Plantations

Louisiana Postcard Collection, 1904-1951. 507 items. Location: E:65 (short shelf). Postcards depict subjects, especially churches, schools, and some plantations in towns and regions of Louisiana. Louisiana towns and regions best represented in the collection include Abita Springs, Alexandria, Baton Rouge, Bogalusa, Convent, Covington, Donaldsonville, Franklin, Hammond, Houma, Jennings, Lake Charles, Mandeville, Monroe, Morgan City, New Orleans, Plaquemine, Saint Francisville, Shreveport, and Thibodaux. Included is a photograph depicting three women in front of a plantation house. The photograph is labeled "Alice Emilie Knapp, Forrest Home." For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3645.

Louisiana Sugar Planters Association. Papers, 1877-1917.1 linear ft. Location: U:212-213, G:16. Sugar planters' association based in New Orleans. Correspondence pertains to meetings; statistics on production; cane cutting machine; Spanish, Italian, and German immigrants working as plantation laborers; and supervisors and funding needed for a molasses refining test. Papers include articles reviewed by the association, including N. A. Helmer's "Evaporation in Multiple Effects" (June 1907). Material includes a minute book (1877-1891), a bill for membership in he American Protective Tariff League (1908) and letters relating to the Association's dues and resignations. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 266, 1492.

Lowry, K. B. Notice, 1862. 1 item. Location: Misc. Union lieutenant commander of the U.S. Gunboat Sciota in the Civil War. Copy of a public notice issued by Lowry threatening summary justice on James Humphreys or any member 'of his band of guerrillas' damaging the property of Mrs. Burbank, St. John the Baptist Parish, Louisiana. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 753.

Loyd, Gladys Means and family. Papers, 1904-1975. 462 items, 10 volumes. Location: UU:215, P:18, 98:L. Schoolteacher of Ida (Caddo Parish) and St. Joseph (Tensas Parish), Louisiana. Papers include correspondence and genealogical notes on Ida, Louisiana, families; photograph albums on plantations, including Hundred Oaks Plantation in Baton Rouge; and scrapbooks on the history of Ida and Tensas Parish. Collection also includes ledgers of the Ida Hardware Store owned by James Taylor Means. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3224.

LSU Libraries: Louisiana collection photographs, 1862-1971. 624 items. Location: 11:6, OS:L. This collection contains photographic prints and some picture postcards of city buildings, plantation buildings, and other structures in several Louisiana cities and parishes, especially New Orleans and Baton Rouge. Mss. 4262.

Lyons, Henry A. Papers, 1829, 1834-1877. 611 items, 1 ms. Vol. Location: UU:106. Lawyer of St. Francisville, Louisiana, associate justice of the Supreme Court of California (1840); third husband of Eliza Pirrie Bowman of Oakley Plantation, West Feliciana Parish, Louisiana. Papers contain personal, legal, and financial records pertaining to Lyons' work as a lawyer in Louisiana (1829-1849); a supreme court justice in California (1850-1852); and his personal and business affairs in Louisiana, California, and France (1852-1877). His papers include his address to the first term of the Supreme Court of California. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1382.

Macarty, Jno. (John). Family Papers, 1764-1935 (bulk 1764-1837). 9 items. Location: B:50. Native of France and resident of New Orleans. Macarty owned a plantation home near New Orleans which was used by Andrew Jackson as a field headquarters in 1815. Papers pertain to the estate of John Macarty and include a forty-page inventory of the contents of his New Orleans residence and the Macarty plantation home. Also included is a roll of the Royal Legion of the Mississippi Militia (ca. 1798). In French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 270, 496.

MacKowen, John C. (John Clay). Papers, 1846-1966 (bulk 1897-1901). 103 items, 3 printed vols. Location: E:54; OS:M. Planter and physician of Jackson, Louisiana, and owner of a property in Anacapri, Italy. Letters concern the education of John MacKowen and his brothers in New England schools, MacKowen's Confederate service during the Civil War, the education of African Americans by plantation women, and the MacKowen property in Italy. Some letters and papers in Italian and French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2465.

Macrery, Andrew. Papers, 1793-1855. 46 items. Location: S:121. Planter of Natchez, Mississippi, and owner of Roseland and Springfield plantations. Family correspondence concerns social life, health, and medical practices. Available on microfilm 5322: University Publications of America Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 3, Reels 10-11. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1403.

Madewood Plantation titles and deeds, 1816-1906. 1 ms. vol. [on 1 microfilm]. Location: Mss. Mf.:M. Plantation located in Assumption Parish, Louisiana. Copies of titles and deeds to Madewood Plantation record transfers of land ownership to the Pugh family and later through successions within the family. Filed in the online catalog under Titles and deeds of Madewood Plantation. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2924.

Magill, David Weeks. Records, 1859-1861. Two items. Location: Misc.:W. Planter of St. Martin Parish, La., and grandson of David Weeks of Iberia Parish, La. Accounts for the purchase of household items, clothing, postage, and a gun, gun powder, gun wads and caps. Mss. 5267.

Magnolia Mound sale document, 1837, 1841. 2 items [photocopies]. Location: Misc. Plantation in Baton Rouge. Sales agreement records terms of transfer of property from owners Bernard and Jean-Baptiste Dubreuil Villars to Achille Murat. Included is a document recording the cancellation of the contract in 1841. Copied from the original in the East Baton Rouge Parish Clerk of Court's office. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3059.

Magruder, Eliza L. Diary, 1846-1857. 2 vols., 1 typescript. Location: G:17, vault:18, microfiche 2729. A native of Maryland, Eliza Magruder (1803-1876), went to live at Arundo, the Jefferson County, Miss., plantation of her aunt and uncle, Olivia Magruder Dunbar (1786-1859) and Joseph Dunbar (1773-1846) around 1839. Arundo was located in Church Hill, Miss., near Natchez. After the death of Olivia Dunbar, Eliza Magruder moved to Oakland Plantation, the home of her aunt Lavinia Magruder Turpin (1786-1867) near Washington, Miss. In the diary, she comments on local social events and amusements, visiting friends, births and deaths, and treatment, care of, and unrest of slaves. She also records the weather, illness and death among slaves and friends and medical attention she provided, as well as her reading, sewing, and religious life, including comments on minsters and sermons she heard. In addition, she relates the activities of her aunt in running the plantation after the death of her husband. Available on microfilm 5750: University Publications of America Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century: Papers and Diaries Series E, Reel 34. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 654.

Magruder, Samuel Bertron, Jr. Collection, 1968, 1971. 7 items. Location: Misc:M. LSU student. Photographs of the ruins of Windsor Plantation house, near Port Gibson, Mississippi, and related subjects. Included in the collection is a newspaper article from the New Orleans TIMES- PICAYUNE about Windsor. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2570.

Mandeville, Henry D. (Henry David) and family. Papers, 1815-1925 (bulk 1854-1883). 2 linear ft. Location: U:214-216. Henry D. Mandeville, originally from Philadelphia, was a factor in trade with China; his son Henry, Jr. was a lawyer in Natchez, Mississippi. Two other sons, Theodore and Ellwyn, served in the Confederate army. Collection includes personal and business correspondence documenting life in Natchez and New Orleans; the operation of Westwood Plantation (owned by Henry, Jr.) in Louisiana; and Civil War papers of Theodore and Ellwyn. Papers also include letters referring to musical performances in Arkansas, Virginia, Natchez, New Orleans, and Chicago; and materials documenting civilian life in New Orleans in the Civil War. Available (with some omissions) on microfilm 5322: University Publications of America Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 3, Reels 3-6. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 491, 535.

Marchand Gin Company. Cotton book, 1900. 1 vol. Location: G:18. Cotton book of the Marchand Gin Company recording cotton ginned and shipped from September to December, 1900. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 280.

Marchant, James Alexander. Family Papers, 1860-1934 (bulk 1860-1887). 0.4 linear feet. Location E:112. Personal correspondence and papers, one diary, and photographs pertaining to the Marchant and DeArmond families of Clinton, East Feliciana Parish, Louisiana, and, later, Brazil. Letters pertain primarily to conditions in Clinton and East Feliciana Parish after the Civil War, including labor relations with freedmen. A few Civil War letters are also present and pertain to the Battle of Vicksburg, the C.S.S. Arkansas, and Ship Island, Miss. Also included is a letter of introduction for James Marchant from the citizens of Clinton to those of Brazil, a diary kept by the Marchants' son Madison chronicling their journey to Brazil, and photographs of family members, Robert E. Lee, and Joseph E. Johnston. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3641

Marshall, George B. (George Benoist). Family Papers, 1807-1900 (bulk 1850-1880). 0.5 linear ft. Location: B:41, J:7. Sugar and cotton planter of Crescent Plantation, Cheneyville, Rapides Parish, Louisiana, and captain in the Confederate army. Collection includes records, daybooks, bills, receipts, and other documents related to the plantation. Includes a 1866 record of fines imposed on African Americans for breaking the peace. Available (with some omissions) on microfilm 5735: University Publications of America Confederate Military Manuscripts Series B, Reels 12-13. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 969.

Marshall, John J. Plantation ledgers, 1866-1899. 4 vols. (on microfilm). Location: Mss. Mf.:M. Planter of Allendale Plantation, near Stonewall, DeSoto Parish, Louisiana. Plantation ledgers record wages and supplies given to freedmen laborers and include accounts of the Trinity Mission and the All Saints Church, rent records, crop production, and sick days of each laborer. Another ledger records butter production. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3025.

Marshall, Maria Chotard and family Papers, 1819-1868. 0.3 linear ft. Location: S:126. Family of businessmen and planters whose branches settled in Alabama, Georgia, Mississippi, and Louisiana. Letters of Sarah Foster Chotard to her daughter Maria Louisa Marshall, and Maria's to her sister Eliza Gould, discuss family, legal, and business affairs, social life, travel, and Civil War experiences. Memoirs by Eliza Gould deal with family history. Collection includes a biographical sketch of David Hunt, a planter of Natchez, Mississippi, and his wife Anne Ferguson Hunt. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3256.