Plantations
This guide describes manuscript collections documenting plantation society and economy in the Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections (LLMVC) at LSU. The plantation records and personal papers of planters, factors, merchants, and others whose livelihood came from plantations provide a wealth of documentation supporting research in plantation economy, slavery, and the social history of Southern landholding elites.
The collections described below touch upon all facets of plantation life. They include the papers of tutors, preachers, lawyers, and doctors who provided services to planters. They include the letters of Northerners who visited plantations in the antebellum period and wrote home about them, and those of Union soldiers who marched past plantations and sometimes plundered them. While the majority of collections are from the prewar years, there are substantial holdings on postbellum plantations as well. The sugar and cotton plantation records in LLMVC are among its most noteworthy and famed collections, and among the earliest collections that LSU acquired.
|
Hicky, Philip and Family. Papers, 1769-1901 (bulk 1769-1835). 20 items, 1 letter file book, 1 microfilm reel. Location: VAULT:8, OS:H, MSS.MF:H. Planter and colonel of East Baton Rouge Parish. Unbound and bound (in a letter file book) personal and official papers of Philip Hicky and the Hicky family. Papers pertain chiefly to the West Florida controversy and the Battle of New Orleans but also pertain to family matters and family history of the Hicky family. Some items pertain to the Walsh and Morgan families. Mss. 2007, 2035. Referenced in Guides: Spanish, Sugar, Politics, Plantations, New Orleans to 1861, Transportation, Women, Education, Business, Baton Rouge, African Americans, French
|
|
|
Hicky, Philip. Letter, 1815 February 28. 1 item [photocopy]. Location: MISC:H. Planter of Hope Estate Plantation, East Baton Rouge Parish, Louisiana. Letter from Hicky to Major Charles Tessier concerning the latter's appointment to the office of East Baton Rouge Parish judge. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2704. Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Baton Rouge
|
|
|
Hilliard, Isaac H. (Isaac Henry) and family. Papers, 1756-1924 (bulk 1845-1920). 173 items, 12 volumes. Location: E:50, H:21, OS:H. Isaac Hillard was a planter of Grand Lake, Chicot County, Arkansas. The Hillard family were merchants in Grand Lake Arkansas, Collection includes legal papers, correspondence, cashbooks, and diaries that document the personal, agricultural, and business activities of the Hilliard family. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1236, 1347. Referenced in Guides: Plantations, Business
|
|
|
Hilliard, Isaac H. (Isaac Henry), Mrs. Diary, 1849-1860 (bulk 1849-1850). 1 vol. Location: U:239, Mss. Mf:H. Wife of Isaac H. Hilliard, plantation owner of Grand Lake, Chicot County, Arkansas, originally of Henry County, Kentucky. Mrs. Hilliard was related by marriage to Leonidas Polk. Diary depicts plantation life from an affluent woman's perspective, describing family holidays, social occasions, steamboat travel, and trips to Louisiana, Mississippi, and Kentucky. Includes her son's expenses at Kentucky Military Institute (1866). Available on microfilm 5750: University Publications of America Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century: Papers and Diaries Series E, Reel 13. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 178, 762. |
|
|
Hillin, James. Document, 1791. 1 item. Location: Misc. Planter in the District of Baton Rouge, Louisiana. Will of James Hillin, planter in the District of Baton Rouge, La., and the attestation.. In Spanish. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 179. |