers, and printed items. Topics addressed include family matters such as the development and education of the Foster children; Rose's management of Dixie Plantation in Murphy's absences; and Foster's political career and the issues that concerned him, such as the Anti-Lottery campaign, a national income tax, regulating railway rates, flood control, poll taxes, and protection of sugar growers. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4710. |