Plantations

Marshall-Furman Family Papers, 1794-1975 (bulk 1833-1905). 3,046 items, 35 vols., 8 microfilm reels. Location: W:59-68, OS:M, Mss. Mf.:M. Henry Marshall was a cotton planter and a member of the Louisiana Senate. S. C. Furman, Marshall's son-in-law, was a medical doctor and officer in the Louisiana Second Infantry Regiment during the Civil War. Correspondence deals with politics, economics, agriculture, and the Civil War. Also included in the collection are financial and professional papers, a muster roll, diary, account book, memorandum book, map, and scrapbook materials. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2740, 4042.

Marston, Henry and family. Papers, 1818-1938 (bulk 1850-1890). 2,104 items, 59 volumes. Location: U:220-222, U:267, G:19. Planters of East Feliciana Parish and Red River Parish, Louisiana. Collection includes diaries; plantation records; legal documents; personal correspondence; bank records; and Civil War papers. Diaries comment on public health, yellow fever epidemic, race relations, labor and the political participation of African Americans. Other volumes record activities of the Clinton & Port Hudson Railroad and the Silliman Female Collegiate Institute. Papers of son , Bulow, reflect his activities as planter, steamboat operator, and warehouse owner. Available (with some omissions) on microfilm 5735 and 6061: University Publications of America, Confederate Military Manuscripts, Series B, Reel 13 and Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration, Series B, Part 2, Reel 14, or For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 624.

Martin, Robert Campbell, b. 1839. Papers, 1767-1932. 241 items, 75 vols. (68 ms. Vols., 8 printed vols.). Location: C:9, OS:M, O:18-19, 98. Sugar planter of Albemarle Plantation, Assumption Parish, Louisiana, and son of Robert Campbell Martin and Mary Winfred Pugh. Martin served as first lieutenant in the 26th Louisiana Volunteer Regiment during the Civil War. Papers include Pugh family property and estate records such as deeds and leases, an estate inventory, powers of attorney, and a promissory note. Other papers include a funeral notice, marriage license, muster roll, receipts, and voter registration form. Also included are record books of Albemarle Plantation, memorandum books, newspaper clippings, and printed items. Available (with some omissions) on microfilm: University Publications of America Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration, Series B, Part 3, Reels 7-11. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1045.

Martin, Sigur. Papers, 1905-1912. 236 items, 16 ms. Vols. Location: U:211, G:18. Sugar planter of Grand Point Plantation and a dealer in general merchandise and liquor in Paulina, St. James Parish, Louisiana. He later held office in the Treasury Department in Baton Rouge. Collection includes store records, accounts, invoices, and receipts, many with Baton Rouge merchants. Some items document Martin's management of a sugarcane plantation. Included are letters from the Colonial Sugars Company listing cane deliveries from tenant farmers working on Grand Point Plantation. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 460.

Martin, W. L. Collection, 1831, 1863, 1869. 4 items. Location: 99:. Copy of a Benjamin Levy (New Orleans) imprint of a sugar statement for the year 1831 by Pierre A. Degelos which gives the names of the sugar planters by parishes; and three Thibodaux, Louisiana, newspapers. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1904.

Mason, Polly, 1855-1974, interviewee. Oral history interview, 1971. 1 sound cassette (45 minutes), 10 pages. Location: L:4700.0041. Former slave, born at Ulster Plantation near Alexandria, Louisiana. Mason was 115 years old at the time of the interview, and was residing in Woodworth, Louisiana. Mason describes her master, Judge Henry Boyce, and her life on his cotton plantation in Boyce, Louisiana. Included are her memories of Union soldiers in Louisiana during the Civil War and her sadness upon the assassination of President Lincoln. Mason also recalls the establishment of a station for the Texas and Pacific Railroad in the area, and her first view of an airplane. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4700.0041.

Mather, George. Accountb0Books, 1782-1845. 4 volumes, 11 items. Location: G:18, MISC:M. Planter of St. James Parish, Louisiana. Account books pertain to plantation expenses, slave labor, sugar, taffia, and cotton. Volume one (1782-1845) contains some entries in French. Volume two relates to Mather's sugar operations and the taffia sold on the German Coast in present-day St. John the Baptist Parish, Louisiana (1798-1832). Entries in volume three contain memos on loans made and payments received (1813-1822). Entries in volume four also note cotton shipments to Liverpool and a letter in French to Tousaint Fauve of La Rochelle, France (1806-1817). Loose items consist of financial papers and three clippings. The collection is also available on UPA Microfilm 5322, (Records of ante-bellum southern plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War. Series I, Selections from Louisiana State University ; pt. 1, Louisiana sugar plantations, reel 8. Mss. 283, 568.

Mather, James. Letter, circa 19th century. Location: Misc. Letter from James Mather to his cousin George Mather, Saint James Parish, La., requests a loan to help him purchase a plantation from Mr. Weeks in the Attakapas District of Louisiana. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 238.

Mather, Joseph. Diary, 1852-1859 (bulk 1855-1856). 1 vol. Location: V:68. Superintendent of Aurora Plantation, St. James Parish, Louisiana. Diary relates the day-by-day activities on a sugar plantation, noting the weather, work done at various times of the year, condition of crops, and health of slaves and stock. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 285.

Mathews, Charles Lewis and family. Papers, 1797-1919 (bulk 1840-1872). 3 linear ft. Location: U:224-227, OS:M. Family of Greenwood Plantation, West Feliciana Parish. Charles Mathews was the son of George and Harriet Flower Mathews, husband of Penelope Stewart. Papers document the family's plantations, managed by women: Greenwood, Georgia (Raceland), Coco Bend, and Chaseland, Rapides Parish. Included are factors' statements, slave records, overseer's letters; freedmen's contracts; and Civil War soldiers' letters. Available (with some omissions) on microfilm: University Publications of America Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 2, Reels 14-17. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 910.

Mathews-Ventress-Lawrason Family Papers, 1770-1934. (bulk 1797-1798; 1820-1933). 3 linear feet. Location: UU: 255-258, OS:M. Families were cotton and sugar planters of West Feliciana, Lafourche, and Pointe Coupee Parishes, Louisiana. 19th century papers reflect planting activities of Mathews family; 20th century materials reflect real estate management and investment activities of the Ventress and Lawrason families. Papers include personal and business correspondence, printed items, newspaper clippings, financial records, and legal documents. Financial papers centering on Harriet Flower Mathews, and records of legal work for Penelope Stewart Mathews. Ventress-Lawrason correspondence primarily addressed to Sallie Mathews Ventress, including series of letters from cousin Mrs. M. M. Slaughter. Also legal documents for land purchased by Sallie Mathews Ventress. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4358.

Maury Brothers. Ledger, 1851-1856. 1 vol. Location: M:20. James and Ruston Maury were New Orleans, Louisiana commission merchants. Ruston Maury conducted company business in Liverpool, New York, Charleston, and Richmond. Ledger records company income, expenses, and accounts of company partners. Accounts of cotton, sugar and corn shipped to England and the northern United States. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4676.

McCall, Henry. Speech, 1899. 1 item; typescript. Location: Misc. Speech, 'History of Evan Hall Plantation,' delivered to the Louisiana Historical Society, New Orleans, Louisiana, gives a brief history of Evan Hall Plantation, Ascension Parish, La., and its original owner, Evan Jones. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 271.

McCollam, Andrew and Ellen. Papers, 1839-1867. 3 vols. [typescript copies]. Location: H:1. Andrew McCollam was a surveyor-planter of Ascension and Assumption parishes, Louisiana. Plantation diary (1842-1851) of Ellen McCollam pertains to family life, domestic activities, general plantation matters, and attendance at the theater. Travel diary (1866-1867) of Andrew McCollam contains entries for a trip to Brazil. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 550.

McCrindell, Thomas. Account book, 1851-1855. 1 vol. Location: J:12. Commission merchant of Bayou Sara, West Feliciana Parish, Louisiana. Daybook listing names of customers and daily expenditures credited to each customer for plantation supplies, storage, and shipping. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 913.

McCutchon, Samuel, 1820-1874. Family Papers, 1832-1890 (bulk 1832-1874). 104 items, 8 vols. (5 ms. vols., 3 printed vols.). Location: U:158, P:19, Misc:M. Manager of Ormond Plantation, Saint Charles Parish, Louisiana, and manager (1866-1874) for the Young, Toledo and Company in Belize, British Honduras. Collection includes diaries documenting the operation and management of the sugar plantation and saw mills. Papers include business letters, record books, inventories, newspapers, broadsides, and plans. Includes papers and descriptions of plantation life in Belize. Available on microfilm 5322: University Publications of America Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 1, Reels 5-6. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1049, 1087, 1060, 1109.

McDaniel-Gill. Letters, 1849-1859. 12 items. Location: Misc.:M. Caroline McDaniel and her planter husband Robert D. Gill. Letters written in Mississippi and Louisiana relate to western emigration, family life, and economic difficulties. The last letter by Gill to Caroline's mother announces his wife's death. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3416.

McDonogh, John. Papers, 1799-1938 (bulk 1801-1850). 3,595 items and 2 printed vols. [typescript copies]. Location: X:63-65. General commission merchant of New Orleans and planter of Jefferson Parish, Louisiana. Papers consist primarily of business records, correspondence (1801-1850) with business associates, commission firms, merchants, planters, tenants and civil authorities. Papers also include personal correspondence, with some letters relating to the American Colonization Society and the Washington National Monument Society. Papers also relate to death, his will and the controversial issues of his estate. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1247.

McGehee, H.T. Papers, 1797-1954, undated (bulk 1870-1914). 2.3 linear feet. Location: X:40-42, OS:Mc. The collection, consisting primarily of financial, legal, and plantation business papers, relates to the H. T. McGehee family in Wilkinson County, Mississippi. Mss. 5213.

McGehee, J. Burruss (John Burruss). Papers, 1816-1951. 18.5 linear ft, 64 volumes. Location: 8:3-12, P:5-6, OS:M. Plantation owner in West Feliciana Parish, Louisiana, and Wilkinson County, Mississippi.Correspondence, business records, and printed items reflect the business ventures in agriculture, railroads, and real estate of John Burruss McGehee, his father, Judge Edward McGehee and his son, James Stewart McGehee. Early papers contain references to slaves and the destruction of Bowling Green Plantation by Union troops. Personal papers and photographs provide a family history and the genealogy of the McGehee and Stewart families. Mss. 1111, 1156, 1157.