Plantations

Louisiana postal cards, undated 2 items. Location: E:Imprints. Postcards of a crawfish race at Breaux Bridge, Louisiana; and of Kolb's Restaurant in New Orleans. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2600.

Louisiana Postcard Collection, 1904-1951. 507 items. Location: E:65 (short shelf). Postcards depict subjects, especially churches, schools, and some plantations in towns and regions of Louisiana. Louisiana towns and regions best represented in the collection include Abita Springs, Alexandria, Baton Rouge, Bogalusa, Convent, Covington, Donaldsonville, Franklin, Hammond, Houma, Jennings, Lake Charles, Mandeville, Monroe, Morgan City, New Orleans, Plaquemine, Saint Francisville, Shreveport, and Thibodaux. Included is a photograph depicting three women in front of a plantation house. The photograph is labeled "Alice Emilie Knapp, Forrest Home." For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3645.

Louisiana Sugar Planters Association. Papers, 1877-1917.1 linear ft. Location: U:212-213, G:16. Sugar planters' association based in New Orleans. Correspondence pertains to meetings; statistics on production; cane cutting machine; Spanish, Italian, and German immigrants working as plantation laborers; and supervisors and funding needed for a molasses refining test. Papers include articles reviewed by the association, including N. A. Helmer's "Evaporation in Multiple Effects" (June 1907). Material includes a minute book (1877-1891), a bill for membership in he American Protective Tariff League (1908) and letters relating to the Association's dues and resignations. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 266, 1492.

Lowry, K. B. Notice, 1862. 1 item. Location: Misc. Union lieutenant commander of the U.S. Gunboat Sciota in the Civil War. Copy of a public notice issued by Lowry threatening summary justice on James Humphreys or any member 'of his band of guerrillas' damaging the property of Mrs. Burbank, St. John the Baptist Parish, Louisiana. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 753.

Loyd, Gladys Means and family. Papers, 1904-1975. 462 items, 10 volumes. Location: UU:215, P:18, 98:L. Schoolteacher of Ida (Caddo Parish) and St. Joseph (Tensas Parish), Louisiana. Papers include correspondence and genealogical notes on Ida, Louisiana, families; photograph albums on plantations, including Hundred Oaks Plantation in Baton Rouge; and scrapbooks on the history of Ida and Tensas Parish. Collection also includes ledgers of the Ida Hardware Store owned by James Taylor Means. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3224.

LSU Libraries: Louisiana collection photographs, 1862-1971. 624 items. Location: 11:6, OS:L. This collection contains photographic prints and some picture postcards of city buildings, plantation buildings, and other structures in several Louisiana cities and parishes, especially New Orleans and Baton Rouge. Mss. 4262.

Lyons, Henry A. Papers, 1829, 1834-1877. 611 items, 1 ms. Vol. Location: UU:106. Lawyer of St. Francisville, Louisiana, associate justice of the Supreme Court of California (1840); third husband of Eliza Pirrie Bowman of Oakley Plantation, West Feliciana Parish, Louisiana. Papers contain personal, legal, and financial records pertaining to Lyons' work as a lawyer in Louisiana (1829-1849); a supreme court justice in California (1850-1852); and his personal and business affairs in Louisiana, California, and France (1852-1877). His papers include his address to the first term of the Supreme Court of California. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1382.

Macarty, Jno. (John). Family Papers, 1764-1935 (bulk 1764-1837). 9 items. Location: B:50. Native of France and resident of New Orleans. Macarty owned a plantation home near New Orleans which was used by Andrew Jackson as a field headquarters in 1815. Papers pertain to the estate of John Macarty and include a forty-page inventory of the contents of his New Orleans residence and the Macarty plantation home. Also included is a roll of the Royal Legion of the Mississippi Militia (ca. 1798). In French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 270, 496.

MacKowen, John C. (John Clay). Papers, 1846-1966 (bulk 1897-1901). 103 items, 3 printed vols. Location: E:54; OS:M. Planter and physician of Jackson, Louisiana, and owner of a property in Anacapri, Italy. Letters concern the education of John MacKowen and his brothers in New England schools, MacKowen's Confederate service during the Civil War, the education of African Americans by plantation women, and the MacKowen property in Italy. Some letters and papers in Italian and French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2465.

Macrery, Andrew. Papers, 1793-1855. 46 items. Location: S:121. Planter of Natchez, Mississippi, and owner of Roseland and Springfield plantations. Family correspondence concerns social life, health, and medical practices. Available on microfilm 5322: University Publications of America Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 3, Reels 10-11. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1403.

Madewood Plantation titles and deeds, 1816-1906. 1 ms. vol. [on 1 microfilm]. Location: Mss. Mf.:M. Plantation located in Assumption Parish, Louisiana. Copies of titles and deeds to Madewood Plantation record transfers of land ownership to the Pugh family and later through successions within the family. Filed in the online catalog under Titles and deeds of Madewood Plantation. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2924.

Magill, David Weeks. Records, 1859-1861. Two items. Location: Misc.:W. Planter of St. Martin Parish, La., and grandson of David Weeks of Iberia Parish, La. Accounts for the purchase of household items, clothing, postage, and a gun, gun powder, gun wads and caps. Mss. 5267.

Magnolia Mound sale document, 1837, 1841. 2 items [photocopies]. Location: Misc. Plantation in Baton Rouge. Sales agreement records terms of transfer of property from owners Bernard and Jean-Baptiste Dubreuil Villars to Achille Murat. Included is a document recording the cancellation of the contract in 1841. Copied from the original in the East Baton Rouge Parish Clerk of Court's office. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3059.

Magruder, Eliza L. Diary, 1846-1857. 2 vols., 1 typescript. Location: G:17, vault:18, microfiche 2729. A native of Maryland, Eliza Magruder (1803-1876), went to live at Arundo, the Jefferson County, Miss., plantation of her aunt and uncle, Olivia Magruder Dunbar (1786-1859) and Joseph Dunbar (1773-1846) around 1839. Arundo was located in Church Hill, Miss., near Natchez. After the death of Olivia Dunbar, Eliza Magruder moved to Oakland Plantation, the home of her aunt Lavinia Magruder Turpin (1786-1867) near Washington, Miss. In the diary, she comments on local social events and amusements, visiting friends, births and deaths, and treatment, care of, and unrest of slaves. She also records the weather, illness and death among slaves and friends and medical attention she provided, as well as her reading, sewing, and religious life, including comments on minsters and sermons she heard. In addition, she relates the activities of her aunt in running the plantation after the death of her husband. Available on microfilm 5750: University Publications of America Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century: Papers and Diaries Series E, Reel 34. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 654.

Magruder, Samuel Bertron, Jr. Collection, 1968, 1971. 7 items. Location: Misc:M. LSU student. Photographs of the ruins of Windsor Plantation house, near Port Gibson, Mississippi, and related subjects. Included in the collection is a newspaper article from the New Orleans TIMES- PICAYUNE about Windsor. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2570.

Mandeville, Henry D. (Henry David) and family. Papers, 1815-1925 (bulk 1854-1883). 2 linear ft. Location: U:214-216. Henry D. Mandeville, originally from Philadelphia, was a factor in trade with China; his son Henry, Jr. was a lawyer in Natchez, Mississippi. Two other sons, Theodore and Ellwyn, served in the Confederate army. Collection includes personal and business correspondence documenting life in Natchez and New Orleans; the operation of Westwood Plantation (owned by Henry, Jr.) in Louisiana; and Civil War papers of Theodore and Ellwyn. Papers also include letters referring to musical performances in Arkansas, Virginia, Natchez, New Orleans, and Chicago; and materials documenting civilian life in New Orleans in the Civil War. Available (with some omissions) on microfilm 5322: University Publications of America Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 3, Reels 3-6. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 491, 535.

Marchand Gin Company. Cotton book, 1900. 1 vol. Location: G:18. Cotton book of the Marchand Gin Company recording cotton ginned and shipped from September to December, 1900. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 280.

Marchant, James Alexander. Family Papers, 1860-1934 (bulk 1860-1887). 0.4 linear feet. Location E:112. Personal correspondence and papers, one diary, and photographs pertaining to the Marchant and DeArmond families of Clinton, East Feliciana Parish, Louisiana, and, later, Brazil. Letters pertain primarily to conditions in Clinton and East Feliciana Parish after the Civil War, including labor relations with freedmen. A few Civil War letters are also present and pertain to the Battle of Vicksburg, the C.S.S. Arkansas, and Ship Island, Miss. Also included is a letter of introduction for James Marchant from the citizens of Clinton to those of Brazil, a diary kept by the Marchants' son Madison chronicling their journey to Brazil, and photographs of family members, Robert E. Lee, and Joseph E. Johnston. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3641

Marshall, George B. (George Benoist). Family Papers, 1807-1900 (bulk 1850-1880). 0.5 linear ft. Location: B:41, J:7. Sugar and cotton planter of Crescent Plantation, Cheneyville, Rapides Parish, Louisiana, and captain in the Confederate army. Collection includes records, daybooks, bills, receipts, and other documents related to the plantation. Includes a 1866 record of fines imposed on African Americans for breaking the peace. Available (with some omissions) on microfilm 5735: University Publications of America Confederate Military Manuscripts Series B, Reels 12-13. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 969.

Marshall, John J. Plantation ledgers, 1866-1899. 4 vols. (on microfilm). Location: Mss. Mf.:M. Planter of Allendale Plantation, near Stonewall, DeSoto Parish, Louisiana. Plantation ledgers record wages and supplies given to freedmen laborers and include accounts of the Trinity Mission and the All Saints Church, rent records, crop production, and sick days of each laborer. Another ledger records butter production. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3025.

Marshall, Maria Chotard and family Papers, 1819-1868. 0.3 linear ft. Location: S:126. Family of businessmen and planters whose branches settled in Alabama, Georgia, Mississippi, and Louisiana. Letters of Sarah Foster Chotard to her daughter Maria Louisa Marshall, and Maria's to her sister Eliza Gould, discuss family, legal, and business affairs, social life, travel, and Civil War experiences. Memoirs by Eliza Gould deal with family history. Collection includes a biographical sketch of David Hunt, a planter of Natchez, Mississippi, and his wife Anne Ferguson Hunt. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3256.

Marshall-Furman Family Papers, 1794-1975 (bulk 1833-1905). 3,046 items, 35 vols., 8 microfilm reels. Location: W:59-68, OS:M, Mss. Mf.:M. Henry Marshall was a cotton planter and a member of the Louisiana Senate. S. C. Furman, Marshall's son-in-law, was a medical doctor and officer in the Louisiana Second Infantry Regiment during the Civil War. Correspondence deals with politics, economics, agriculture, and the Civil War. Also included in the collection are financial and professional papers, a muster roll, diary, account book, memorandum book, map, and scrapbook materials. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2740, 4042.

Marston, Henry and family. Papers, 1818-1938 (bulk 1850-1890). 2,104 items, 59 volumes. Location: U:220-222, U:267, G:19. Planters of East Feliciana Parish and Red River Parish, Louisiana. Collection includes diaries; plantation records; legal documents; personal correspondence; bank records; and Civil War papers. Diaries comment on public health, yellow fever epidemic, race relations, labor and the political participation of African Americans. Other volumes record activities of the Clinton & Port Hudson Railroad and the Silliman Female Collegiate Institute. Papers of son , Bulow, reflect his activities as planter, steamboat operator, and warehouse owner. Available (with some omissions) on microfilm 5735 and 6061: University Publications of America, Confederate Military Manuscripts, Series B, Reel 13 and Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration, Series B, Part 2, Reel 14, or For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 624.

Martin, Robert Campbell, b. 1839. Papers, 1767-1932. 241 items, 75 vols. (68 ms. Vols., 8 printed vols.). Location: C:9, OS:M, O:18-19, 98. Sugar planter of Albemarle Plantation, Assumption Parish, Louisiana, and son of Robert Campbell Martin and Mary Winfred Pugh. Martin served as first lieutenant in the 26th Louisiana Volunteer Regiment during the Civil War. Papers include Pugh family property and estate records such as deeds and leases, an estate inventory, powers of attorney, and a promissory note. Other papers include a funeral notice, marriage license, muster roll, receipts, and voter registration form. Also included are record books of Albemarle Plantation, memorandum books, newspaper clippings, and printed items. Available (with some omissions) on microfilm: University Publications of America Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration, Series B, Part 3, Reels 7-11. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1045.

Martin, Sigur. Papers, 1905-1912. 236 items, 16 ms. Vols. Location: U:211, G:18. Sugar planter of Grand Point Plantation and a dealer in general merchandise and liquor in Paulina, St. James Parish, Louisiana. He later held office in the Treasury Department in Baton Rouge. Collection includes store records, accounts, invoices, and receipts, many with Baton Rouge merchants. Some items document Martin's management of a sugarcane plantation. Included are letters from the Colonial Sugars Company listing cane deliveries from tenant farmers working on Grand Point Plantation. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 460.

Martin, W. L. Collection, 1831, 1863, 1869. 4 items. Location: 99:. Copy of a Benjamin Levy (New Orleans) imprint of a sugar statement for the year 1831 by Pierre A. Degelos which gives the names of the sugar planters by parishes; and three Thibodaux, Louisiana, newspapers. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1904.

Mason, Polly, 1855-1974, interviewee. Oral history interview, 1971. 1 sound cassette (45 minutes), 10 pages. Location: L:4700.0041. Former slave, born at Ulster Plantation near Alexandria, Louisiana. Mason was 115 years old at the time of the interview, and was residing in Woodworth, Louisiana. Mason describes her master, Judge Henry Boyce, and her life on his cotton plantation in Boyce, Louisiana. Included are her memories of Union soldiers in Louisiana during the Civil War and her sadness upon the assassination of President Lincoln. Mason also recalls the establishment of a station for the Texas and Pacific Railroad in the area, and her first view of an airplane. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4700.0041.

Mather, George. Accountb0Books, 1782-1845. 4 volumes, 11 items. Location: G:18, MISC:M. Planter of St. James Parish, Louisiana. Account books pertain to plantation expenses, slave labor, sugar, taffia, and cotton. Volume one (1782-1845) contains some entries in French. Volume two relates to Mather's sugar operations and the taffia sold on the German Coast in present-day St. John the Baptist Parish, Louisiana (1798-1832). Entries in volume three contain memos on loans made and payments received (1813-1822). Entries in volume four also note cotton shipments to Liverpool and a letter in French to Tousaint Fauve of La Rochelle, France (1806-1817). Loose items consist of financial papers and three clippings. The collection is also available on UPA Microfilm 5322, (Records of ante-bellum southern plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War. Series I, Selections from Louisiana State University ; pt. 1, Louisiana sugar plantations, reel 8. Mss. 283, 568.

Mather, James. Letter, circa 19th century. Location: Misc. Letter from James Mather to his cousin George Mather, Saint James Parish, La., requests a loan to help him purchase a plantation from Mr. Weeks in the Attakapas District of Louisiana. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 238.

Mather, Joseph. Diary, 1852-1859 (bulk 1855-1856). 1 vol. Location: V:68. Superintendent of Aurora Plantation, St. James Parish, Louisiana. Diary relates the day-by-day activities on a sugar plantation, noting the weather, work done at various times of the year, condition of crops, and health of slaves and stock. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 285.

Mathews, Charles Lewis and family. Papers, 1797-1919 (bulk 1840-1872). 3 linear ft. Location: U:224-227, OS:M. Family of Greenwood Plantation, West Feliciana Parish. Charles Mathews was the son of George and Harriet Flower Mathews, husband of Penelope Stewart. Papers document the family's plantations, managed by women: Greenwood, Georgia (Raceland), Coco Bend, and Chaseland, Rapides Parish. Included are factors' statements, slave records, overseer's letters; freedmen's contracts; and Civil War soldiers' letters. Available (with some omissions) on microfilm: University Publications of America Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 2, Reels 14-17. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 910.

Mathews-Ventress-Lawrason Family Papers, 1770-1934. (bulk 1797-1798; 1820-1933). 3 linear feet. Location: UU: 255-258, OS:M. Families were cotton and sugar planters of West Feliciana, Lafourche, and Pointe Coupee Parishes, Louisiana. 19th century papers reflect planting activities of Mathews family; 20th century materials reflect real estate management and investment activities of the Ventress and Lawrason families. Papers include personal and business correspondence, printed items, newspaper clippings, financial records, and legal documents. Financial papers centering on Harriet Flower Mathews, and records of legal work for Penelope Stewart Mathews. Ventress-Lawrason correspondence primarily addressed to Sallie Mathews Ventress, including series of letters from cousin Mrs. M. M. Slaughter. Also legal documents for land purchased by Sallie Mathews Ventress. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4358.

Maury Brothers. Ledger, 1851-1856. 1 vol. Location: M:20. James and Ruston Maury were New Orleans, Louisiana commission merchants. Ruston Maury conducted company business in Liverpool, New York, Charleston, and Richmond. Ledger records company income, expenses, and accounts of company partners. Accounts of cotton, sugar and corn shipped to England and the northern United States. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4676.

McCall, Henry. Speech, 1899. 1 item; typescript. Location: Misc. Speech, 'History of Evan Hall Plantation,' delivered to the Louisiana Historical Society, New Orleans, Louisiana, gives a brief history of Evan Hall Plantation, Ascension Parish, La., and its original owner, Evan Jones. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 271.

McCollam, Andrew and Ellen. Papers, 1839-1867. 3 vols. [typescript copies]. Location: H:1. Andrew McCollam was a surveyor-planter of Ascension and Assumption parishes, Louisiana. Plantation diary (1842-1851) of Ellen McCollam pertains to family life, domestic activities, general plantation matters, and attendance at the theater. Travel diary (1866-1867) of Andrew McCollam contains entries for a trip to Brazil. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 550.

McCrindell, Thomas. Account book, 1851-1855. 1 vol. Location: J:12. Commission merchant of Bayou Sara, West Feliciana Parish, Louisiana. Daybook listing names of customers and daily expenditures credited to each customer for plantation supplies, storage, and shipping. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 913.

McCutchon, Samuel, 1820-1874. Family Papers, 1832-1890 (bulk 1832-1874). 104 items, 8 vols. (5 ms. vols., 3 printed vols.). Location: U:158, P:19, Misc:M. Manager of Ormond Plantation, Saint Charles Parish, Louisiana, and manager (1866-1874) for the Young, Toledo and Company in Belize, British Honduras. Collection includes diaries documenting the operation and management of the sugar plantation and saw mills. Papers include business letters, record books, inventories, newspapers, broadsides, and plans. Includes papers and descriptions of plantation life in Belize. Available on microfilm 5322: University Publications of America Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 1, Reels 5-6. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1049, 1087, 1060, 1109.

McDaniel-Gill. Letters, 1849-1859. 12 items. Location: Misc.:M. Caroline McDaniel and her planter husband Robert D. Gill. Letters written in Mississippi and Louisiana relate to western emigration, family life, and economic difficulties. The last letter by Gill to Caroline's mother announces his wife's death. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3416.

McDonogh, John. Papers, 1799-1938 (bulk 1801-1850). 3,595 items and 2 printed vols. [typescript copies]. Location: X:63-65. General commission merchant of New Orleans and planter of Jefferson Parish, Louisiana. Papers consist primarily of business records, correspondence (1801-1850) with business associates, commission firms, merchants, planters, tenants and civil authorities. Papers also include personal correspondence, with some letters relating to the American Colonization Society and the Washington National Monument Society. Papers also relate to death, his will and the controversial issues of his estate. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1247.

McGehee, H.T. Papers, 1797-1954, undated (bulk 1870-1914). 2.3 linear feet. Location: X:40-42, OS:Mc. The collection, consisting primarily of financial, legal, and plantation business papers, relates to the H. T. McGehee family in Wilkinson County, Mississippi. Mss. 5213.

McGehee, J. Burruss (John Burruss). Papers, 1816-1951. 18.5 linear ft, 64 volumes. Location: 8:3-12, P:5-6, OS:M. Plantation owner in West Feliciana Parish, Louisiana, and Wilkinson County, Mississippi.Correspondence, business records, and printed items reflect the business ventures in agriculture, railroads, and real estate of John Burruss McGehee, his father, Judge Edward McGehee and his son, James Stewart McGehee. Early papers contain references to slaves and the destruction of Bowling Green Plantation by Union troops. Personal papers and photographs provide a family history and the genealogy of the McGehee and Stewart families. Mss. 1111, 1156, 1157.

McGehee, James Stewart, 1860-1945. Collection, 1724-1929 (bulk 1862-1880). 5 ms. vols. Location: H:1. Planter and businessman of Wilkinson County, Mississippi, and St. Louis, Missouri. James' grandfather, Edward McGehee, owned Bowling Green Plantation in Mississippi, and was president of the West Feliciana Railroad. Collection contains typewritten copies of McGehee family papers including reminiscences, biographical sketches, genealogical notes, diaries, and obituaries. Includes an account of the Veal family, a family of slaves associated with the McGehees. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 326.

McGehee, James Stewart, 1860-1945. Papers, 1826-1912 (bulk 1903-1904). .25 linear ft. Location: C:26, OS:Mc, VAULT:21, VAULT MRDF 6. Planter and businessman of Wilkinson County, Mississippi. His grandfather, Edward McGehee, owned Bowling Green Plantation in Mississippi and was president of the West Feliciana Railroad. Papers include family letters, McGehee's autobiography, the history of a slave family, and financial documents. Includes items related to the destruction of Bowling Green Plantation in Mississippi by Union and African American troops. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2302, 2789.

McKowen-Lilley-Stirling Family. Papers, 1797-1921 (bulk 1877-1901). 829 items (on microfilm). Location: MSS.MF:M. Thomas William Lilley founded Springfield Plantation in East Baton Rouge Parish, Louisiana. His daughter Edith married John Stirling. John McKowen, an Irish immigrant, was a resident of Jackson, Louisiana. Papers include Lilley-Stirling legal documents and financial papers; McKowen family correspondence; and legal papers, and medical correspondence of John C. MacKowen, a Louisiana physician. Other papers relate to McKowen's property in Anacapri, Italy. Some items in Spanish, Italian, French, and German. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4356.

McMurran, Alie Austen, d. 1899. Journal, 1856-1889 (bulk 1856-1878). 1 v. Location: G:18. This typescript copy of the journal of Alice "Alie" Austen McMurran recounts her marriage in Maryland and subsequent life in antebellum Natchez, Miss.; her life in Natchez and Maryland during the Civil War; political and social events at the close of the war; and family affairs in Mississippi and Maryland during the three years after the war and sporadically recorded through 1878. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4304.

McMurran, John T. and family. Papers, 1820-1895. 0.2 linear ft. Location: S:121. Planter, lawyer, and state senator of Natchez, Mississippi. Correspondence and business and legal papers of John McMurran, his wife, and their daughter, concern travel, social life, and the administration of the Woodlands and Killarney plantations. Letters mention judgeships in Mississippi, the funeral of Henry Clay, the sale of the plantation of a mulatto politician, the effects of Reconstruction, and problems of plantation management during Reconstruction. Also included are estate papers of William B. Griffith and papers of William T. Griffith while a student at Oakland College, Mississippi. Available on microfilm 5322: University Publications of America Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations Series I, Part 3, Reel 18. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1403.

McMurran-Austen Family Papers, 1846-1878; 1942, undated (bulk:1856-1868). 0.6 linear feet. Location: U:298, OS:M. John T. McMurran family of Melrose in Natchez, owners of Louisiana plantations, son John, Jr., married Alie Austen of Maryland. Primarily correspondence related to family matters, the Civil War, home life, politics, plantation operation, and attitudes toward federal forces. Newspapers clippings, cartes de visites of family members, a household inventory, J. T. McMurran, Jr.'s discharge from the Confederate army in 1862, and military passes are also present. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4795.

Meade, George G. (George Gordon), 1815-1872. Letter, 1867 November 5. 1 item. Location: Misc.:M. Union army general in the Civil War. Letter to the Commissioner of Agriculture seeking employment for his niece indicating that her family's plantation in Mississippi, on the direct route of Grant's army, had been destroyed. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 2761.

Mercer, William Newton. Papers, 1789-1936 (bulk 1827-1874). 2 linear ft., 2 microfilm reels. Location: U:1, UU:79-81, VAULT:1, OS:M, MSS.MF:M. Surgeon and planter of Adams County, Mississippi; Louisiana; and Illinois. Collection includes slave records, diaries, business and personal correspondence, and financial documents. Correspondence includes letters from Henry Clay, Abraham Lincoln, and Benjamin Butler. Available (with some omissions) on microfilm 6061 and 5322: University Publications of America Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration, Series B, Part 4, Reels 9-10, and Records of Ante-Bellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, Series I, Part 3, Reels 1-3. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 292, 1051, 1233, 1364.

Mercer, William Newton. Slave List and Inventory, 1846-1848. 2 items. Locations: Misc.:M, OS:M. Plantation owner of Adams County, Mississippi. A booklet titled "List of Negroes" lists the names and ages of slaves, and in some cases the names of parents and other family members at William Newton Mercer's Buckhurst, Ellis Cliffs, Ormande, and Laurel Hill plantations (1846-1848). Lists date from 1846 with later notations in 1847 and 1848. Also included is an inventory of clothing distributed to sailors aboard the USS Jamestown (ca. 1845-1847). Inventory is signed by Master Wilmer Shields who later served as the manager of Mercer's plantations. Mss. 5210.

Merrick, Edwin Thomas, 1808-1897. Papers, 1830-1917 (bulk 1866-1871). 0.3 linear feet (229 items; 1 printed vol). Location: C:45, 99:M. Lawyer of New Orleans who served as chief justice of the Louisiana Supreme Court. He married Caroline Thomas of Cottage Hall Plantation, East Feliciana Parish, Louisiana. Letters (1830-1838) from Merrick to his mother, Ann Merrick, and his brother, William Winston Merrick record Merrick's activities as a prep student in Wilbraham, Mass., and his law studies and early legal career in Ohio. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1137, 1752.

Merrill, A. P. and Aylett Buckner. Papers, 1787-1870 (bulk 1830-1860). 0.5 linear ft., 1 volume. Location: U:228, M:19, OS:M. A. P. Merrill of Natchez, Mississippi, was a physician and the cashier of the Agricultural Bank. Aylett Buckner settled in Natchez around 1830, where he was an attorney, cotton factor, and director of the Commercial Bank of Natchez. Collection primarily consists of financial and legal papers of Merrill, Buckner, and Jane Dunbar Ferguson, a planter of Washington, Adams County, Mississippi. Other items include plats of the property of Abner Green and the deed to Patesi Plantation and its slaves. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 598.

Meullion family. Papers, 1776-1906 (bulk 1776-1866). 0.2 linear ft., 1 microfilm reel. Location: U:230, OS:M, MSS.MF:M. Free African American family of St. Landry Parish, Louisiana. Louis Augustin Meullion and his son Jean Baptiste (whose mother was a slave) were slaveholders; the son owned a plantation on Bayou Teche. Collection includes slave bills of sale, land sales, and other financial records; manumission papers for Maria Juana and her son Baptiste Meuillon; and an amnesty oath taken in 1865 by Miss Belazaire Meuillon. In French, English, and Spanish. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 243, 294.

Mignon, Francois. Papers, 1939-1970, 1992. 17,000 items (on 41 microfilm reels). Location: MSS.MF:M. Journalist, horticulturist, and curator of Cammie G. Henry's Melrose Plantation, Natchitoches Parish, Louisiana. Correspondence, journal, writings, and subject files describe and relate to thirty years spent by Mignon at Melrose, which also served as an artists and writers colony. Among his correspondents are African American artist Clementine Hunter and Louisiana writers Lyle Saxon and Harnett Kane. Many ideas expressed in the journal later appeared in 'Cane River Memo,' Mignon's column in the Natchitoches newspaper Enterprise. Microfilm reels are of originals at the University of North Carolina. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 4484.

Millard, Albert and Company. Account, 1834. 1 item. Location: Misc. Statement of account for plantation supplies from Albert Millard and Company, Thibodaux, La., to Messrs. Oulerbridge (?) Horsey and John Lee. For further information, see onine catalog. Mss. 2186.

Millikin, James Shaw. Scrapbook, [1874]-1917 (bulk 1881-1898).11 items, 1 ms. vol. Location: U:238. Merchant and planter, of Millikin near Lake Providence, East Carroll Parish, Louisiana. Scrapbook. For further information, see onine catalog. Mss. 1990.

Mills, John. Letters, 1795, 1807. 2 items. Location: MISC:M. Planter and merchant of West Feliciana Parish, Louisiana, founder of Bayou Sara, and a leader of the West Florida Rebellion. In letters to Gilbert Jackson of New York, John Mills refers to a slave insurrection and the indigo harvest (1795). He discusses the treatment of slaves, destruction of the cotton crop by the cut worm, and the considerable amount of commerce on the Mississippi River (May 19, 1807). He also states that severe weather caused the Choctaw Indians to kill planters' livestock for food. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1375.

Minor family. Papers, 1774-1914 (bulk 1774-1891). 24 items, 1 printed volume, 1 microfilm reel. Location: T:35, OS:M, MSS.MF:M. Planters of the Concord Plantation and governor of the Spanish district of Natchez. Collection includes correspondence related to plantation and family matters in Mississippi and Louisiana; a sugar producer's license; a printed item signed by President John Adams; and a will. Includes land titles for and personal correspondence of the Stephen, William J., and Henry C. Minor families of Natchez and Terrebonne Parish. Some letters in Spanish and French. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 859, 947.

Minor family. Photograph collection, 1885, undated. 6 unique copy prints, 9 35mm negative strips. Location: MISC:M, E:65. William J. Minor was a sugar planter of Terrebonne and Ascension Parishes, Louisiana. His father, Stephen Minor, owned a plantation and a home in Natchez, Mississippi. Ayres P. Merrill was the U.S. Minister to Belgium. Collection contains formal portraits of William J. Minor, John Minor, Mrs. Minor (probably the wife of William J. Minor), and Ayres P. Merrill II. Included are photographs depicting Oakland, the Minor family home, and Elmscourt, the Merrill family home, also in Natchez. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 3173.

Minor, Henry C. Papers, 1846-1956 (bulk 1918-1956). 1,263 items, 86 volumes (85 printed volumes, 1 manuscript volume). Location: T:8-9, X:87-88, F:5. Sugar planter of Southdown Plantation, Terrebonne Parish, Louisiana. Papers relate to the estate of Henry C. Minor and contain letters, maps, photographs, reports, and items reflecting the management, reorganization, and financing of sugar plantations, including the Southdown Plantation, especially during the 1930s. Many materials relate to sugar technology and the revival of the Louisiana sugar industry in the 20th century through the introduction of fungus resistant P.O.J. sugarcane. For further information, see online catalog. Mss. 1509, 1607.