Plantations

Turnbull-Bowman-Lyons Family Papers, 1797-1955 (bulk 1820-1910). 3.5 linear ft. Location: C:113-115, OS:T. Sugar and cotton planters with properties in West Feliciana Parish, Iberville Parish, Pointe Coupee Parish, Baton Rouge, and New Orleans, Louisiana. Correspondence, plantation management papers, financial papers, legal documents, personal papers, and printed and graphic materials documenting the lives of members of the Turnbull, Pirrie, Lyons, Bowman, Barrow, Stirling, and Fort families. Correspondence discusses plantation, slave, financial, and social matters, and includes antebellum letters. Available on microfilm 5322: University Publications of America Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 4, Reels 34-38. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4026.

Turner, Edward and family. Papers, 1767-1878 (bulk 1811-1878). 173 items, 1 volume. Location: S:120, OS:T, VAULT:1. Judge and planter of Natchez, Mississippi. Collection includes family correspondence, legal and business papers, plantation documents, poems, photographs, a specimen of currency (1778), and an issue of the newspaper Southern Watch Tower (1843). For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1403.

Turner, Edward, 1778-1860. Family Papers, 1767-1878. 173 items, 1 ms. Vol. Location: S:120. Judge and planter of Natchez, Mississippi. Collection includes family correspondence, legal and business papers, plantation documents, poems, photographs, a specimen of currency (1778), and an issue of the newspaper Southern Watch Tower (1843). For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1403.

Tuttle, Isaac O. Letter, 1840. 1 item. Location: Misc.:T. Resident of or visitor to Franklin, St. Mary Parish, Louisiana. Letter to his cousin Miss Maria E. Seeley, of Fairhaven, Connecticut. Tuttle comments on the social customs of the Southern people, and describes the natural beauty and graciousness of Creole ladies at a plantation ball. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 872.

U. S. Quartermaster Patterson. Letters, 1864-1865. 3 letters. Location: Misc.:U. Quartermaster for the U.S. Army 1st Texas Cavalry during the Civil War. Letters signed “your brother Patterson” tell of duties as U.S quartermaster, the presence of small bands of Confederate troops near Morganza, difficulties in the cotton market, the landscape and local civilians. He describes farmlands and the plantation house occupied by his regiment in West Pascagoula, and he comments on the plantation labor system and freedmen. For further information, see online catalog record. Mss. 5198.

Uncle Sam Plantation papers, 1805-1914 (bulk 1880-1911). 12.5 linear feet, 183 volumes, 6 microfilm reels. Location: UU:217-228, P:11-13, OS:U, MSS.MF:U. Plantation built by Samuel Fagot of St. James Parish, Louisiana, in the 1840s; it produced sugar cane and was known as Constancia Plantation prior to 1864. The plantation store operated circa 1875-1914. Collection includes business records, correspondence, slave and free labor records, and plantation store records and scrip. Later papers include payroll accounts and labor statistics for Cypress Knee Plantation. Some correspondence in French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 408, 602, 1252.

Union soldier Frank Civil War letter, 1863 April 13. 1 item (4 pages). Location: Misc:A. Union soldier's letter from Baton Rouge to his sister Ann relating details of his present situation and his impression of the local population, of Baton Rouge, and of nearby plantations. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3309.

United States. Army. Department of the Gulf. Bureau of Free Labor. Rules and Regulations Governing Colored Labor at Work on the Plantations under Control of the U.S. Government. 1863 March 9. 1 item. Location: EPHEMERA SUBGROUP II. Major General Benjamin Franklin Butler instituted the enlistment of former slaves into the Union army and later established a wage-labor system on sugar plantations. General Superintendent of Negro Labor, George H. Hanks, was charged with overseeing that wage-labor rules were observed on working plantations. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4822.

Ventress Brothers account books, 1900-1901. 2 ms. Vols. Location: J:12. Residents of Woodville, Wilkinson County, Mississippi. James Alexander Ventress married Sallie Mathews of Greenwood plantation, West Feliciana Parish, Louisiana, where these account books were found.. Ledgers contain accounts for Caledonia, Lake Home, and Longwood plantations of Pointe Coupee Parish. The flyleaves of both volumes bear the inscription "Ventress Brothers, Pointe Coupee Property, Ventress and Fordeche Post Office, "Caledonia," "Lake Home," "Longwood," Interior of Island, etc., Pointe Coupee Parish, Louisiana." Mss. 910.

Vincent-David Papers, 1831-1881. 222 items. Location: C: 48. Cotton planters of Pointe Coupee Parish, La. Personal and business papers of Jean Vincent and Jean Baptiste David, of Fausse Rivierre Plantation, consist of financial papers, bills for medical services and correspondence from commission merchants. In French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1203.

Viosca, Percy, Jr. Photograph collection, circa 1920-1960. 904 black and white negatives; 782 gelatin silver prints; 259 resin coated paper prints. Location: 145:56-57. While employed by the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries, Percy Viosca documented the coastal Louisiana landscape between 1921 and 1932. He traveled the state for his work that included mosquito control; riparian and marshland studies; flood control; taxonomic work with native Louisiana irises, newts, and snakes; culture of crawfish; and environmental impact of oil refinery practices. The images in this collection document locations on or near the Louisiana coast and a few sites inland. All images refer to water quality, water control, or environmental conditions affecting water quality. Mss. 4948.

W.P.A. Louisiana Historical Records Survey Police Jury Minutes Transcriptions, 1811-1941 206 linear feet on 581 reels. Typed, printed, and handwritten transcriptions of Police Jury minutes and ordinances for 60 of 64 Louisiana parishes. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2984.

Wade, B. Account sheet, 1870. 1 item. Location: Misc.:W. Merchant of Natchez, Mississippi. Statement of account from Wade for T. C. Reddy, Cottage Grove Plantation. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 896.

Wade, B. Account sheet, 1870. 1 item. Location: Misc.:W. Merchant of Natchez, Miss. Statement showing account of T. C. Reddy of Cottage Grove Plantation with B. Wade. For more information, see online catalog. Mss. 896.

Wailes, Benjamin L. C. (Benjamin Leonard Covington). Notebook, 1849. 1 vol. Location: M:20. Scientist and planter, chiefly remembered for his interest in soil, rocks, fossils, plants and animal life. Wailes assisted in building collections at Jefferson College, the University of Mississippi, and the Mississippi state capital. List of minerals in the cabinet of Benjamin Wailes. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 186.

Wall-Pettibone Family Papers, 1795-1889. 15 items. Location: A:122. John Wall, an early settler in the Spanish district of Natchez, received land granted by the Spanish in 1795. This land became Richland Plantation in Wilkinson County, Mississippi, later owned by Chauncey Pettibone. The papers document the land ownership of the Wall and Pettibone families. Included is the marriage license of Evans S. Wall and Mary L. Pettibone. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3344.

Walsh, Antonio Patrick. Papers, 1789-1826 (bulk 1820-1823). 632 items, 2 vols. Location: A:71-72. Soldier in Europe and colonial Louisiana, and a planter in West Feliciana Parish, Louisiana. Personal and business papers reflecting Walsh's military service and life as a planter. Partly in Spanish. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 887.

Walsh, Henry Hicky. Papers, 1841-1892, 1941. 9 items. Location: OS:W. Prominent New Orleans lawyer and grandson of Philip Hicky of Hope Estate Plantation, Baton Rouge. Papers consists of correspondence relating to family matters; certificate for land purchased by Armoigene Crochet and Senfroid Chedotale of Assumption Parish, Louisiana (Oct. 6, 1841); academic paper on classical literature (1854); commission from Governor Thomas O. Moore to Walsh for an appointment as 2nd lieutenant of the Pargoud Volunteers, Louisiana Militia (1861); newspaper picture of Hope Plantation; Walsh's diploma from University of Louisiana (1861); and obituary of Henry Hicky Walsh (1892). For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1622.

Walworth, Douglas. Family Papers, 1806-1881 (bulk 1850- 1881). 189 items; 10 ms. vols. Location: U:234. 99:W, Misc.: W, O:21. Planter, attorney and Confederate Army captain from Natchez, Mississippi. Alexander Gordon was a Scottish immigrant to New Orleans, Louisiana. Correspondence includes letters from Walworth's parents while he was at Harvard University. His diaries describe his childhood, study and student life, and Confederate military experiences. Civil War papers concern Confederate military administration. Gordon family papers include documents on the estates of James Gordon and his wife, family correspondence, the American naturalization certificate of Alexander Gordon, and Alexander's diary. Available (with some omissions) on microfilm 5735: University Publications of America Confederate Military Manuscripts Series B, Reels 20-21. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2471, 2499.

Wartelle, Ferdinand M. Ledger, 1878-1896. 1 vol. (on microfilm). Location: Mss. Mf.:W. Planter of Moundville Plantation, Washington, St. Landry Parish, Louisiana. Plantation ledger records wages paid to field hands, debts and earnings of tenant farmers, and purchases made by hands or tenants at a plantation store. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2650.