Plantations

A. Bell and Company. Papers, 1835, 1836. 2 items. Location: Misc.:B. Cotton broker of New York City. Letters from factors at Petersburg, Virginia, and Fayetteville, North Carolina, regarding the cotton market and amount of cotton expected from Tennessee and North Alabama. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2356.

A. Ledoux and Company. Record book, 1856-1857. 1 volume (110 pages). Location: W:53. Plantation record book kept by Samuel Leigh and Lewis F. Pulliam, overseers of the sugar plantation owned by A. Ledoux and Company, Pointe Coupee Parish, Louisiana. Available on microfilm 5322: University Publications of America Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 1, Reel 9. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 964.

Abraham Bell & Co. Letters and receipts, 1841-1844. 5 items. Location: Misc:A. Quaker-owned shipping merchant company of New York City, with business interests in New Orleans, Louisiana. Two receipts document cotton purchased in , for Abraham Bell & Co. One letter discusses American and English cotton and freight prices, and social matters. A bill of lading and a letter document the shipment of personal goods from New York. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4675.

Acadia Plantation records, 1809-2004 (bulk 1940-1979). 49 linear ft., 30 volumes, 8 rolls. Location: 93:7-30; J:4; 75:; MAP CAGE (UNNUMBERED CASE); 1 NORTH (ON TOP OF MICROFILM CABINET). A working sugar plantation, Acadia Plantation of Lafourche Parish, Louisiana is comprised of three major properties originally known as Acadia Plantation, St. Brigitte Plantation, and Evergreen Plantation. It was acquired in 1875 by Edward J. Gay, became the residence of Representative Andrew and Mrs. Anna Gay Price. Records are comprised of correspondence, financial and legal documents, printed items, volumes, maps, plats, and photographs. Papers document business and legal affairs of the plantation owners and operators, as well as plantation operations such as sugar cane farming, the crops of tenant farmers on the property, and the planning and development of the plantation lands throughout the 19th and 20th centuries. Mss. 4906.

Account book, 1796-1799. 1 ms. vol., 1 mf reel. Location: Vault, Mss. Mf.:A. New Orleans, Louisiana, merchant. Account book recording names and accounts of customers. In French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1054.

Acy, William, b. 1822. Papers, 1844-1909. 2 linear ft. (655 items; 18 ms. Vols., 39 printed vols.). Location: E:1-2, F:1. Justice of the Peace in Ascension Parish, Louisiana, and plantation owner in Carroll County, Mississippi. Personal, legal, and financial papers; personal letters concern mainly relatives and friends in Baltimore, Maryland. Papers also include photographs, newspapers, and other printed items. Collection includes letters on legal matters from Francis T. Nicholls, governor of Louisiana and chief justice of the state Supreme Court. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 717, 722.

Adams, Israel L., 1801-1860. Family Papers, 1813-1890 (bulk 1852-1866). 0.5 linear ft. (505 items, 1 ms. Vol.). Location: Y:83, Mss. Mf.:A, E:Imprints. Merchant and farmer of Natchez, Mississippi. Collection consists of correspondence, bills, receipts, and printed items. Letters of the Adams children and others describe the Civil War in Arkansas and Mississippi. Some letters describe experiences of an immigrant cotton farmer in Sao Paulo, Brazil; other papers relate to German immigrants. Some letters in German. Available (with some omissions) on microfilm 5735: University Publications of America Confederate Military Manuscripts Series B, Reel 1. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3637.

Affleck, Thomas. Papers, 1807-1935 (bulk 1842-1868). 12 linear feet, 43 manuscript volumes, 6 printed volumes, 26 microfilm reels. Location: W:110-121, J:25, OS:A, MSS.MF:A. Native of Scotland who established one of the first commercial nurseries in the South and published widely on scientific and agricultural subjects. He also published the Southern Rural Almanac and Plantation Garden Calendar from 1845 to the 1860s. Early papers concern Affleck's family in Scotland. Papers from 1842 to 1859 pertain to the management of Affleck's wife's plantation near Natchez, Mississippi, his commercial nursery, and his service as agricultural editor of several newspapers. Civil War letters by Affleck's sons describe battles, camp life, and troop movements. Post-Civil War papers describe Affleck's agricultural and speculative enterprises. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3, 4, 1110, 1263, 1264.

Afton Villa journals and reports, 1976-2008. 7 v. Location: A:78. Genevieve Munson Trimble and her husband, Morrell Feltus Trimble, purchased the remains of Afton Villa, an antebellum mansion with gardens near St. Francisville, La., in 1972. The collection consists of color copies of three bound journals kept by Genevieve Trimble recording the restoration of the Afton Villa gardens, a history of Afton Villa by Genevieve Trimble, and three bound volumes of consultant's reports by Neil G. Odenwald. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 5009.

Alabama cotton sales and shipping statements collection, 1834-1927. 53 items. Location: A:55. Collection consisting of statements from cotton factors of Mobile, Alabama, which show freight and related charges for handling and commissions. Included are waybills for the steamers Magnolia, Lucy E. Gastrell, Hard Cash, and Nettie Quill. Also included is a manifest for the steamer Peri. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1717.

Alexander, James M. Letter, 1836 May 7. 1 letter. Location: Misc.:A. James M. Alexander, an overseer in Clinton, Ala., writes Edward B.D. Sloan in Sloansville, Mecklenburg County, N.C., about their friendship, farming, and land prices. Mss. 3964.

Allen, Henry Watkins, 1820-1866. Letter and related photograph, 1864 July 6. 2 items. Location: Misc:A. Lawyer of Mississippi who served in both the Mississippi and Louisiana legislatures. Allen served in the 4th Louisiana Regiment during the Civil War and was Confederate governor of Louisiana in 1864. Letter from Allen to William F. Lockwood, keeper of machinery of the Louisiana State Penitentiary, authorizes Lockwood to loan penitentiary looms to cotton planters in eastern Louisiana and includes instructions for loaning the looms. Included is a photograph of Lockwood. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2867.

Allendale Plantation Records, 1900-1996. 12 v. Location: 6:64-65, U:1. Henry Watkins Allen, the 17th governor of Louisiana established Allendale sugar plantation in West Baton Rouge Parish. In 1882, John and Martin James Kahao purchased the plantation, and their family successfully operated the plantation for most of the 20th century. The collection contains correspondence, minutes, labor records, and financial and legal documents. Papers also include brief histories of Allendale Plantation and the Kahao family. Photographs are comprised of family members, plantation buildings, plantation workers, and the cane fields. Mss. 3824.

Allyn, William B. Letter, 1862 Nov. 25. 1 item. Location: Misc:A. William B. Allyn was a Federal officer serving in Louisiana during the Civil War. Written from Camp Stevens, near Thibodaux, Lafourche Parish, Louisiana, Allyn's letter describes the surrounding countryside, the Federal policy toward captured Confederate sugar, and social relations with local planters. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2941.

Alston, Solomon. Etate Document, 1809 April 27. 1 item. Location: C:61. Planter of West Feliciana Parish, Louisiana. Deed of manumission giving a female slave to Maria Ana Gray, niece of Solomon Alston. Conditions were outlined in Alston's will. In Spanish. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1209.

Anderson McNutt. Estate Papers, 1868-1895. 42 items. Location: 32:81. Planter of Rapides Parish, Louisiana, and brother of Mississippi governor A. G. McNutt. Records of the disposition of McNutt's estate describe the founding of Vicksburg, Mississippi, and early Mississippi politicians; family history; and economic and political difficulties of Reconstruction. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4187.

Anderson, Harrod C. (Harrod Clopton). Papers. 1849-1888 (bulk 1885-1887). 6 items, 3 volumes. Location: F:1, Misc:A. Planter of Magnolia, Haywood County, Tennessee. Papers include a cashbook, photoprints, and diaries which discuss opinions on philosophical, religious, political, and Civil War issues. Available (with some omissions) on microfilm 5322: University Publications of America Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 2, Reel 20. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 8, 490, 539.

Anderson, John Q., Papers, 1848-1993 (bulk 1953-1973). 7.5 linear ft., 5 v. Location: X:119-125, OS:A, P:17. John Q. Anderson was a professor of English and a writer of Southern history and folklore. This collections of files, correspondence, printed material, and photographs reflect Anderson's career, current events; and they provide research material for his publications, particularly "Brokenburn: The Journal of Kate Stone, 1861-1868" and "Louisiana Swamp Doctor: The Life of Henry Clay Lewis". For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2156, 2162.

Andrew Jackson account, ca. 1840, undated 1 item. Location: Misc.:J President of the United States, 1828-1836. Anonymous manuscript apparently submitted to a periodical for publication describes a visit to Jackson's Tennessee home, the Hermitage. The writer discusses the location and appearance of the plantation and Jackson's health, interests, and family. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3212.

Andry, M. T. (Michel Thomassin), 1811-ca. 1871. Family Papers, 1840-1882 (bulk 1858-1879). 0.3 linear ft. (199 items). Location: UU:66. Sugar planter of St. John the Baptist and St. Charles parishes, Louisiana, and resident of New Orleans. Collection includes correspondence and legal and financial papers. Letters received by Andry's daughter Rosa from his sons describe their participation in the Battle of Shiloh, campaigns in Kentucky, and skirmishes at Camp Beauregard in the Civil War. Partly in French. Available on microfilm 5735: University Publications of America Confederate Military Manuscripts Series B, Reel 1. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1318.

Anonymous cashbooks (K), 1867-1902. 3 volumes. Location: F:2. Accounts for a general store in West Feliciana Parish, Louisiana. Entries list the names of many of the prominent planters in the area and include some plantation records. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 848.

Anonymous Confederate civilian letters, 1863 August 27-29. 2 items. Location: Misc:A Pages from a letter-diary of a plantation owner, possibly the wife of a Confederate soldier, recording daily activities, local news, plantation work, and slave health. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2997.

Anonymous letter, 1807. 1 item. Location: Misc:A. Plantation letter from a Natchez, Mississippi, planter to a brother living in the East, outlining the favorable economic conditions for plantation owners in the Natchez area. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1658.

Anonymous planter ledger, 1848-1849. 1 volume. Location: Misc:A. Plantation ledger, possibly kept by Abraham Lobdell, a West Baton Rouge Parish, Louisiana planter. Ledger records payments for services, goods, and taxes on land. Included are entries recording slave births and deaths, medical bills, gifts to the Protestant Episcopal Church, and goods sold to slaves on credit. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2905.

Arceneaux, Alexander. Papers, 1839-1895, undated 133 items. Location: C:68. Cotton planter of Port Barre, St. Landry Parish, Louisiana, along with his son-in-law, Louis Fuselier. Papers consist of receipts for parish and state taxes, medical services, food supplies, and for recording brands for cattle. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1319.

Ashland Plantation record book, 1852. 1 vol. Location: M:19. W. C. Wade was an overseer of Ashland Plantation, Ascension Parish, Louisiana. Ashland Plantation was owned by the sugar planter and politician, Duncan Farrar Kenner (1813-1887). Record book containing daily entries which describe activities on Ashland Plantation. Available on microfilm 5322: University Publications of America Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 1, Reel 13. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 534.

Ashton Plantation auction broadside, 1859 December 8. 1 item. Location: EPHEMERA COLLECTION SUBGROUP III. Cotton plantation in East Carroll Parish, Louisiana, consisting of 1,800 acres on Bayou Macon and the Mississippi River. It was owned by Dr. William Webb Wilkins until his death (ca. 1859) after which it was auctioned to help settle his succession. Broadside printed to advertise the public auction of Ashton Plantation, which was ordered by the Fourth Judicial Court of St. James Parish, where Wilkins' estate was probably settled. The item briefly describes the real and personal property to be sold. Also listed on the broadside to be sold are ninety-eight slaves and their ages. Available on microfilm 5322: University Publications of America Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 1, Reel 10. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3729.

Assumption Parish records, 1841-1920 (bulk 1841-1891). 84 items. Location: U:6, 98:. Miscellaneous legal papers stating the value of a sugar plantation and slaves, with a copy of a lease for a house, lot, and billiard table in Napoleonville, La. (1841); subpoenas in a legal suit concerning St. Elizabeth Church (1852); and a broadside titled "Synopsis of Steamboat Laws" (1867). A printed invitation to attend a meeting of the Republican Executive Committee in Donaldsonville (1887), a broadside of the regular Democratic ticket for delegates to the state nomination convention and Assumption Parish officials (1891), and issues of The Assumption Pioneer (January 23, February 13, 27, 1909) are included. Mss. 14.

Avart, Valentine Robert. Document, 1806. 1 item. Location: Misc.:A. Notarized copy of a land conveyance for a plantation sold by V. Robert Avart to Lancelot Pearson at public auction. The plantation near New Orleans was given to receivers by its former owner, Charles Latours. In French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 18.

Bacon, Edmund, 1776-1826. Letters, 1802-1820. 14 items. Location: B:16. Virginia native, lawyer, and cotton planter educated in Augusta, Georgia, and Litchfield, Connecticut. He settled in Savannah, then moved to Edgefield, South Carolina. Letters to Bacon's sister Agnes and her husband Colonel Joseph Pannill of Loftus Heights, Mississippi, pertaining to legal, business, and agricultural matters; family and local news; difficulties with Creek Indians in the area; and travel. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2178.

Badin, Norbert. Papers, 1829-1937 (bulk 1870-1890). 2 linear ft. Location: U:97-98, OS:B, MICROFICHE 2729. Free African American planter from the Cane River settlement of Melrose, Natchitoches Parish, Louisiana, an area that was home to a large community of freedmen. Personal and business papers document Badin's activities as a planter, and include family correspondence, a journal, an account book, and miscellaneous printed items. Some items in French and Spanish. Available on microfilm 6061: University Publications of America Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration, Series B, Part 2, Reel 1. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 825.

Badley Family papers, 1834-1940, undated (bulk 1845-1865). 0.3 linear feet. Location: W:2, OS:B, F:2. Badley family, plantation owners in Port Hudson and East Baton Rouge Parish. Personal papers and printed items document their plantations, landholding, and political and professional activities. Works Progress Administration manuscripts collection notes and botanical specimen books are also present. For further information see online catalog. Mss. 3062.

Bagatelle Plantation. Cotton Record Book, 1879. 1 ms. vol. Location: H:20. Plantation owned by Benjamin Tureaud. Record book documents cotton production at Bagatelle Plantation, October to December, 1879. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 19.

Bailey, Albert. Account books, 1838-1847. 11 vols. Location: G:2. General merchant and cotton buyer of Clinton, East Feliciana Parish, Louisiana. Cashbooks, daybooks, a journal, ledgers, and a record book record Bailey's accounts. Also recorded are accounts of the Clinton Artillery Company and the newspaper Feliciana Whig. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1100.

Baines, Henry. Papers, 1796-1905. 184 items. Location: C:55, 65:, MSS.MF:LESTER, GEORGE M. Planter of Bains, West Feliciana Parish, Louisiana, and a member of London's Royal College of Surgeons. Baines was related to the McDermott and Maynard families. Collection contains papers and letters of the Baines, McDermott, and Maynard families related to the cotton trade, medical education, the Civil War, and financial dealings. Includes a Spanish land grant of West Feliciana Parish, Louisiana. Available (with some omissions) on microfilm 5735: University Publications of America Confederate Military Manuscripts Series B, Reel 1. Part of the George M. Lester Collection. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1209.

Baker, Sarah. Oral history interview, 1974. 2 sound cassettes. Location: L:4700.2. Sarah Baker was born and raised on the Magee Plantation in Woodville, Wilkinson County, Mississippi, and was 113 years old at the time of the interview, which discusses plantation life and the end of the Civil War. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4700.2.

Baldwin & Co. Records, 1879-1928. 7 vols. Location: G:22. Plantation store of Old Johnson Plantation in Baldwin, Louisiana. Ledgers, receipt book, payroll accounts, and records of cane produced for John Baldwin and Baldwin & Co. Available on microfilm 6061: University Publications of America Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration, Series B, Part 3, Reel 4. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4597.

Balmer Plantation account, 1778-1782. 1 item (13 pages). Location: Misc.:B Indigo plantation located at Mirebalois, Haiti. Receipts and expenditures made by the manager of the plantation, and prepared by the firm of J. M. Leremboure, Lassale, and Company, representatives of Mr. Balmer on the island. In French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2270.

Bannon, Lois Elmer. Research Papers, 1983 ca. .5 linear ft. (115 items). Location: U:154, Misc:B. Papers pertaining to the history, structure, and National Register nomination of Magnolia Mound Plantation and the history of the Louisiana State Penitentiary, both in Baton Rouge. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2810.

Barbier, Charles. Correspondence, 1806-1831. 11 items [photocopies]. Location: Misc:B. Planter in Assumption Parish, Louisiana. Letters discuss family matters, planting conditions in Lafourche and Assumption parishes, and social and economic conditions in France. In French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2831.

Barrow, Abram Feltus and Family. Papers, 1804-1982. 6 linear ft. Location: 7:60-62, G:11, OS:B, Vault:1, Vault:36. The Barrow family moved to Nuevo Feliciana (now in Louisiana) in 1799 and built several plantation houses there. Papers document the business interests of the Barrow family and their involvement with various fraternal orders. Records of the People's Bank, St. Francisville, and the Creole Oil and Mineral Co. reflect the involvement of the Barrow and Leake families. Photographs depict family members and fraternal gatherings. Also included are records of St. John's Church, West Feliciana Parish, Louisiana. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3696, 3745.

Barrow, Bartholomew, 1836-1869. Family collection of sheet music, 1848-1891 (bulk 1861-1874). 4 items, 3 vols. Location: Range 65. Planter of Eldorado Plantation, a sugar plantation in Pointe Coupee Parish, Louisiana. Collection of bound and loose vocal and piano sheet music collected by Barrow and his family. Some compositions in French, German, and Italian. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1379.

Barrow, Bennet H. Diary, 1833-1846. 1 volume. Location: Vault:9, W:24, Mss. Mf.:B. Cotton planter and owner of Highland Plantation in West Feliciana Parish, La. Diary reflects the management of Highland Plantation. Entries offer information on the cotton crop, weather conditions, personal activities, and treatment of slaves, specifically discipline and health care. Included are slave lists giving names and birth dates, and some financial records. Original volume housed in vault. Please use microfilm or typed transcription. Mss. 2978-2014.

Barrow, W. M. and family. Papers, 1847-1874, undated. 0.1 linear ft. Location: U:7. St. Francisville, Louisiana, merchant. Letters by Willie Macajah Barrow (1810-1853) and Civil War diary and letters of his son, Willie Macajah Barrow (1843-1863) reflecting economic and family life on a plantation in West Feliciana Parish. Available on microfilm 5322: University Publications of America Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 4, Reel 6. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 574.

Bass-Farrar Family Papers, 1827-1918, undated (bulk 1830-1867). 0.5 linear ft. Location: R:41, OS:B, VAULT:1. Papers of the Bass, Farrar, and Richardson families from Tensas Parish, La., and vicinity. Primarily includes correspondence, legal documents, and financial records related to family matters, plantation management, life along the Mississippi River, the Civil War, and slavery. Mss. 4907.

Batchelor family papers, 1852-1922. 124 items (on microfilm). Location:Mss. Mf.:B. Papers are comprised of family letters, plantation and business papers, family succession papers, and material related to an Episcopal Church. A letter from Sarah E. Archer describes a Jewish wedding, ca. 1901. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1293.

Batchelor, Albert A. (Albert Agrippa). Papers, 1852-1930 (bulk 1870-1900). 27 linear ft., 41 volumes. Location: S:143-170, J:13, 98:B, OS:B. Personal and business papers, correspondence, diaries, and account books pertain principally to local events, and the operation and management of several plantations in Pointe Coupee Parish, including Bella Vista Plantation, Lakeside Plantation, Phoenix Plantation, Highland Plantation, and Normandy Plantation. Early letters among Batchelor family members describe conditions at the Kentucky Military Institute and the Silliman Female Collegiate Institute, and mention events such as slave insurrections and military operations. Several letters describe Civil War battles, including the 1862 Battle of Kernstown and the 1863 battles of Gettysburg and Chancellorsville. Available on microfilm 5735 and 6061: Records of southern plantations from emancipation to the Great Migration, Series B, Selections from Louisiana State University, pt. 5, Louisiana sugar plantations, reels 1-15; Confederate Military Manuscripts, Series B, Holdings of Louisiana State University, reels 1-2. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 919.

Batchelor, Ruth Ker. Batchelor-Nutt collection, 1835-1960. 24 items, 2 vols. Location: B:46, F:16. James Batchelor was a planter and legislator of Amite County, Mississippi. Rushwell Nutt, his father-in-law, of Laurel Hill Plantation in Jefferson County, Mississippi, was a planter, physician, scientist, and world traveler. Collection includes papers, photographs, and ephemera of the Nutt and Batchelor families and the Davenport family of Louisiana. Letters include local and family news, and one letter describes teaching in Texas schools. Included are trade card scrapbooks of 19th century companies, and an article (1960) on Beech Grove Plantation in Amite County, Mississippi. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3018.

Bateman, Mannah W. Family Papers, 1840-1879. 439 items on 1 microfilm reel. Location: Mss.Mf:B. Louisiana planter of Avalon Plantation. Correspondence, receipts, legal papers, and other items related to Mannah W. Bateman and family, and to their management of Avalon. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3332.

Bateman, Mary. Diary, 1856. 1 vol. [typed transcripts]. Location: M:19. Young girl living with relatives at Argyle Plantation, near Greenville, Mississippi. Diary gives personal observations of local plantation social life. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 661.

Bayou Attanobe land grant, 1828. 1 item. Location: E:Imprints. Official printed pamphlet giving the report of The Committee on Public Lands...on the case of Ebenezer Cooley; a land dispute concerning a plot on the Mississippi River in Louisiana settled as an indigo plantation in 1767. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3365.

Beech Grove Plantation house photograph. 1 item. Location: 32:81. Mss. 4048.

Beech Grove Plantation home photograph, circa 1900-1950. 1 photographic print. Location: 65:5. This photograph is a copy print of the Beech Grove Plantation home near St. Gabriel, La. Mss. 4048.

Behrnes, J. P. (J. Polite), b. 1829. Journal, 1853-1893 (bulk 1853-1880). 1 v. Location: Misc. This journal of J.P. Behrnes of Irene Plantation in East Baton Rouge Parish, La., records rains; temperatures; and the planting, cultivation, harvesting, and yields of cotton and other crops. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4335.

Belmont Plantation scrip, undated 8 items. Location: Misc.:B. Plantation in Iberia Parish, Louisiana. Scrip money used in exchange for merchandise at the plantation store. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2584.

Bennett, Ezra. Family Papers, 1818-1881. 217 items [on microfilm]. Location: Mss.Mf:B. Planter and storekeeper of Cheneyville, Rapides Parish, Louisiana. Papers include letters written from Port Hudson and Camp Pratt, Louisiana, during the Civil War. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2896.

Bennett, George W. Account books and papers, 1838-1917. 16 linear ft., 346 vols. Location: W:71-87, 89; O:6-13; OS:B. Merchant, postmaster, sugar and cotton planter of Rapides Parish, Louisiana. Papers records comprised of correspondence, ledgers, daybooks, journals, receipts, leases, agreements, labor contracts with freedmen, invoice books, record books, stock inventories, and other items relating to Bennett's commercial interests. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1010.

Benson family. Papers, 1775-1969, undated. 2,790 items, 27 volumes (on 11 microfilm reels). Location: E:105, MSS.MF:B. Cotton planters of DeSoto Parish, Louisiana. Letters, documents, and plantation diaries reflect plantation economy, the administration of secondary schools, the history and administration of the Baptist Church, and civilian and military participation in the Civil War. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2424, 2440.

Berbice Colony slave records, 1826-1827. 3 items, 1 microfilm reel. Location: OS:B, Mss.Mf:B. Deed of arrangement between owners of three sugar plantations in Berbice (Guyana), and lists of slaves attached to the plantations as of October 20, 1826, citing names, ages, employment, places of birth, and distinguishing marks. Also listed are children born to slave mothers on the plantations (1819-1826) with names, dates of birth, ages, and names of mothers noted. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2934.

Bertrand, Charles, Jr. Papers, 1866-1928. 728 items, 38 ms. vols. and 1 printed vol. Location: UU:141, H:14. Planter of Cloutierville, Natchitoches Parish, Louisiana. Business papers and records of Charles Bertrand, Jr., and family documents (1676-1884) of members of the family in Couches-les-Mines, France. Partly in French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 840, 867, 978.